We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indeed excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nanjing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Nanjing to your Saves list
InterContinental Nanjing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Zhongyang Road, Gulou District, Nanjing 210005, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 1,583 Hotels in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 stars 429 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
774 reviews 774 reviews
239 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
372 helpful votes 372 helpful votes
“Indeed excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last year and this being slightly better than Westin, decided to return. Check-in was fine and being a platinum Priority card member, they upgraded me to a suite. I thought this was cool, until I realised my friend who isn't a member got upgraded to a bigger suite! Huh

My suite was large , with the the bedroom, living room, walk-in wardrobe, his-and-her sinks, free standing tub, shower stall and 3 flat screen tvs. My friend also had the dining room! More importantly, the decor was tastefully taste and not tacky like some other "grand Chinese hotels"

Room service was alright, very few hotels actually can do delicious room service food, and this hotel is not 1 of them either

Had a punishing work schedule so didn't try the pool, gym and restaurants

Another reviewer gave this hotel 1 star for his or her unfortunate experience, but should not be taken as the norm

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhu H, Marketing Communication at InterContinental Nanjing, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Bcheong,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our suite made your stay experience more memorable. Meanwhile, we take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.We will continue to make great efforts to delivering quality services,allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve.
Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    145
    31
    11
    6
See reviews for
22
31
15
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed for one night, and we had a very large, comfortable room with excellent views. The location was fantastic, steps away from the Goulou subway station. Staff was very friendly, and even the doorman smiled and tried out his English on us. Very unusual for China! The Horizon Bar mixed a mighty fine cocktail, and the wonton soup at the restaurant was excellent (although a bit expensive); however, the Caesar salad was quite awful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The rooms and amenities are excellent, the lift change did not bother me at all as you go extremely quick by a modern lift system that personally brings you to your floor. It also gives you the chance to see the views on the lakes. Breakfast is perfect and a wide choice of food is available. Small minus points: No shaving kit, room service and minibar a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhu H, Marketing Communication at InterContinental Nanjing, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear AsianTravelGuru11,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our service made your stay experience more memorable.We will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve.
Once again, we look forward to yur next stay with us and continuous support in the near future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed there three nights.

The air conditioner worked great. I'd worried because of tripadvisor reviews saying air-conditioning problems. I had no problem.
The room has a fantastic view of XuanWu lake. But, I think, the air of the city is polluted. Don't expect too much. You'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhu H, Marketing Communication at InterContinental Nanjing, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear distinguished guest
Thank you for taking time to share your kind feedback regarding your last visit in InterContinental Nanjing. We were delighted to know that our staff and service helped make you satisfied. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations to each of our guest. We all look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel but lunched there on our last day. We opted for the dim sum at this restaurant on the 47th floor. The view of the city and Xuanwu Lake alone was worth the effort. The hotel is conveniently located next to Gulou Metro Station (Line 1). The dim sum was good and I particularly enjoyed the "pumpkin and lily bud" rice porridge (congee) and the "mo li hua" tea which is not commonly offered in Singapore. We had 8 servings of dim sum, 4 bowls of congee and 4 choices of tea, and the bill (with service and tax) came up to RMB580+, which was quite reasonable, considering the setting. The staff at the restaurant were very pleasant but the concierge surprised us by offering to hold our bags (as we were on the way to the airport) while we dined at the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhu H, Marketing Communication at InterContinental Nanjing, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear distinguished guest
Thank you for taking time to share your kind feedback regarding your last visit in InterContinental Nanjing. We were delighted to know that our staff and service helped make you satisfied. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations to each of our guest. We all look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

At first glance this is an appealing hotel embedded into the top floors of Nanjing's tallest building.
The decor is generally dark timber & stone - quite trendy and modern - but in some corridors you'll wish you carried a torch.
Putting to one side the expected inconvenience of having to change lifts half way up or down the hotel - the hotel is suffering badly from poorly trained staff.
Apart from the two managers, we encountered innumerable frustrating mistakes;
- the concierge lost our car bookings on TWO days
- breakfast & dinner room service meals we just wrong and missing things like cutlery eg received coffee not tea, bread not toast, hard boiled eggs not omelette, received fries but no club sandwich..it all became quite comical after a while.
- after giving up on room service we ventured to a beautiful restaurant on the top floor. On entry you walk though a massive glass wine cellar but amazingly are not offered a comprehensive wine list. The waitress TWICE dropped cutlery onto our plates & had to return to double check she took down the correct menu items.
Avoid this place

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhu H, Marketing Communication at InterContinental Nanjing, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear distinguished guest

Thank you for sharing your experience for your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and are sorry for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced. Your kind feedback enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose InterContinental Nanjing for your future travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed there 2 nights. Good location, easy to find (tallest building of Nanjing). Friendly Service-Staff. Great Rooms, dark, contemporary Design with wooden furniture, lots of gimmicks (dockingstation, dvd-player, soundsystem...). The elevator system is a bit confusing at the beginning but you will get used to it. Over all: Everything you expect when staying in a Interconti. When in Nanjing, I will definitely be back here...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhu H, Marketing Communication at InterContinental Nanjing, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear distinguished guest
Thank you for taking time to share your kind feedback regarding your last visit in InterContinental Nanjing. We were delighted to know that our staff and service helped make you satisfied. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations to each of our guest. We all look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nanjing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nanjing

Address: No.1 Zhongyang Road, Gulou District, Nanjing 210005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Nanjing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nanjing
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nanjing
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nanjing
#65 Best Value Hotel in Nanjing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nanjing 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Nanjing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nanjing Hotel Nanjing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nanjing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.