We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book a deluxe room in Wing B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Trustel Mandarin Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Trustel Mandarin Garden to your Saves list
Grand Trustel Mandarin Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.9 Zhuang Yuanjing, Fuzi Temple, Nanjing 210001, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 1,583 Hotels in Nanjing
4.0 of 5 stars 336 Reviews
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Book a deluxe room in Wing B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in deluxe rooms.

The hotel is very convenient - pedestrian mall/restaurants/Confucious temple are right next door.

Although we asked for non-smoking rooms, I believe we were given smoking rooms which had been given non-smoking 'treatment'. However, when I booked our rooms (directly with the hotel), they had said that if we wanted 2 double beds in the rooms and rooms on a higher floor, there were no non-smoking rooms with this configuration. As it was, the room only smelled very faintly of smoke and there were no ashtrays, so I do believe they tried their best to fulfil our request.

The rooms were spacious, clean and luxurious. The bathrooms had a bathtub and separate shower with rainfall shower head and a second handheld shower head. They also have a pillow menu, although we did not need to change the pillows that came with the room. Our room looked out onto the pedestrian mall, interesting and fun if you like people watching! Note: my aunts had stayed there previously but they now think they had stayed in a basic room because the bedrooms we stayed in were much larger, and the bathroom and the furnishings were luxurious.

We had buffet breakfast in the hotel for convenience. Breakfast was varied (mainly eastern, some western - mainly pastries) and quality was quite ok. Service was a bit lax in that you had to chase waiters up if you wanted coffee, although once you asked someone, it arrived very quickly.

We had dinner one night in the Chinese restaurant in the hotel. We were one of 3 parties in the restaurant, so it looked very empty. However, service was prompt and the quality of the dishes that we ordered was very good with good-sized serves. I would recommend the restaurant. We had smoked duck, shiaolong bau, a tofu dish and local style fried rice.

We bought some local handicrafts from the hotel shop - (brocade pictures). We did see similar products for cheaper outside the hotel, but the hotel's products were of finer craftmanship and came with a certificate of authenticity.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel and would stay again if travelling to Nanjing.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room in Wing B - spacious, clean but if you want 2 beds on a higher floor, be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    176
    53
    11
    2
See reviews for
12
12
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Breakfast buffet was ample, but food quality was mediocre. Don't think they have any such thing as non-smoking rooms; mine certainly smelled like a smoker's room, and ash trays by the elevators. Bathroom relatively well equipped but shower drain made this horrible sucking sound while in use. Mattress was thinly-disguised plywood; I've never seen anything stiffer with a top sheet on it. Best thing about it was that the room had its own dedicated WiFi router, so no problems with signal. It's in a highly touristic part of town, so if you're into that kind of thing... Can't really speak to service other than efficient check-in and check-out. Bad part was that for such a mediocre large hotel, I paid as much as I would have for a boutique hotel in Beijing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there one night. It's in a great location in the middle of the city many markets shops and malls in the area. The staff surprised me with a birthday cake and birthday card for my birthday.
The rooms haven't had an uplift in a very long time (20 years maybe) the same with the common areas. The bed was ok. The Internet spotty.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We have been staying at this hotel for the past 6 years. Very Good hotel at the tourist district of nanjing. Close to Fuji Miao (Confucious temple) street markets etc. The breakfast is one of the best I ever had in a hotel. Rooms are Big and clean.

Room Tip: CHeck the room before confirming
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a total of two nights as part of our Travelsphere Discover China tour in January 2012.

This was the penultimate hotel on our trip, and was one of my favourite stays in the whole two weeks we were in China.

Upon arrival, the first thing you notice is the rather grand entrance lobby with it's spiralling staircase and mini fish-pond, upon which floats a piano (!) - real bit of class there.

The breakfast buffet was my favourite on the whole of the trip, reminded me of a Vegas breakfast with a whole range of possible choices - omlettes were cooked to perfection, sushi tasted brilliant, a good attempt at sausage and bacon - pastries and donuts were lovely. A real good brekfast.

Bathroom spacious and was my second favourite of the trip, nice separate shower and bath - very clean.

Beds were again slightly hard but bearable.

Location: PERFECT for a first time visitor to Nanjing - located just behind the market area where many a bargain could be found (as one of the gents on our tour found out, being the King of "Clap"), next to Pizza Hut, McDonalds, KFC and a Haagen-Daaz - by the end of the trip, a few of us were craving some fast food, so this made for a perfect location.

Small shop located just out from the hotel and left, sold beers and crisps etc very cheaply.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

This is a 5 star local hotel and very popular /busy with locals. The position is excellent right in the centre of town next to the street markets and restaurants. The hotel rooms are a bit dated, however clean and serviced well each day. Staff friendly. Conceirge service speaks English so can assist with local maps on where to go. We caught the fast train up from Shanghai, it took 1.5 hours at 300km per hour.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Stayed on Travelshpere Discover China trip. Area very good as close to market and also large local shopping mail which had a great food court with lots of differing food from all countries in Asia. Hotel room clean but not as large as some on the trip. Kettle and mini fridge to make life bearable Breakfast choices large.Couldn't resist Sushi for breakfast. .Next to Pizza hut, KFC ,McDonald and Haagen daz for those who prefer something other than chinese.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Trustel Mandarin Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Trustel Mandarin Garden

Address: No.9 Zhuang Yuanjing, Fuzi Temple, Nanjing 210001, China
Location: China > Jiangsu > Nanjing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Nanjing
#54 Best Value Hotel in Nanjing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Trustel Mandarin Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Trustel Mandarin Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanjing Mandarin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Trustel Mandarin Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.