We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuk, classic rubbish breakfast” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Flying Pan

The Flying Pan
G/F, 9 Old Bailey Street, Central, Hong Kong, China (Central)
852-21406333
Improve this listing
Ranked #824 of 5,128 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yuk, classic rubbish breakfast”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

I don't understand the good reviews this place has received.
The only good thing about it was that it was open when our jet lagged bodies had us up & traipsing about Hong Kong at 5 am.
Classic rubbish breakfast a la truck stop. Baked beans from a tin, mushrooms from a tin, ruined bacon, insipid eggs (the yolks are a pale yellow, nothing like the rich bright orange of free range eggs in Australia), undercooked slices of unripe tomatoes & the cheapest sliced white bread for toast.
Don't get the bottomless coffee, it is vile, drip filter or instant yukkiness. The juice was from a concentrate.
If you do wash up here because it is the only thing left open order the smoked salmon bagel. The bagel was nice & fresh. Lovely chewy bagel goodness.
You're better off waiting until 8am & getting real espresso coffee & great pastries from L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    49
    23
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice diner-like place for breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

During our stay in Hong Kong we were craving some non-Asian breakfast and the Flying Pan was just around the corner from where we were staying so we decided to check it out. I must say I was pleasantly surprised. Nothing fancy and I liken this to a diner style restaurant in North America. The portions were big and the food was tasty. The service was good (our waitresses offer to hold our baby so we could eat but they were also not busy as it was mid-week when we went).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Phenomenal food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The frittata was simply the best one I've ever had. Pancakes were delicious as well. Everything was fresh, the portion sizes are Huge, and the ingredients are fresh and taste as though they must be locally sourced. Prices are Very reasonable and service is quick and friendly. We are going back before we leave.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Eggstatic! Best eggs florentine I've ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Eating at flying pan has rekindled my long lost love affair with eggs. the eggs florentine just came together perfectly- bacon, spinach and that hollandaise sauce! perfect start to the day. a bit of a search as it's a hole in the wall, but tourists armed with GPS should have no problem finding this. one of the best brekkie places i've tried.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Flying Pan is a nice place to get a hearty breakfast. It is your classic greasy spoon, nothing fancy, just good food. Space is tight, so it can be a bit noisy, but we ended up chatting to the folks at the table next to us which was fun. For a good breakfast this is the place to go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Pan also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to The Flying Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flying Pan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.