We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hong Kong stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House Tsimshatsui East

Ruth's Chris Steak House Tsimshatsui East
1F, 108-100 Tsim Sha Tsui Centre, 66 Mody Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)
852-23666000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #303 of 4,657 Restaurants in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 156 Reviews
Price range: $64 - $103
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Description: Ruth's Chris Steak House originated from New Orleans , bring you the southern U.S. hospitality here in Hong Kong.Great steaks, grilled to perfection, served Sizzling (our Trademark), Our new store in TST East is at the 1st floor Tsim Sha Tsui Centre.We have a great Harbor view and we have the perfect location for a romantic evening or a business dinner, or bring your family and enjoy our private rooms.Great place, great food, and great Hospitality.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hong Kong stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

It's been some years since we've eaten in a Ruth's which was in the States. The Hong Kong lived up to our memories with good steak and wine. The service was good but not a cheap experience. Our only query ; why are the plates so small?

We ate at 5:30 which was when it opened but there were quite a few people in so you need to book. We had a window table with a good view worth asking for when you book.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    60
    27
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aventura, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ruth's Chris Hong Kong has moved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Ruths Chris in Tsim Sha Tsui has moved to the building next to the Shangri La hotel in Kowloon.
Same great food in large portions, and most of the same staff. A bit pricey but so is everything else in Hong Kong.
An enjoyable experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“4 Star food and services ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

my daughter said no higher than four stars.
we like the steak, try to order one level more raw than you normally would because the steak would keep cooking in the hot plate. Portion is very American, big!
we like the atmosphere, setting is for older style and the servers are professional and good presentation. good sea view, good service, clean and tidy.
what we don't like ? the crab cake is too salty, air con setting way too low and fell like eating in Alaska outdoor.
price is high but reasonable for the setting. oh the way to the restaurant is not very nice, preventing it to give you a five star experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Yes the steak is good but how can any piece of meat be worth £50????”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

The fillet steak was delicious. No disputing that. But it wasn't worth the equivalent of £50 in our opinion. The restaurant had no atmosphere, in fact we felt like we were sitting in a corridor! The service was efficient but slightly condescending and not in the least bit friendly. And the sides (which were extra!) were positively disappointing. Expensive wine too, you won't be surprised to hear.

There are plenty of steakhouses in HK. I would recommend giving another one a try.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“OMG out standing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

If you are looking for fine dining Ruth chris excels on all levels.
We both ordered steak and we added side dishes of creamed potato and garlic and cream spinach with grilled cheese. One serving serves 2 people as does the desserts we shared one and could not eat it all.
You will notice there are no sauces or gravies on the menu however if you ask they do have some.
Great views of the harbour you can see the laser light show if you have a window seat and trust me you are not missing anything if you don't.
However you can watch all the dinner cruises as the go up and down.
Everything is it exceptional.
Don't go there if you are on a budget

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House Tsimshatsui East also viewed

 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House Tsimshatsui East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House Tsimshatsui East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.