We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality Shanghainese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Shanghai

Ye Shanghai
Pacific Place, Level 3, Shop 332, 88 Queensway | Admiralty, Hong Kong, China (Admiralty)
852-29189833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 4,653 Restaurants in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 139 Reviews
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Admiralty
London
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“High quality Shanghainese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This was more like it! High quality. Top class food, great service, lovely decor and atmosphere, this very definitely made up for the disappointment of the China Club. Ye Shanghai is very impressive and certainly worth a visit, highly recommended.

The little ribs, river shrimp, shanghai soup dumplings, wheat gluten (which my 3 year old loved), etc, all very good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    58
    20
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“This Restaurant Never Lets You Down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Took some friends to the restaurant on Friday. The restaurant was packed as usual and has a great atmosphere. The food was first class but best of all are the staff who are so willing, helpful and attentive without being obtrusive.
This is Hong Kong at its best.
Special thanks to the restaurant manager Joyce. A superb lady who went out of her way to ensure that we were looked after. We were first to arrive and had to be dragged out as we had such a great time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“BIG Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

our evening started well at the restaurant, nice deco, and we were given a booth. Private and romantic. That unfortunately was the only good thing all evening. We ordered drinks (tea and a beer)...the beer came but not the tea. We then ordered food from a very bland and average waiter. We were then informed that they no longer had the peking duck. Tea finally came and another beer was ordered...you would imagine the same beer but no, it was another brand! The "amuse bouche" was placed on the table (without ordering) and then the food came. Bland, tasteless and without style in spite of some of them being "signature" dishes! waste of time and money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We've dined there a couple of times now and have had a lovely lunch each time. Extremely tasty food, good service and buzzing atmosphere.
Baked crab is scrumptious and the spring onion pancakes, steamed pork dumplings (Xiaolongbao), pan fried pork dumplings and string beans with bamboo shoots are all delectable.
A definite must do for Chinese dining in HK!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“What a wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

So our friends tell us to meet them at this restaurant in a big shopping mall. I know there are lots of restaurants in the malls but this was an unexpected SUPERB find. The food was fabulous. The atmosphere lovely and quiet. Service great. One dish we had was a fish (see photos) that was so tender and lovely. And the best was some kind of roast meat (a beef I believe) for which they are famous...the sauce is sold as you leave the restaurant and you WILL want some. Don't miss the incredible tea chocolates on your way out. Really this was one of the best. We were treated to dinner so I don't know the cost but I would have paid whatever!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Shanghai also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Ye Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.