We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Pampa

La Pampa
Staunton St, Hong Kong, China (Central)
852-28686959
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,044 of 4,653 Restaurants in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 73 Reviews
Cuisines: Argentinean, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
“Not that great...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Visited La Pampa recently with some friends. Was recommended to me by another person. I love my steak so was looking forward to this Argentinian steak house. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. The steak was tasteless! It was chewy and just not nice at all! Now I did ask for it to be very well done, no blood, which it was but this is the way I normally have my steak in restaurants and this just did not rate at all!! The place is also quite small, very pricey and the service only average....it involves trying to catch the eyes of the waitress for a while and finally you succeed....glad I wasn't paying the bill this time...won't be back and wouln't recommend it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    29
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“everytime I fly to Hongkong first thing I do is to reserve my table at La Pampa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

It's a perfect cosy Argentina steak house in Soho . I advise you to try sirloin steak with sauted potatoes and a chili red wine , you will thank to me. Dont ever try to go there without reservation . Always full-booked .

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best Beef in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

During years this has been one of my favourite restaurants in Asia.
If you want want great steak - apart from some more obvious American or/and Australian options, this is the place to go.
Unlike other Argentinean restaurants in town, this is actually run by a great Argentinean man you can meet every night. His name is Hipolito. He's been the manager for ever.
He can guide you thru the menu masterfully, recommending cuts and preparations.
They also have a very nice selection of Argentinean wines.
Salads are great too, but to be honest, you don't go to a steak house to eat your greens, precisely ;)
The place is not too big, not to small. So you better make a booking.
The crowd that comes here do so in pilgrimage for some juicy great steak.
Sophisticated, not necessarily cheap, this place is worthy every and each of your finest Hong Kong Dollars.
You can start with Mollejas, Chorizos and Provoletas before moving to more meaningful things as an Argentinean classic: Bife de Chorizo. Wine? Go for Luigi Bosca, Malbec.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Booked a table in advance but when we arrived staff couldn't have been ruder - couldn't find out reservation and tried to imply that we hadn't made one, until they looked a little more thoroughly at their reservation list. They seemed uninterested in showing us to our table, instead they pointed to a far corner where our table was. The restaurant wasn't full yet it took 10 minutes to take drinks orders from us. The steaks were average and overcooked, and presentation (a lettuce leaf and sprig of parsley) was pretty plain. However, the wine we chose was palatable and enjoyable.

For the price of the meal and the location (a busy street of good quality restaurants and bars), I'm surprised that our experience was not better. Having recently eaten at another top HK steak house in Lan Kwai Fong, La Pampa was not even in the same league.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A good value steak-house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Steak houses are pricey... but a friendly atmosphere, a nice staff et good meat! seriously a good deal in town for an affordable price

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pampa also viewed

 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to La Pampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.