We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience not just dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caprice (Central)

Caprice (Central)
6F, Four Seasons Hotel, Central, Hong Kong, China (Central)
852-31968860
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 4,339 restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: French, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An experience not just dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We opted for the tasting menu. Whilst the meal was extremely expensive, we do feel that we the experience was worth while. Much of the cost was due to the wine pairing and the 1970 port! The service was second to none and managed to remain friendly and not pretentious .

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    239
    62
    30
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food and attentive service but still has room for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I dined at Caprice on several occasions.However compared to the other 3 starred Michelin restauents in Europe,I still think they are still lacking in polish and finesse when it comes to service consistency
It boils down to who is looking after you during the meal.They have some good staff but not all are efficient and knowledgeable
This is a common problem facing most Asian fine dining restaurants as most of the serving and kitchen staff are in this trade just to work and not because of the passion for good food and service
Once they learn the tricks of the trade,they jump ship or set up new restaurants and the whole cycle repeats itself
On the plus side,Caprice is indeed good value for money for a 3 star establishment if you avoid the wines
To conclude,it is a good effort by the team but it is definitely not the best 3 star Michelin restaurant in the world

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best dinner date!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This review is a bit delayed, as we dined in Caprice for Valentine's Day 2012. Nevertheless, I still remember the experience. The food was superb and the service was immaculate! The waiting staff was always attentive and can predict your needs even before you articulate them. We had a 5-course, leisurely dinner from the ala carte menu, and had really good rose champagne and red wine. They also kept giving us free samplers, like a free sorbet before our main courses and free petit fours to end our meal. Perfect dinner date place. It IS expensive though, so definitely go when there's a big occasion to celebrate or if you feel like splurging. But for sure, you will not regret it!!! :D Oh, and get a table near the window- that's the best view!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I would gladly sacrifice all my dining out experiences for the year and go to Caprice every month instead (if I lived in Hong Kong that is), it would probably work out cheaper, and I would be assured of complete quality and satisfaction.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fully deserved 5 star restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We went there as a family of 5 having dinner. The place was gorgeous, with an open kitchen concept. What impressed me much was the immaculate service. The waiters were attentive at all times and would be right at your service with the blink of an eye. They would sit you after each time you leave your table and that is what I call a 5 star service.

Food was excellent and cooked to perfection which is what you would expect it to be. However, i was quite surprised as the open kitchen was very quiet as I had expected the kitchen to be noisy like what i have seen on Hell's Kitchen. I thought there were supposed to communicate loudly??

Overall this is a restaurant that lives up to its billing and is well worth the money. I would definitely return once I have fixed my burnt pocket.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caprice (Central)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caprice (Central), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.