We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Walden Hotel to your Saves list
Walden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.353 Hennessy Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #222 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 stars 111 Reviews
philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice and value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

About 3 blocks from MTR caueway bay. Though it's located in wanchai the nearest station is Causeway Bay. Area is more of local than touristy. Convenience stores, food/restaurants very nearby. This hotel is not remarkable but convenient, clean, quiet & value for money.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    45
    33
    14
    6
See reviews for
8
13
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Changchun, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Convenient location. Close to Chinese Consulate for visa runs. Also near to cultural nightlife spots. It's possible to walk from this hotel to the centre of HK Island, or further up to the Peak. Nice way to kill some time during the day.

Room Tip: Higher up is further from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Simple and fuss-free, Walden Hotel is a tall, thin building with three rooms on each floor, with two slow lifts serving the entire hotel. The staff are helpful and friendly, and the check-in and out process was simple and quick.

We didn't use any of the hotel's other facilities but the basic and cosy rooms are adequately equipped with the usual amenities. We got a complimentary bottle of water and orange juice and snack pack of biscuits when we checked in; the bottle of Evian in the room that you can buy though, is incredibly expensive.

There are no frills but each single bed in the twin room came with a bolster, a cushion and two pillows, which is almost ludicriously luxurious considering that this meant that there was not very much space left for you to actually lie on the bed. The twin room also had large windows, which meant the room was never dim. The bathroom was adequate, and the water can be made to be as hot as you want it to be. But the toilet had a weak flush and water stains, which made it a little unpleasant.

Room Tip: Higher floors mean less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

OK value for money
located between two subway stations (OK for walking around the city, but not as good for traveling with a suitcase on the way to or from the airport)
tiny room, tiny shower (but provide a nice kit with tooth brush and tooth paste :) )
no English TV channels

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have booked refurbished room, and the room was dirty, just walls were repaired on some places by white varnish. Bathroom is dirty. The price is not cheap, and we expect to get at least clean room. Not value of money

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taplow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I arrived late at this hotel due to a delayed flight. I had booked a double room but was given a twin room, where they had moved the two single beds off the wall and in front of the central bedside table. As if I would not notice!
After complaining, I was given all sort of excuses that I refuted and was told to wait. After 30 minutes another room was found.
That room was absolutely filthy, the walls were all scuffed, the shower curtain was suspect and the chair was more than suspect, see the photo I uploaded... I certainly would not seat on this!
By the time I was given that room, it was almost 1 am so I just stayed as I was too tired to to argue anymore.
I did ring reception though to get a TV remote control that never turned up as apparently they could not find one.
An absolutely terrible experience for a room that I paid £130 for one night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Walden has a good (albeit quite noisy) location, but otherwise has little to offer. Rooms are small with a worn appearance, slightly uncomfortable beds. You may have an extra bed put in, but then the room goes from small to tiny, and there is hardly any space for luggage or to move around.
The hotel has few facilities, there is no breakfast available, and as far as I was able to see you cannot even get a cup of tea or coffee anywhere in the hotel!
The real problem, I found, was that they charge as if they were a significantly better hotel, which they are not. At lower rates the hotel would have been ok.
On the positive side, staff is friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Walden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walden Hotel

Address: No.353 Hennessy Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Walden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Walden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walden Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.