We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TYPICAL SHANGHAI AMBIANCE” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lao Shang Hai Restaurant

Lao Shang Hai Restaurant
238 Jaffe Road, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai / Causeway Bay)
852-28279339
Improve this listing
Ranked #777 of 4,792 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Neighborhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“TYPICAL SHANGHAI AMBIANCE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Food is correct and only chinese eat there , so you will be in a very typical restaurant , The food is ok and well served by Chinese Papy over 70 !! a little depressing but anyway very cheap if you take the minimum , otherwise it could be very expensive , Think if you really like the chinese food !
otherwise go to pepino and eat a Pizza upstair in Novotel Century .

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Pedestrian Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Not worth the experience of a taxi ride, unless you were staying in the Novatel and did not want to venture out. The menu choices are wide, and the food is prepared in a so-so fashion. Shanghai cuisine deserves more character. The service is without personality, as exemplified by the duck and pancakes that were just plunked on the table.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing Shanghainese food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I visited this place recently with a couple of girlfriends, one of which had read good reviews for it, so we decided to give it a go. The decor is pretty basic and old school chinese, with waiters who looked like they had been there for years, so that was quite charming. The service was varied, with some waiters very friendly and helpful, and a couple who were grumpy and obviously didn't want to be there.
The menu was quite extensive but not cheap. The siu long bao (dumplings) were the best dish that we tried - the pastry was very thin and the flavour of the meat and soup were good. We were very excited to try the crispy aromatic duck, as this is not seen very often on HK menus, but it is a very popular dish in the UK and delicious there. However, it was very disappointing when it arrived. It didn't come with the thin pancakes we were expecting, but some rather doughy bun things, and they also brought some salt and tomato ketchup to go with the duck! WTF?!! We had to ask for the plum sauce. There were also no shredded spring onions and cucumber. The duck itself wasn't crispy enough and it was just chopped into pieces rather than shredded. It was just not what we had expected.

We also ordered the cold marinated cucumber, but this was also quite tasteless. Not enough vinegar or sesame oil flavour.

We also had another vegetable dish, a stir fried melon, which was quite nice and refreshing but otherwise not very exciting.

All in all, it was an ok experience but didn't meet our expectations, and I don't think any of us would be going there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Yum!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were staying in the Novotel upstairs and wanted to eat authentic local food, but we were not feeling very adventurous, so just popped down stairs the the Lao Shang Hai. The food was not cheep, but so very delicious, I highly recommend the crispy duck pancakes, also the dumplings!! The staff were very helpful and attentive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Still the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

From its previous life as Lao Zhengxin to now, Lao Shanghai is still the best Shanghai restaurant in Hong Kong. It is about as authentic as one can get, and although I am not Shanghainese, I have enough picky friends who are, and I will take their cue on real, down-home Shanghai food! The crabs are always good, fish and Shanghai vegetables not readily available anywhere else all thumbs up. The Chinese rice wine perfect with this kind of meal. Not much in terms of ambience, but who needs it when the food is so good?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lao Shang Hai Restaurant also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Lao Shang Hai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lao Shang Hai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.