We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a few refreshing cups.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lock Cha Tea Shop

Lock Cha Tea Shop
Hong Kong Park, Admiralty, Hong Kong, China (Admiralty)
852-28017177
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 4,657 Restaurants in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 72 Reviews
Price range: $15 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Admiralty
chiang mai
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“a few refreshing cups.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

on our way to the famous cat st. market we stopped for a few cups of oolong, very friendly staff, nice selection of tea utensils and a great selection of var. teas, a must for the tea lover !

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    26
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Most foreign visitors don't know this place, so I will "out them" - it is wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is the type of place you only ever hear about from "expats" living in HKG. As I am "outing them", I better tell you how to get there. It is in HKG Park (above Pacific Place). Take MTR to Queensway exit (Admiralty), walk over pedestrian bridge to Pacific Place, thru mall, up escalators to Supreme Court Road. The park entrance is across the road. It is only a 2min walk to the Tea House. You MUST book..
The atmosphere is fabulous, a variety of tea served (ones I have never tried before), so interesting! The dim sum lunch was wonderful. I love the dumplings in red chili oil and fried wasabi grean pea cake. They do also dinner.
Again, this is a place where, in particular, western visitors can experience some of the real old 1950's HKG atmosphere, with a distinct Chinese flavour.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a tea break and a vegeterian dim sum and great athosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Lock Cha Tea shop has two locations - one in Admiralty and another one in Sheung Wan.

The first one is a tea room where you can enjoy a fantastic cup of tea (I had white tea rose) and vegeterian dim sum - the variety of teas, the athmosphere make this place perfect for a break, this is the place where you would like to go back every day, in fact we went back a few times.

The one in Sheung Wan does not have a tea room, therefore you can have tea tasting, this is a very good shop where you can buy all kind of white, black, green, yellow and red teas.

The very kind hostesses give you all the explanations and tips for making a perfect cup of tea, the prices are absolutely reasonable - I spent over an hour in the shop and bought many different kind of teas,

As a tip if you are visiting Man Mo temple - Lock Cha - Sheoung Wan is less than five minutes walking.

A stop at Lock Cha is a must.. enjoy it !!

http://www.lockcha.com/teahouse/?lang=eng

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Time Warp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is a great place...a museum above (when I was there there was a nice exhibit of chops and pottery) and by the teaware museum which was also interesting...so it's a great place to rest. The atmosphere feels like the turn of the last century. You have choices of teas and great vegetarian dim sum. It's quiet. It's a nice place to relax for a bit. I understand that they do tea appreciation events, and that sounds interesting...I saw a group gathered for one as I left. Once you start enjoying good tea, it's hard to go back! Definitely, if you are in the area, this is a nice place to take a break!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Vegetarian dim sum with a sophisticated atmosphere & good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Very good vegetarian dim sum and a nice choice of high-quality teas. Reasonable prices, good atmosphere, and good service add up to an enjoyable dining experience. Many of the HK dim sum restaurants are very noisy and this one is much quieter which my friends and I appreciated. Excellent restaurant to enjoy eating good food and talking with friends.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lock Cha Tea Shop also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Lock Cha Tea Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lock Cha Tea Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.