We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service not worth the wait” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Jade La Mian Xiao Long Bao

Crystal Jade La Mian Xiao Long Bao
Zone GW 3328, Harbour City, Canton Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China (Central)
852-26222699
Improve this listing
Ranked #266 of 4,807 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Poor service not worth the wait”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Xiao Long Bao is good but nothing great. The service is poor. Long wait. I would pass. There is so many better places in HK.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    157
    51
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Real deal in HK IFC mall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Wanted some authentic food whilst in HK and was taken here. Not disappointed. All dishes were wonderful. Not the usual greasy and salty fare we get masquerading as Chinese food in UK, just wholesome delicious authentic cuisine. There's a queuing system but at peak dinner time we only wited ten minutes for a table for three. Tables for two were available even quicker.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Eat here often”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a great place, I eat here often, the noodles are fresh made, the soup is wonderful. There are also many dim sum items that are quite good. My favorite is the spicy noodles w/ minced pork. A great place to take a large party from work or friends.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Variety, good food, English speaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Crystal Jade is a chain that we ate at in 2 different Crystal Jade locations while in Hong Kong. They seem to be located in nicer malls and are clean, have some staff that speak English, have a large variety menu with pictures and English titles. We like to find reliable, 'safe' restaurants when we travel and Crystal Jade was it! The food is good - we had beef noodles, dim sum, shredded pancake and a soup - all delicious! The only thing we didn't care for was the spring roll - it was a bit greasy and mushy inside. The prices are reasonable and serving sizes good. Tea is served with all meals. This restaurant even provides a napkin, which many in Hong Kong and China do not. We looked for the Crystal Jade in Beijing, but unfortunately, it must have closed. Service and food are worth eating here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Xiao Long Bao is great! Noodle textile one of the best in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great price & tasty food. Just the waiting time could be long. I 've been to the IFC & Time Sq stores.
Apart from the famous Xiao Long Bao (steam pork dumping), the noodle (in soup) is really nice. The noodle should be freshly made onsite from scratch (flour) and that's why it is very chewy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Jade La Mian Xiao Long Bao also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Crystal Jade La Mian Xiao Long Bao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Jade La Mian Xiao Long Bao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.