We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Italian in the heart of Soho!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cecconi's Italian

Cecconi's Italian
43 Elgin Street, Hong Kong, China (Central)
+852 2147 5500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #411 of 5,128 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central
Description: Cecconi's Italian - introduces a place where food, wine, service and atmosphere come beautifully together. Blending traditional Italian favourites with modern and delightfully innovative dishes, the menu selection is both comprehensive and enchanting. Our aim is to express the true spirit of good Italian cooking and create a dining experience to savor. An institution for Italian flavours in the heart of Soho. Lunch and dinner daily.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding Italian in the heart of Soho!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Cecconi's has a great modern atmosphere, very creative takes on Italian good, and great service to top it off. Our party of four enjoyed every item we had, there wasn't a miss on a single thing.

Great calm place to enjoy a meal and relax while in HK!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    36
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dongguan, China
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A nice spot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My wife and I had a very pleasant evening eating at the bar recently. Pasta was good, portions were OK in size, the house wine was above average. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

We'll be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Small, intimate, and great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

One of the little treasures of the Soho area, Cecconi's is a contemporary gem, serving great Italian food.
Of a table of 4, 2 of us had a la carte, 2 the set menu, and no one had anything negative to say. The dishes are beautifully presented, and with fresh, seasonal ingredients. Pasta is perfectly al dente as is the risotto, and a few quirky surprises on the menu which makes Cecconi's a real pleasure.
Only hiccup was an extremely sullen server, but I guess we all have our bad days!
Definitely going again!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Feels classy and with good reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

To be fair can only comment on starters and main because we were beyond stuffed to manage desserts, we both chose differently and oohed and ah he'd through the lovely taste sensations, the only minor fault I could possibly comment in is that the waiter dripped a tiny drop of wine when pouring twice but hardly a hanging offence! Lovely selection on the menu as I had trouble choosing which is rare and huge wine list, classy feeling room and ambience would definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Italian in the heart of Soho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

4 of us went to dine in Cecconi's on a Friday evening, we managed to get a reservation that afternoon and dined at 7pm - note - dining so early, the restaurant was pretty empty but did fill up.
My fiance and I shared the Chicken and Chrizo risotto and the steak. The risotto was creamy and flavoursome and the steak was cooked to absolute perfection, would definately order the steak again.
Great wine selection, great service and nice decor. Worth a visit for casual mid price restuarant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cecconi's Italian also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Cecconi's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cecconi's Italian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.