We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe bet for Italien food ... and beef tenderloin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cecconi's Italian

Cecconi's Italian
43 Elgin Street, Hong Kong, China (Central)
+852 2147 5500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #411 of 5,128 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central
Description: Cecconi's Italian - introduces a place where food, wine, service and atmosphere come beautifully together. Blending traditional Italian favourites with modern and delightfully innovative dishes, the menu selection is both comprehensive and enchanting. Our aim is to express the true spirit of good Italian cooking and create a dining experience to savor. An institution for Italian flavours in the heart of Soho. Lunch and dinner daily.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“A safe bet for Italien food ... and beef tenderloin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Yes, the beef is among the best I've had in HK, and I live here. But also the other meals are really good. Can specifically recommend the Wagyu lasagne.
Try to sit in the back of the restaurant, as it's less noisy and less A/C'd. To sit at the entrance can be quite annoying, as there are always people coming in and looking for places and then standing around and waiting. Still, ratio for quality & price is really good

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    36
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania, Usa
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Cecconi's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

On a recommendation from our hotel, we visited the Cecconi's Italian Restaurant in the SoHo are of Hong Kong island for dinner. It was wonderful. We started with sharing the calamari which was almost a meal in itself. My husband enjoyed the lamb shank so well that I know we would have returned, had we had more time. He shared some of the large lamb portion with me and I can attest that it was delicious. All the food which was being enjoyed by our neighboring tables was attractively presented and enjoyed by the patrons. I highly recommend the green bean side dish, large in both portion and taste. The wine list was nice and offered many interesting selections. Hong Kong is filled with great restaurants, but I am glad we found this one. I would gladly return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The restaurants atmosphere and ambiente is very nice and the food excellent. I have had Cappacco, Calamaris, most of the pastas, steak and Tiramisu. Favorite Italian Restaurant in Hong Kong!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Nice Italian, late lunches ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've only been for lunch here - the staff are nice, it's clean and I can wonder in alone and get lunch at 2.20pm. Standard Italian menu, very high quality and good value for both lunch and dinner.
For some reason, they close early at night. This is a shame because it's hard to get a nice meal in Soho later in the evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food, over-efficient service, weird hours!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had dinner here with a friend. The roasted figs with goat cheese were awesome, the duck was fabulous. Great wine selection, wonderful desserts. Admittedly it was a Tuesday night, but why the need to shoo everyone out the door and shut up shop by 10:30pm?

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cecconi's Italian also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Cecconi's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cecconi's Italian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.