We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice theme” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Shop 304 & 305, Level 3, The Peak Tower, 128 Peak Road, Hong Kong, China
+852 2849 2867
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #155 of 4,627 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $32 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Bubba Gump Shrimp Company is the first and only casual restaurant chained based on a motion picture. The vision was a casual family restaurant chain themed on Forrest Gump’s life, philosophy and love of shrimp. It was an instant success, just like the movie. It captures the charm and American spirit that made Forrest Gump a smash hit with down-home décor reminiscent of the movie’s setting in Alabama, showcasing memorabilia and photos from the movie, along with reproductions of script pages, storyboards and even some costumes. Bubba Gump is located at the highest point of Hong Kong, the Peak. With the panoramic view of the Victoria Harbor, we are perfect for any events from birthday's to corporate gatherings.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice theme”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I like the restaurant setting more than anything else. That's just me! It could had been a perfect experience if the weather is fair. We were seated in a perfect window seat which supposingly give us the best view. The food was fair as I am not a big fan of deep fried items. Anyway, it's worth trying the Bubble Gump shrimp experience. The BBQ rib seems tempting if shrimp is not the option. The menu is also price reasonably considering the location, quality and setting. Bon Apetite!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    186
    78
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Having been to the Peak and eaten at other restaurants, I was keen to visit Bubba Gump, I had visited Bubba Shrimp in Florida for the first time the year before and was keen to experience it again. The service was great as before, I have never been to a restaurant where it is so hassle free to attract some service via the number plate sign on our table. The only difference was expected where compared to Florida there was no staff interaction ref Forest Gump trivia questions but having already experienced it in the US it was fine by me. The Bubba Gump experience is worth it alone but the highlight is the view, at night and a clear one at that, the view (make sure you get a window table) is stunning, looking down at Hong Kong at night and its many skyscrapers is second to none. Watch the lazer show as well and it's perfect, a great way to see the city!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great view, good atmosphere and cool concept”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I love the movie and think the concept & theming is great. We had a 1/2hr to wait until we could head back down on the tram so decided to call in for a drink and a snack. My husband loved the Coronarita drink and bought the glass attachments to make them for our grown up sons. The food was pretty average but the view was spectacular and the staff very good. All on all a pretty good way to spend a 1/2 hr

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
“Amazing View - Get A Window Seat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We made a reservation via e-mail and they responded favourably very quickly. On the day, we were there earlier and the queue was very long. We were given a table promptly. Window seat with amazing night view. Food was served very fast, however it took a few reminders before they brought us cutleries. Food was good. Recommended for the great view.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Typical American mass catering - but the view is good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Food was OK -- if you like the formula -- just don't expect a gastronomic treat. What they lost in subtlety they more than made up for in quantity though. The Mud Pie, for example, was obscenely large and could have easily feed 4 people with normal appetites.

Only went in because we were starving and refused to eat at the Chinese restaurant as it was serving shark fin.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.