We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The dim sum is not the best but it is still an enjoyable restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maxim's Palace Chinese Restaurant

Maxim's Palace Chinese Restaurant
City Hall Low Block, Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China (Central)
852-25211303
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 4,640 Restaurants in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 386 Reviews
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: Central
Leicester
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The dim sum is not the best but it is still an enjoyable restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a large impressive restaurant with well-spaced tables and views over the harbor to Kowloon.
There is usually a queue but it moves quickly
The service is good and you can have a relaxed meal. The trick is to see when a dim sum trolley comes fresh from the kitchen as unfortunately some trolleys have been out for a long time and the dim sum from them is not so good
Ordering food is a good way to get fresh food and we were particularly impressed with Singapore Noodles, roast suckling pig and stir fried broccoli and garlic.
The dim sum is not the best but it is still an enjoyable restaurant

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    177
    48
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great HK Dim Sum lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Visited for lunch as was conveniently located halfway between our hotel and the IFC mall which we wanted to visit (the Apple store is amazing there!). Firstly it is quite hard to find - as on the 2nd floor of and arts and theatre complex. Please don't let put you off, as it is well worth visiting.

The room itself is massive - must be enough room for 1,000 covers, and it is really fun to have the carts coming round. A lot of the reviews on here suggest the ladies pushing the carts do not speak English, but in our experience whilst not fluent they spoke enough that we could be easily understood.

Food is very good quality but not amazing - best dishes were squid (long tentacles perfectly cooked), pasty bbq pork buns (amazing bbq pork inside), prawn & sweetcorn fritters with mayonnaise sauce (sounds ood but delicious). A number of the steamed offering (e.g har gau) were standard as per many other places.

All in all a great experience - and would possibly return - although would equally want to try other places in HK...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very nice but by no means great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I was very excited to have authentic dim sum in Hong Kong and was very much looking forward to this meal. The place is very hard to find and we walked for more than an hour looking for it. The area around the restaurant is undergoing major redevelopment so this made it all the harder. Look for the concert hall next to city hall and go up to the 2nd floor to find it. We finally showed up at 2:30 and still had to wait 25 minutes for a table.

The selection is smaller than I expected. Many of my favorite dim sum dishes were missing and it seemed like the same items kept coming around and around. After 10 minutes you've pretty much seen all they offer. The ladies pushing carts spoke no English and did not seem very interested in understanding what we needed. We also noticed that they would routinely skip tables of Ameicans if they thought we would not want a dish on their cart. Many times we had to wave them over.

The room is pretty but looks like something from the 60's. Table cloths are white and embroidered with the restaurant name - a shame since mine was pretty much covered in soy sauce due to my poor chopsticks skill level. The view is very nice.

This is a good choice if you like dim sum but expect it to be like American dim sum and you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Delicious Dim Sum, Authentic Hong Kong Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Dim Sum restaurant is open for LUNCH ONLY.
The waiters DO NOT SPEAK ENGLISH! Only Chinese! Just point to what you want to order. Everything came out correctly.
We went around 1:30 PM on a Friday. Many people were waiting but we did not get discouraged. We were seated within 20 mins (they give you a number and call them out over the loud speaker). We ordered some fried rice off the lunch menu which was a huge portion (enough for 2) and very good. Make sure you point to the lunch / dim sum menu because they pointed to a different menu (dinner I think) when we ordered and the exact same items are 3x more expensive. We made sure to say no and pointed to the menu we wanted to order from.
We ordered the rest of our meal off the dim sum carts which came by all the time and had dozens of items to pick from! We had shrimp dumplings, vegetable spring rolls, bbq beef puffed pastries. All were authentic and delicious! We were only in HK for 2 days and are glad we came to this restaurant - this is an experience not to be missed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We had the chance to go back and it was really worth it.
Delicious dim sum with a wonderful ambience. Better go there early because there is always a long cue during busy hours.
Next year we will go back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxim's Palace Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Maxim's Palace Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxim's Palace Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.