We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maxim's Palace Chinese Restaurant
City Hall Low Block, Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China (Central)
852-25211303
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 5,128 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night Food, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“^^”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Although always getting a long queue, it is value of money.

Great food, nice staff, delicious dim-sum, warm ambience that all contributed to its success.

Price a bit high, but affordable. Worth to go!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    191
    60
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We arrived by about 11am on a Wednesday so had no problem with queues although there was one by the time we left an hour or so later.

Service was via trolleys, all of which had different foods available.

Quality of the food was very good, service friendly and the setting wonderful. A brilliant way to end our stop in Hong Kong.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Good dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We ate at the 3rd floor restaurant (not the second floor). The food was all great. Highly recommend the cubed beef with peppers and the roasted whole chicken; one of the others in my group also ordered a really excellent scallop dish. Maybe not the most welcoming place for a foreign crowd, although it's not intimidating if you've eaten at other cantonese places or dim sum in Hong Kong.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Yumcha!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I am not usually one for dim sum but went along with some overseas guests we had staying with us to Maxims Palace in City Hall Central and I have to say I was rather impressed by the food, service and atmosphere of this restaurant therefore felt compelled to right up a good review. As all travellers have mentioned - be prepared to wait - unless you go around 2pm, but the wait is well worth it, excellent food, really friendly and helpful staff in a large room complete with chandeliers and a view over Hong Kong harbour, with a great vibe and hubbub when all the carts are wheeled around. Will definitely go here again and highly recommend the place to all!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent standard of Dim Sum, LONG queues”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Maxim's Palace is a large restaurant upstairs in the City Hall building. Great views of HK harbour from the window side seats. Grand room with spectacular chandaliers and the usual buzz of carts as the Dim Sum are served.

Be aware that you need to arrive early and be prepared to wait! We arrived at 11am on Sunday and still needed to wait 45 mins for a table. No reservations are accepted so either arrive early, or be prepared queue. But it is worth the wait!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxim's Palace Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Maxim's Palace Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxim's Palace Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.