We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly excellent value-for-money hotel stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road to your Saves list
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.100 Shek Pai Wan Road | Tin Wan, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 238 Reviews
Penang, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Truly excellent value-for-money hotel stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just came back from a 4 night stay at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour. Let me tell you guys, it is such a great value-for-money hotel in Hong Kong. The facade may not look impressive but the amenities and service here are great. With free wi-fi, free continental breakfast, free minibar, free self-laundry, free gym and free flow of drinks during happy hour, I honestly cannot find another hotel chain that matches Ovolo at that price. Customer service is fantastic - they speak very good English and are very courteous. Even the staff working in the kitchen and behind the scenes are friendly. I have not come across any hotel staff here that is rude. Don't let the location (Aberdeen) deter you from staying here as the hotel provides free shuttle service to the main MTR stations. Moreover, the bus stops are just across the street. Highly recommended place to stay and two thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    61
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
43
95
24
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel last year and decided to stay here again this year due to my good impression of it. They remain excellent in terms of service and facilities!

Just to summarise, they offer free breakfast, free minibar which includes soft drinks and beer, and a great selection of TV channels which broadcast live football matches and movies. There is also 'happy hour' from 6pm to 8pm where chips, salad and alcohol are served free in the lounge. There is no MTR station nearby (yet) but the hotel is just a 15-30 minute bus ride away from Causeway Bay or Mongkok. There is also a direct bus to the airport, with the ride being roughly 1.5 hours long.

It was great to see the assistant managers Alvin and Patty again, and they seemed to recognize us as well, giving us good hospitality. I am a regular visitor of Hong Kong and I look forward to staying in Ovolo again next year!

The only feedback I'd like to give is that the breakfast menu has hardly changed despite my stays being 1 year apart. They offer ham, hard-boiled egg, bread, yogurt, fruits, juice, coffee and tea, which are nice, but the same food is served everyday and it can get boring if you stay there for many days. As I mentioned in my post last year, food like hash browns, sausages, and bacon would be appreciated, even if it's just for variety's sake. Nonetheless, I'd still rate this hotel 5/5.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked this place based on the reviews on trip adv and price point. So let me be real here. The rooms are minuscule and I mean that. For example there is no closets, just hangers on a rod behind the door. The location as a tourist isn't great. The neighborhood feels dodgy and is far. Not sure what else to tell you folks. It's basically a step up from a two star. No idea why everyone loves it. And on the price point it's not even that cheap. We paid $150 usd and it should have been $75.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The staff were very hospitable, helpful and friendly. The hotel is very compact and stylish and was generally very clean at all time. Free breakfast, along with a nightly happy hour, where all sort of drinks were free with various type of snacks, complemented the great valve for staying at this hotel. I will strongly recommended this hotel to anyone wishing to stay at a pretty reasonable price hotel, that offers Five Star Service. I must say a special thanks to Eric and Eric for being so helpful and making my stay a very memorable one. I will definitely stay at this hotel anytime I visit Hong Kong again.

Room Tip: Best rooms are from the eleven floor up and the Harbour View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This compact and well priced hotel is just fantastic.
It all started with the friendly and helpful staff who looked after our bags before the room was ready and the overall very pleasant experience continued until our late checkout three days later.
The view over Hong Kong and Aberdeen Harbours from our 23rd floor sea view suite was just breathtaking..
The suite itself was spotless and beautifully appointed although the bed base did creak a bit and probably needs replacing but this did not detract from the experience.
The free minibar, goodies bag, slippers and carry bag were nice touches and the two hour free 'happy hour' is just unbelievable. A great way to mingle with other guests.
Aberdeen is a great place to stay with easy ferry access to the Outlying Islands and local restaurants. Can't wait to come back when the MTR station (train) opens.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view suite. Costs a bit more but worth every cent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The ideal hotel to stay if you want to explore Hong Kong and the surrounding islands! Compact and stylish; just about everything you need. Reception was great; everybody was hospitable and friendly. I arrived a little before check-in time, but there is a delightful self service coffee bar where one can catch up with the rest of the world. This service is complimentary and WiFi is free. The rooms too are compact with an impressive array of amenities, complimentary mini bar, water , soft drinks and a few more. The room had a magnificent view over Aberdeen harbour, quite special, daytime and night time. Happy hour, or should I rather say Happy hours - from six to eight evenings, is ever so popular! Drinks on the house and delicious snacks. Everybody, young and old, seemed to love it. Actually, no need for dinner after that!
Looked forward to retire to my room at the end of the day, crisp white linen, great bed and bathroom and as I have mentioned, fantastic view! The ideal retreat after a hectic day. From here we will scout and explore, and come back to Base Camp at the end of each day.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this hotel with my group of friends in August. Although it is located some distance away from Central, it is well-connected with most parts of the city by taxis. The hotel also has its own shuttle bus. As far as the food is concerned, it was quite good. They provided continental breakfast and free drinks were available throughout the day in the lounge. There was also a well-stocked mini-bar with beer and snacks. The rooms were quite comfortable and had a queen bed and Apple TV. Recommended for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road

Address: No.100 Shek Pai Wan Road | Tin Wan, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#19 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#28 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour is a unique lifestyle hotel that combines ultra-modern interiors with all-inclusive signature services (Free Breakfast, Free superspeed Wi-Fi, Free Minibar, Free Happy Hour) and the latest tech including 3D smart TVs for every guest. With multiple bedding configurations on offer, each styled in futuristic tribute to the surrounding area and featuring an entertainment console, elegant walk-in shower and large windows with sweeping views of the sea, Ovolo is perfect for business, couple, family and group travellers. Guests looking to indulge or unwind can also head to Lo Lounge, where complimentary breakfast is served daily and a complimentary happy hour nightly.Positioned in the city’s definitive harbour front location that puts you steps from outlet stores and under 5km from major attractions like Ocean Park and Cyberport, Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour keeps you 15 minutes from Central district through convenient public transport links, but far enough away from the chaos to enjoy a unique laid back slice of tranquility in authentic Aberdeen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 100 Shek Pai Wan Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.