We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Assesment of Our Stay- Sanath de A” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road to your Saves list
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.100 Shek Pai Wan Road | Tin Wan, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overall Assesment of Our Stay- Sanath de A”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed 6 nights in this Hotel and found that it was a very good place to stay. Our stay was mainly on Business but staff was very helpful and friendly. Attended to all our needs and went out of the way to assist us in many ways. The rooms were comfortable and clean. No noise from the air conditioners. Staff is doing a tremendous service to look after their guest. Kitchen staff and front desk staff are very professional and polite. Mini bar is free with bear, water, coke and fruit juices and Happy hour from 6 to 8.00 pm was even better.

Room Tip: Rooms with a good view is better. Upper levels are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Hello there Sanath P d

We are very pleased to hear that our facilities and services had provided you a comfortable stay during your 6 nights with us. What is even gratifying is the fact that you made a point to describe that our staff is “doing a tremendous service to look after their guest”. I and the rest of the Happy-Shiny team here at Ovolo can’t thank you enough for that. We truly enjoyed looking after you and the missus and we look forward to your next Hong Kong visit!

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    60
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
41
93
23
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with two of my friends.It's a great place to stay.Super helpful staff.Gizelle at the front office was very patient in explaining how to go about Hong Kong.The rooms are quiet and comfortable and have a great view.There are numerous freebies in the room.You can hang out the lounge where you have access to free fruits, coke, water etc.They have a great happy hour between 6 to 8pm where the bar is free no matter what you drink.

TIP: The hotel is awesome.Aberdeen is a little far off from the MTR and it's not easy to get directions while you are in the city.It's best to use the free hotel shuttle which
leaves every one to two hours for the Hong Kong station.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear indronil9

Hong Kong is a tourist friendly city but it can be deceptively complicated at first glance. So it is always nice to have someone with local knowledge who will point you to the right direction and offer a step by step guide to the various places the city has to offer. I’m very pleased to hear that our “super helpful staff” Giselle had managed to provide just that. While our 6 to 8pm Happy Hour is great, our O Lounge is practically Happy Hour 24/7 with our gourmet coffee, selection of organic teas and other non-alcoholic beverages for free. This is our Ovolo-way to say thank you for choosing to stay with us! Until next time!

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I had high expectations after reading great reviews so I booked a sea view room for a birthday trip but it turned out to be really disappointing. In our first room, the aircon above the bed started dripping during our sleep which gave us quite a rude shock. We requested for someone to look into it or a room change when we left for the day but when we returned at night, the staff had no record of our request and even told us that we should have made our request earlier. Our second room wasn't much better. The curtains and the bathroom door could not close fully so we had bright sunlight streaming in at 7am, making it impossible to sleep. A really bad experience overall.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear de-caffeinatic

I am very disheartened to hear of what occurred during your stay. It is unacceptable that we failed to follow through with your concern. And I’m very sorry that we were not able to provide a comfortable stay. We have a process in place that when a guest expresses a concern, several key personnel are notified for a thorough follow through. However, in this particular occasion, although actions were carried out to rectify the problem we failed to let you know what had been done to address your concern and also failing to notify the next manager on duty of the occurrence. On the matter of the curtains and bathroom door, modification work are now being carried out.

de-caffeinatic, I hope you will indulge us on this occasion. Should you decide to stay with us again and allow us an opportunity to redeem ourselves, I hope you will write to me directly so I can personally look after your stay. If you wish to share with us further details of your experience for our improvement, we would be most grateful to hear again from you.

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights & I love this hotel. I booked through agoda, called the hotel a day before and requested to book us on 27th Floor and they did it at no extra charge. Comfortable rooms and very very friendly staff. Mini bar has - Water, Coke, Beer and is all free! The rooms are clean, comfy beds and well maintained. Breakfast is small but sufficient spread. There are unlimted brownies & cookies served through the day (brownies are super yummy)

Its a bit far out from central. Costs about HK$80 & 20 mins one way and there are enough buses (30-40 mins). As first time travelers, overall Ovolo, Aberdeen but just a bit far out, which was a pain.

Room Tip: Always choose the higher floors. Since the rooms are smaller specifically ask for Twin or Double, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Good day IsaacVivek!

We love that you loved our hotel! Thank you for the “very, very friendly staff” seal of approval and I’m glad we were able to accommodate your request. The brownies is one of our secret weapon, providing a touch of sweetness to an already flavorful experience :-). We just started running our city-shuttle services, another addition to our long list of complimentary amenities, and with the planned opening of a subway station nearby, transport will be even easier.

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I stayed in the Ovolo for 3 nights in June 2014 and it was a very pleasant experience. We stayed in an ocean view room and the view was fantastic with a classic Hong Kong feel looking over the river and the Aberdeen Docks. The room was clean, modern and well air conditioned. Fresh drinks added to the fridge each day. The breakfast had a good range with enough food to get you started for the day ahead. Location is not ideal to the main Hong Kong area but the front desk staff are more than happy to help you with buses and directions to wherever you need to go. Overall a great experience

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear GMSmith82

Like you, many reviewers have been quick to point out the many inclusions that we provide to our guests. From the mini-bar that are refillable daily, the two happy-hours with spirits, wines and nibbles to our continental breakfast spread. It is an encouraging affirmation that what we do here strikes a chord among the modern travelers and their needs. I also enjoy your description of the Aberdeen Harbour and “classic” does defines it.

Hong Kong is fortunate to have an efficient, most frequent and safest public transport system. And our Front Desk team will happily give you a lowdown of what you need to know navigating the compelling streets of Hong Kong.

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avesta, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed for 6 nights in july 2014 together with my boyfriend. This hotel is VERY good, we would definitely stay there again. The staff is helpful, the rooms are clean, breakfast is tasty with a good variety and the happy hour is fun. There are laundry machines free of charge. The bus ride to the central takes about 30 minutes and the bus stop is just outside. The only disappointment was the gym, which is very very small.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear MalinEOlsson

Your “Awesome hotel, highly recommended” review is much appreciated. Sorry about the gym but I’m happy to know that our helpful staff, our cleaning team, our breakfast and happy hour just made up for it. I’m glad you found a home in Hong Kong with us and we can’t wait to welcome you and your boyfriend back. Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This hotel was a great find. The staff were really friendly, especially one man in particular whose name, if I remember well, was Eric. We was so nice and so kind we felt like hugging him when we left. :D We, my two kids and I, had the Queen Bunk, which they loved, especially my 12yr old who got the bunk. There were all sorts of goody bags when we arrived and 3D TV. We took an offer with Ocean Park entrance tickets and the price worked out excellent. There are great views over Aberdeen bay, especially at night.

On the some side of the street further up there is a marvellous dim sum restaurant full of locals.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear SarahJupiter

Our Queen+Bunk is a unique feature of Ovolo - a queen bed plus an overhanging single bed that is reminiscent of one child hood’s tree house that is why it proves to be a hit amongst kids and the kids-at-heart!

Let me tell you about a Michelin-starred dim sum restaurant in IFC mall, which I am not going to name but it is where diners line for hours to get a seat. The dim sum next door is no doubt in the same league or I dare say even better, without the fuss and the ridiculous queue. If they are frequented with locals – you know it’s going to be good! I’m glad you got to enjoy it!

Eric is such a lovely, lovely man! And he sends lots of hugs your way!

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road

Address: No.100 Shek Pai Wan Road | Tin Wan, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#16 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour is a unique lifestyle hotel that combines ultra-modern interiors with all-inclusive signature services (Free Breakfast, Free superspeed Wi-Fi, Free Minibar, Free Happy Hour) and the latest tech including 3D smart TVs for every guest. With multiple bedding configurations on offer, each styled in futuristic tribute to the surrounding area and featuring an entertainment console, elegant walk-in shower and large windows with sweeping views of the sea, Ovolo is perfect for business, couple, family and group travellers. Guests looking to indulge or unwind can also head to Lo Lounge, where complimentary breakfast is served daily and a complimentary happy hour nightly.Positioned in the city’s definitive harbour front location that puts you steps from outlet stores and under 5km from major attractions like Ocean Park and Cyberport, Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour keeps you 15 minutes from Central district through convenient public transport links, but far enough away from the chaos to enjoy a unique laid back slice of tranquility in authentic Aberdeen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 100 Shek Pai Wan Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour-100 Shek Pai Wan Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.