We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Char Siu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dynasty

Dynasty
3/F, No. 1 Harbour Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)
+852 2584 6971
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #327 of 4,635 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $300 - $1,000
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Wan Chai
Description: The award-winning Dynasty Restaurant is renowned for serving authentic Cantonese cuisine in an elegant and inviting atmosphere. Coupled with spectacular harbour views, Dynasty is a perfect place for business meals and family gatherings.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Char Siu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Do not miss it: the best I've ever eaten, anywhere! Absolutely incredible! The bean curd dishes were good too!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“The best bbq pork you'll ever eat!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Dynasty restaurant in Hong Kong was wonderful. We joined a bunch of local HK friends there and had such a fun evening. This restaurant is famous for their barbecue pork and now I see why. It was "melt in your mouth" good!! Actually, all of the dim sum was excellent.
Also, let me commend the waiter staff. Wonderful service and lot of smiles.
Dynasty is right on the Hong Kong harbor so the view is worth the trip there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safed, Israel
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing - there are no other word!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is one amazing restaurant. The dim sum are oustanding! Made with elegance and skillful precision like no ther I have eaten. The taste was also superior to any dim sum ever (LA, NYC, Toronto, Hong kong, London...). This is unique. And the crown of it all is the barbecued pork. I did not imagine it could be this good. Other dishes are fantastic but the barbecued pork is simply amazing. Its worth the trip to Hong Kong! Excellent tea menue as well. Don't leave town without coming here. Forget about such things as cost, discount (huh?) or view (doubtful actually) just go here!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Dynasty Restaurant 滿福樓”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We order 3 dim sums, cha siu, clay pot rice of chicken and desserts. It is within our anticipation that all dim sums are prepared with heart. Food materials are also in high quality. They are much tastier than those in other restaurants. Cha siu is also very delectable, it has a well balance of taste and no msg has been used. Quality of clay pot rice is further enhanced, by adding the specially prepared soya sauce.

For more photos, please visit http://blog.yahoo.com/deli-prince-club/articles/32745.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese Yet Westerners Review Menu Prior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Dynasty is the Michelin starred restaurant within The Renaissance Harbour View Hotel. Guests are provided with a 20% discount off dinner. Of all the restaurant choices within the hotel, Dynasty would be considered “fine dining” and “superior service”.

Setting: The restaurant is a large space with floor to ceiling glass overlooking the Harbour to the north towards Kowloon. Of note, if the lighting was more subdued, the views would be absolutely amazing. Regardless, be sure to request a table by the window.

Food: The menu which is in Chinese and English is diverse however it is oriented to Chinese delicacies. For example items included Chicken Feet, probably not on the most desirable list for Westerners. However there are many mainstream dishes with an emphasis on fish and seafood.

Dim Sum: We started with the 4-piece dim-sum menu which was truly delicious. The four included Wagyu beef tart, a scallop option, Pork and Shrimp, thus a perfect opportunity to sample the options available.

We included a noodle dish share. Of note, the portion sizes are large as they are oriented to Chinese style of dining i.e. sharing. Larger tables have a “lazy Susan” installed to provide easy access to the food. The dish was delicious, however we could hardly make a dent as the Dim-Sum was quite filling.

Overall: The restaurant is a good option for either a couple or a group of friends dining together. The kitchen seems amenable to dietary requests and the wait-staff is most informed. Even though the restaurant may be considered expensive, by Hong Kong standards, prices are average and when considering the portion sizes, one could suggest reasonable.

If you are staying within the Renaissance or in the Wan Chai neighborhood and desire a more upscale dining option, Dynasty should be considered. With the limited fine dining options within Wan Chai, Dynasty has their market share protected.

Our tariff for the two dim-sum and the noodle dish with the discount and inclusive of the 10% svc. charge (std in HK), was about $65 USD.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dynasty also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Dynasty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dynasty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.