We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The one I miss so much!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kau Kee Restaurant

Kau Kee Restaurant
G/F., 21 Gough Street, Mid-Level, Central, Hong Kong, China (Sheung Wan)
852-28150123
Improve this listing
Ranked #205 of 5,128 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Sheung Wan
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The one I miss so much!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stew with clear soup is slightly sweet but good. My favorite is curry one with red noodle! Slightly spicy but sooooo good to have. Very impressive! Perfect food to have in humid Hong Kong :D

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    75
    32
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth the effort to look for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Read about this place in a travel blog when my brother and I were eager for some good beef brisket. Found it after searching along some cobbled streets pretty much like those you find in Covent Garden :) place is really a hole in the wall and was already full when we got there at about 7pm. Shared a table with 2 other covers - yes, they squeeze you in without so much as a by-your-leave. But then that's HK isn't it? Menu was in Chinese but we just pointed to what the others were having and we were served pretty quick. I had the stringy noodles while my brother had the flat rice noodles (hor fun). Beef was super tender, noodles were springy and the stock was light but extremely flavorful. If we didn't already have a snack of roast meat just before (sorry.. It is HK after all), we would have definitely gone for another bowl each. The place would have gotten 5 stars except that I wouldn't recommend it if you had young ones in tow. The noodles are also a bit on the pricey side ($36) given its location and whatever you can call an ambience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort St. John, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Local's Recommended: Impression: Very Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We would likely have never recognzied this little shop as outstanding (in the eyes of local's) for it's many versions of beef brisket. The neighborhood in Sheung Wan is a great little wander for shops and galleries, and a noted top 10 French restaurant just down the street (Lot 10). While apparently often a line up to get in, the place is typical of local eating places in many ways. You, or others will be seated at any available stool with others, and the menu is somewhat limited. The beef brisket is ok, by consensus in our party of three, not outstanding compared to other similar places in the immediate area. The noodles have a faint overtaste of amonia, and certainly like many 'local' eateries the attention to cleanliness in the facility itself is not top priority. Had I gone out of my way to find the place, or waited to get in, I would have been dissapointed by the otherwise very average Hong Kong quickie chinese dining experence. Bottom line, the place is OK, not notable for a street eatery. Closes during the dinner hour when the staff eats, opens later. Limited english, but passable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Different styles of beef brisket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stumbled upon Kau Kee after shopping at Homeless for furniture. Gough Street is located a short walk from either Sheung Wan MTR or Central MTR (longer walk).

Tried the curry beef brisket (similar to japanese style curry but not as sweet) and the original style. As observed by some other reviewers, the beef brisket is served with clear colourless broth, somewhat different than the beef brisket noodles that I'm accustomed to seeing which has a rich brown broth. However, the clear broth packed a surprising depth of flavour (reminiscent of daikon?). Well worth a try if you're in the vicinity (Central/Sheung Wan).

We were fortunate that we didn't have to wait for a table, but a line had formed by the time we finished (around 8pm).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best beef brisket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I brought my Japanese friend to kau kee last week, she ordered the curry beef brisket with e-fu noodle and i ordered the one with normal broth. She told me she didn't expect that such an ordinary food can be so delicious, which was very different from what she ate in other place before.

BTW it was lucky for us that there was no queue when we arrived. It was 7pm.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kau Kee Restaurant also viewed

 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Kau Kee Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kau Kee Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.