We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hyatt - The Grill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt- The Grill

Grand Hyatt- The Grill
1 Harbour Road, Grand Hyatt Hotel, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)
852-25847722,852-25881234
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 4,657 Restaurants in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 57 Reviews
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Buffet
Neighborhood: Wan Chai
Description: Set in the centre of a lush garden, The Grill offers alfresco dining for grilled specialities, home-made fruit and vegetable blends and speciality ice teas. The weekend brunch and barbecue dinner buffet is perfect for those who enjoy refreshing salads, grilled premium quality meat and seafood, and mouth-watering desserts.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Grand Hyatt - The Grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Lovely food and lots of it. Manager and staff very friendly and helpful. It was a little cold and windy the night we were there but we had just arrived from UK and it still was better weather than what we had left behind on Christmas Night!! Great selection of food and lovely attentive staff.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“a hidden secret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

It is not easy to find a place in Hong Kong where you can dine outdoor and some privacy, and having brunch at the grill was such an enjoyable experience!

I have been to the Grill for both dinner and brunch. The dinner actually offers more choices. But I liked the brunch more because I got to drink as much I could :p

The was was not disappointing and it is always pretty good. For someone who like BBQ, this is the place to be. Very nice setting by the pool and staff was generally nice and helpful.

I am sure I will be back to the Grill again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Tough to rate this place properly as there's so many conflicting factors. The setting is fabulous if the weather is good and service is not bad but the chairs are hopelessly uncomfortable.

There's a good wine selection for an outdoor pool restaurant such as this but you have to drink your Bordeaux out of a plastic glass.

Food portions are generous, it's decent value for money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
“Great lunch venue but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

They really know how to charge for simple fare including sparkling water! Service discreet and super attentive and salmon was well cooked and flavoursome but ... Not sure it command the price

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
“Can't get enough of their brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I've been here 3 times in as many weeks so that probably gives you a good idea of how I feel about The Hyatt Grill.

With so many brunches to choose from in Hong Kong, the Hyatt have done well to differentiate themselves by doing an amazing BBQ/grill by the swimming pool as opposed to the usual shelves upon shelves of randomly placed foodstuffs (eggs benedict sat next to a lamb vindaloo – errr go figure) that litter the regular brunch venues. As well as which, you can go on either Saturday or Sunday which is handy if you want to have a few schnifties and wake up on a Sunday as opposed to 6am Monday with the work devil looming over you saying "Get up! Why did you drink too many free flow bubbles yesterday you alcoholic douche?!"

Soooooooooo lets start with the setting. Well what can I say, if the sun is shining, this little gem is like an oasis in heart of HK's high-rise, skyscraping business district. If the sun isn't shining? Well it's still a little oasis. Hotel guests are lounging lazily by the pool, groovy staff are breezily attending to this and that, and little kidlywinkies are bouncing around happily in the water. Nice atmosphere. And as of 11.30am.... there's tables filled to the brim of salivating Hongkongers ready to feast on the grill.

Food wise, we are talking high quality goods folks. Not a drop of oil or fat or processed-ness. No, what we have here is top-notch fresh fresh fresh food. A huge salad bar with all manner of salady goodies and umpteen dressings to choose from. A fresh fish and meat bar that is showcasing chunks of high-grade yummies and behind are some well-trained chefs on the grill, cooking all of this fabulousness to tender perfection. Scattered around are some mini-islands with a few house-favourites, lasagna, nasi goreng, sausages, (that sorta thing) and these rotate week by week (check me out filling you in on weekly nuances), but you get my gist – the real focus here is the fresh grill and the beautiful salad bar. So after a customary 4 rounds/plates, whatever, it’s time for pud. Dessert here is just dangerous, deathly and tummy-tyre-inducing. The puddings are to.die.for. Try their pecan pie or their chocolate torte, did I say or? I meant AND. Yes do both, and then finish it off with some ice cream, and some sweeties, and some hundreds and thousands, and a dollop of chocolate.

Drinkie poos – you pay an additional 170HKD (ish) over the brunch price for free flow bubbles, wine etc. Very nice. Just make sure you keep that glass topped up – they’re not in a hurry to do that for you, so nudge away.

My only mini, and I mean pea-sized mini – gripe, is the staff. Bit iffy – sometimes good, sometimes non-existent, sometimes curt and a tad snobbish. But on the whole, well trained, professional and non-intrusive. Really I’m just nit-picking. This place is fabulous, now stop reading this and go book yourself a table!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Hyatt- The Grill also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Grand Hyatt- The Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt- The Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.