We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy Sunday Morning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Verandah Restaurant (The Repulse Bay)

The Verandah Restaurant (The Repulse Bay)
No.109 Repulse Bay Road | Repulse Bay, Hong Kong, China
+852 2292 2822
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #754 of 4,647 Restaurants in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 47 Reviews
Price range: $39 - $193
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Private Dining
Description: The Verandah is a celebrated restaurant that brings you a faultless combination of heavenly traditional Continental cuisine, blended with innovation, fine wines and discreet, attentive service, in a classic yet relaxing setting in true Peninsula style.The Verandah re-opened following a six-month-long extensive restoration and refurbishment of its interiors and kitchens in August 2009. It maintains the relaxed and spacious atmosphere of the original Repulse Bay Hotel but with a Grand Hall to create a more spacious and welcoming arrival experience and a revitalised interior. A new Grand Staircase provides stylish and convenient passage from the restaurant to the Palm Court and the retail arcade. Regulars can rest assured that The Verandah's celebrated signature dishes — and its traditional English Afternoon Tea and Sunday Brunch — remain on its bill of fare.Opening hours : Wednesday to Saturday, Public Holidays Lunch 12:00 noon to 2:30 pm Afternoon Tea 3:00 pm to 5:30 pm(3:30 pm to 5:30 pm onPublic Holidays) Dinner 7:00 pm to 10:30 pm Sunday Brunch 11:00 am to 2:30 pm Afternoon Tea 3:30 pm to 5:30 pm Dinner 7:00 pm to 10:30 pm Closed every Monday and Tuesday (except Public Holidays).Lunch and Afternoon TeaKindly note that our dress code is Smart Casual.We respectfully request that gentlemen refrain from wearing plastic footwear, beach flip-flops and sandals. Additionally, sleeveless shirts are not allowed for gentlemen.DinnerKindly note that our dress code is Smart Casual.We respectfully request that gentlemen refrain from wearing plastic footwear, beach flip-flops and sandals. Sleeveless shirts are not allowed for gentlemen. Additionally, full length trousers are required for gentlemen.
manila
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Easy Sunday Morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband and I reached The Repulse Bay Club via express bus from the Hong Kong Station. The fare was HKD 10.00 and took us about 15 minutes to get to the place. The bus drops you off right by the club.

The ambience of the restaurant is wonderful: colonial building, high ceilings, wooden ceiling fans, marble floors, wooden doors and windows with brass fixtures. We had a table by the window so we had a seaside view while enjoying our brunch.

Appetizers and dessert was buffet style; and we were given a choice for our main course. The appetizer spread consisted of different salads, shrimps, crabs, sushi corner, cold cuts/canapés corner, fresh asparagus soup, foie gras. There was also a fresh juice bar. Try the sangria--very light and refreshing.

For the dessert spread, they had ice cream, apple pudding, crepes and freshly made tiramisu which you must try!

There was a choice between the pork loin, pasta and fish for the main course. my aunty had the pork loin and according to her was a bit tough. I had the fish which was nice and light.

We had a wonderful Sunday get together with family friends in this homey place-good ambience, wonderful views, good food, good service. Very different and welcome change from the usual bustle of the city.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A favorite in Hong Kong for 15 years!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We used to live walking distance from this lovely restaurant so we have been quite a few times for special occasions. The service is always very attentive and well trained, the food consistent and fresh, the ambience amazing with an "Old Hong Kong colonial" feel. We ate there last night on a whim to celebrate a new job procurement and it was as wonderful as usual.

Their fixed price menu is very good value for a fancy restaurant (HKD 508) for 4 courses. It includes a choice of cocktail, appetizer, main course and dessert to suit everyone, even vegetarians. The portions were just right. If the fixed menu isn't your preference there are many selections on the a la carte menu and they have 2 other special inclusive dinners that are tasty but a lot of food (Boston Lobster promo and Repulse Bay Classic menus) My husband is a big fan of the Repulse Bay Classic!

Now for some tips....
1. always call for a reservation to avoid disappointment. They have many wedding parties here and often the whole venue is booked. Friday and Saturday nights are popular and often fully booked.
2. it is a nice option for Sunday brunch
3. get a table by the window on the left side facing the restaurant. The view is better.
4. treat yourself to a glass of champagne with fruit flavor added. The blueberry is the best!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience, but disappointed by the food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The good things first... The restaurant is just gorgeous - with an old world colonial charm, and lovely sea views. Perfect ambience for a brunch/ lunch/ afternoon tea.

We went on a public holiday... On those days, They serve a set lunch and there are no ala carte options. For HKD 498pp, this includes buffet spreads of appetizers (mostly salads and cold cuts) and desserts, one soup and one entree (from a choice of 4). Three of us ordered the pork sausage with mash, and one ordered the salmon. The salmon was okay, but the sausage was smelly and tasted almost raw (may be its supposed to be like that?)... All of us returned it after one bite. They kindly replaced our mains with the roast duck... We didn't like that either... But it was more edible than the sausage. The desserts were decent, especially the mango pudding, the raspberry tart and the bread and butter pudding. Overall, the food was a disappointment, especially given the price tag.

The service was okay. Appreciate the fact that they replaced our mains with no argument, and didn't try to hurry us, even as the place started filling up with the afternoon tea crowd.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Classy & Romantic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I took my girlfriend here for our anniversary. I'm glad I did. A very romantic atmosphere with great food. A bit pricey but about what I expected from a spot this nice. Candlelights on the table were nice. I tried the baby spring chicken. It arrived to the table flaming - very cool. I'd recommend this place for a special occasion dinner. I'm curious to try the brunch and will probably return to try it sometime.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Always nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

They have a great indian restaurant to sit at outside. Very enjoyable in nice weather. SPICES by name. they have inside seating too. Call to book

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Verandah Restaurant (The Repulse Bay) also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to The Verandah Restaurant (The Repulse Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Verandah Restaurant (The Repulse Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.