We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, consistently” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Basil Thai Cuisine, Lee Theatre 6/F

Sweet Basil Thai Cuisine, Lee Theatre 6/F
Percival Street, Hong Kong, China (Causeway Bay)
852-28901993
Improve this listing
Ranked #540 of 4,640 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $70 - $150
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Neighborhood: Causeway Bay
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food, consistently”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been eating here when I come over to Hong Kong for three years in a row! This trip, I have already eaten here twice and have only been here one week. Favorite dishes; fried baby oysters with egg; minced pork lettuce wraps (make your own wrap); pad sew yu (#1009); pomelo salad with avocado - they don't tell you it comes with crispy bacon on top - could be a nice surprise or not! For dessert, mango slices with black sticky rice in cream: get the portion for one if there are 2-3 of you as it is big portion. All drinks are good, but the Thai Iced Tea is always very good! Let them suggest a second dessert, if you're still hungry, English ability of servers limited, so be prepared to point to what you want. Slow service, but I don't like to rush through their food!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great dinner those staying local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

This was a great place to have a good meal when not looking for too much fuss.
Its hard to find a good dinner close to the hotel in an area like this. Highly recommended when you don't want to go 'out' but can't face another room service. Dinner for two was under $au50 and pad Thai, red curry and mango with sticky rice were all great.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Friendly staff and excellent food. Good shopping on the ground floor and an excellent Japanese restaurant on the first level

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food ... if only there wasn't a cockroach swimming in it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The food is great. So good that it had me moaning in delight the last time I ate there ... that is until my co-worker spotted a suspicious looking creature in her curry. Dripping in sauce on the side of her bowl was a little cockroach. Sure he was dead, sure we didn't actually eat him, but needless to say it ruined the meal. We had to go shopping afterwards just get our minds off of the fact that we just ate sauce a cockroach bathed in. Dinner might have been free, but our wallets suffered the aftermath.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“YUm! yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

All in the menu are good, i most esp liked the egg fried oysters

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Basil Thai Cuisine, Lee Theatre 6/F also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Sweet Basil Thai Cuisine, Lee Theatre 6/F? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Basil Thai Cuisine, Lee Theatre 6/F, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.