We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SPOON by Alain Ducasse

SPOON by Alain Ducasse
InterContinental Hong Kong | 18 Salisbury Road, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)
852-23132323
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #223 of 4,348 restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $80 - $250
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Heard so much about Spoon at the intercontinental Hong Kong two star Michelin hat not impressed.
I have been to much better places that don't have Michelin hats that probably should.
The food was not that great.
Lumpy mash potatoe and very ordinary salad. Would rate this place 5/10 would not recommend. E

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    59
    35
    33
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This restaurant is located within the incomparable Intercontinental Hotel. The view of Hong Kong island is outstanding. The service is also very good. The food however could have been better. The presentation is attractive yet the substance does not achieve the two star rating. There is effort made, yet that particular touch that separates good from outstanding food is just not there. Perhaps it was that night. Clearly does not reach the same level of the competition across the bay.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We ate in the 2 Michelin Star Spoon by Alain Ducasse for Sunday brunch in Oct 12. This was our best meal in Hong Kong and the food choice, quality and service wonderful. The accompanying wines were also excellent. Views were great.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Schocking to know this restaurant has mr Ducasse name ascosiated to it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I must admit it is some time ago i visited this restaurant and forgot to post my toughts of the evening @ spoon. That famous evening my wife joined me in Hong Kong to celebrate her birth day , spoon restaurant was an easy choice for me as it carrys mr Ducasse name so my expectations for a perfect evening should have been easy to be realised. Restaurant is very romantic with it 's dimmed lightening and candle lights on the tables. View is stunning and we even received a table close to the window. Here is where my positive comment ends. First course was tasteless and embarasing as my wife asked is this what ducasse is about ( usually i am the one complayning ). Main course we both had some piece of meat , that was totaly overcoocked and sauce had no taste what so ever. Wine i choose whas a wine i new well and if i remember well it was kanonkop from south africa wich is supposed to be a nice wine full of tastes from dark fruits buth also here totaly disapointed , maybe the year i took was a bad year or maybe storage of wine was mot done well . In any case i expect a restaurant with the name of mr Ducasse on it to not sell wines from poor quality or atleast advise me if i make a mistake of choosing the wrong year for a certain wine even if a better year is more expensive wich i would not mind to pay. Service was decent but far from perfect . Thank you for free dessert . Conclusion i realy do not agree with the two star rating from michelin and did mot only find the food realy bad i found the price charged extremely expensive wich would not have been an issueif the food would have been what i hoped it to be. My wife and i left with the tought that we should have booked another restaurant in the same hotel where we ate a few evenings later and enjoyed great steaks and wine.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Devine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I am still surprised that HK has such great french and italian restaurants. It was actually hard to find good cantonese! Spoon was excellent - delicious flavours, top service, amazing wine list, you pay for it but it is well worth it. Would definitely recommend.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SPOON by Alain Ducasse also viewed

 

Been to SPOON by Alain Ducasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SPOON by Alain Ducasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.