We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Roma, Aqua Tokyo & Aqua Spirit

Aqua Roma, Aqua Tokyo & Aqua Spirit
29/F & 30/F, 1 Peking Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)
852-34272288
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 5,128 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $24 - $127
Cuisines: Italian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Description: Concept With dazzling views of Hong Kong’s harbour and skyline, ultra-stylish interiors and an innovative menu offering the very best contemporary Italian and Japanese cuisines, aqua tops the list of the city’s sophisticated dining destinations. Chill out in the glamorous penthouse lounge and bar with vibes from the Aquamusic DJ team, cool cocktails and the glamorous in-crowd. Accolades 'Ospitalità Italiana’ Award – Best Italian restaurant 2012Tatler – Hong Kong’s Best restaurants 2012 to 2004‘Hottest 100 Tables’ in the world by Condé Nast Traveler Wallpaper UK – May 2012One of 50 finest restaurants – Tatler/American Express 2008DestinAsian February/March 2006Wallpaper (UK) March 2005Condé Nast Traveler (US) October 2005Condé Nast Traveler (UK) November 2004Vogue Entertaining + Travel (Australia) August 2004Travel + Leisure (US) August 2004Cuisine aqua provides a dual concept menu offering the best of both Italian and Japanese cuisines in one signature menu. The cuisines can be enjoyed on their own or combined, with say a Japanese starter and Italian main course.Italian – aqua romaaqua roma’s new chef, Giuliano Dacasto focuses on traditional Italian cooking with a modern flair. Choose from a tempting selection of Primi, including fine antipasti, gourmet thin-crust pizzas, hand-made pastas and al dente risottos. Move on to Secondi - a sumptuous array of fresh seafood and some of the finest meat cuts available, all prepared to traditional Italian values with a contemporary twist.Japanese - aqua tokyoaqua tokyo is “inventive traditional cuisine” taking authentic Japanese culinary roots to “new heights”. Chef Iwahashi Tatsuya presents a mouth-watering array of sushi and sashimi prepared from seafood he’s carefully selected and flown in daily from around the globe. To complete a wonderful dining experience, aqua’s famous Dessert Platter combines a selection of Italian and Japanese desserts presented on a beautiful platter for sharing by the whole table – Asian style.
Hong Kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always a great brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have been going to an annual celebratory brunch in Aqua for 5 years with generally the same group of friends. We have been going back for a reason. Plenty of great food and a great waiter (Kervs) who was customer focused and did a great job in making it another fantastic brunch. We thought the choice of antipasta this time was not as extensive as before, but there was no shortage. The sushi platters were, as usual, amazing and we were able to order extras of the things we really liked. The champagne kept flowing and the food kept coming. Its a little different from the other brunches as you are served your food at the table, which I feel makes it a little more personal. And of course you get that amazing view.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart S, Manager at Aqua Roma, Aqua Tokyo & Aqua Spirit, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time in letting us know your thoughts. It’s great to get feedback, Kerv and my team will be delighted to read you enjoyed! We are certainly trying our best to have the best brunch in the town - with the offer of endless dishes and endless champagne, sensational view and attentive service. See you next time.

Restaurant Manager

Bart S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    711
    373
    143
    54
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Skyline Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Spectacular Harbour views with also very good food, however I think that if you don't get a table just by the window is not really worth it. It's mostly about the views however a very nice place for a special occation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart S, Manager at Aqua Roma, Aqua Tokyo & Aqua Spirit, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are very lucky to be in the best place to watch the world go by, I hope you get a second chance to see it all again. I hope we will get another chance to impress in the future and prove that it’s not just about the view.

Restaurant Manager

Bart S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, great cocktails, good food but service needs to improve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Finally had a chance to dine at this restaurant last night, after having heard many positive reviews.

The view of the harbour and the Hong Kong skyline is absolutely stunning and the restaurant ambiance is beautiful. Ideal for a romantic evening you'd think, but the music from the club area upstairs is just TOO loud. Maybe if the two of you are sitting next to each other on their sofa seats in front of the windows, it won't be so bad.

We were five people, seated in one of the corner rooms... great setting... but as the night wore on, we really had to shout to be heard as the music drowned out all noises. The DJing wasn't that good either.

We ordered both Italian and Japanese. The Italian starters were just okay (burrata and cold cut platter) but the pizzas were excellent, with a thin Roman crust. The Japanese food certainly took the cake - the Yakitori and the wagyu beef steak were outstanding! The dessert platter was a mixed bag - the tiramisu and chocolate lava cake were very good, but the creme brulee was too gingery. Cocktails were fantastic.

The service could do with some improvement. We had to wait a long time to catch the attention of any of the waiters, which was a bit frustrating. The waitress had trouble understanding some of our requests and also got our pizza order wrong. For a restaurant of this kind (they have a min. spend of 480 +10% service charge per person if you book a table, but you could comfortably end up spending double that if you are having drinks and dinner), I would expect more polished service.

And please put up a glass ceiling between the club and restaurant areas and play different music in each!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart S, Manager at Aqua Roma, Aqua Tokyo & Aqua Spirit, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time in letting us know your thoughts. All input is very much appreciated and always passed to the team. I hope we can get the chance to show you our service improvements in the future. We look forward to welcoming you in our venue again.

Restaurant Manager

Bart S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Aqua Spirit - bar with a great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I spent only one night in HK during a stopover and I wanted to enjoy the skyline while having a drink. The positive reviews that I saw at trip advisor and on other web pages convinced me that Aqua Spirit should be the place to go. I can tell you, it is the place. The view over both sides of the city is gorgeous! Drinks aren’t cheap but the view is worth every penny. They have a good selection of cocktails. Try Aqua Qeen.They had a DJ that night who played great dance music. However, it’s not a typical dance club. The stuff was very friendly.
I didn’t eat in the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart S, Manager at Aqua Roma, Aqua Tokyo & Aqua Spirit, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I'm delighted we lived up to expectations on this occasion. Your efforts are much appreciated in taking the time to write the review, thank you.

Restaurant Manager

Bart S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Go for drinks but skip the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

It's my second time to this venue and the food quality seems to have gone downhill since I was last there a couple of years ago. They get their cocktails absolutely right though. I have a soft spot for their chocolate martini but everything I've ordered was delicious!

They take their last order for food at 10.30pm, by which time, the music seems to go up a few notches louder. This venue is fun for group and friends, but not exactly a romantic setting when you have to shout to talk to the other person. View is spectacular as others have pointed out.

The staff was attentive and not at all intrusive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart S, Manager at Aqua Roma, Aqua Tokyo & Aqua Spirit, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thanks for taking the time in letting us know your thoughts. I'm delighted that the service and atmosphere were first class, however, some ups and downs with the food. Please let us know upon your return to our restaurant so we can make it a very special evening!

Restaurant Manager

Bart S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Roma, Aqua Tokyo & Aqua Spirit also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Aqua Roma, Aqua Tokyo & Aqua Spirit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Roma, Aqua Tokyo & Aqua Spirit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.