We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful night - again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Roma, Aqua Tokyo & Aqua Spirit

Aqua Roma, Aqua Tokyo & Aqua Spirit
29/F & 30/F, 1 Peking Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)
852-34272288
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 4,812 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $24 - $127
Cuisines: Italian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Bar scene
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Description: Concept With dazzling views of Hong Kong’s harbour and skyline, ultra-stylish interiors and an innovative menu offering the very best contemporary Italian and Japanese cuisines, aqua tops the list of the city’s sophisticated dining destinations. Chill out in the glamorous penthouse lounge and bar with vibes from the Aquamusic DJ team, cool cocktails and the glamorous in-crowd. Accolades 'Ospitalità Italiana’ Award – Best Italian restaurant 2012Tatler – Hong Kong’s Best restaurants 2012 to 2004‘Hottest 100 Tables’ in the world by Condé Nast Traveler Wallpaper UK – May 2012One of 50 finest restaurants – Tatler/American Express 2008DestinAsian February/March 2006Wallpaper (UK) March 2005Condé Nast Traveler (US) October 2005Condé Nast Traveler (UK) November 2004Vogue Entertaining + Travel (Australia) August 2004Travel + Leisure (US) August 2004Cuisine aqua provides a dual concept menu offering the best of both Italian and Japanese cuisines in one signature menu. The cuisines can be enjoyed on their own or combined, with say a Japanese starter and Italian main course.Italian – aqua romaaqua roma’s new chef, Giuliano Dacasto focuses on traditional Italian cooking with a modern flair. Choose from a tempting selection of Primi, including fine antipasti, gourmet thin-crust pizzas, hand-made pastas and al dente risottos. Move on to Secondi - a sumptuous array of fresh seafood and some of the finest meat cuts available, all prepared to traditional Italian values with a contemporary twist.Japanese - aqua tokyoaqua tokyo is “inventive traditional cuisine” taking authentic Japanese culinary roots to “new heights”. Chef Iwahashi Tatsuya presents a mouth-watering array of sushi and sashimi prepared from seafood he’s carefully selected and flown in daily from around the globe. To complete a wonderful dining experience, aqua’s famous Dessert Platter combines a selection of Italian and Japanese desserts presented on a beautiful platter for sharing by the whole table – Asian style.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful night - again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I returned to Aqua in a recent return trip to Hong Kong and had a fantastic night from the moment the beautiful staff greeted us at the front desk! The staff are so welcoming and remember us from previous visits, making you feel at home and yet very special. Olimpio the new manager was very attentive and able to recommend a wine to satisfy out varying tastes. The food we chose was from both the Japanese and Italian menu and was fresh and satisfying. The chef made us a special lobster sushi roll that was so amazing we had to order another serve. All of us demolished our mains, thoroughly enjoying the strip loin, risotto and pasta dishes. The wonderful waiter and bar man made sure we were treated very well- we were so pleased to return. The view as always was magnificent- the best in Hong Kong. I always recommend Aqua to friends and family.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart S, Manager at Aqua Roma, Aqua Tokyo & Aqua Spirit, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for the exceptional posting, this is a real credit to the entire team at aqua and they will be extremely pleased to read your comments. Thanks for the 5 stars!!!

Restaurant Manager

Bart S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    711
    376
    143
    54
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Best Views in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a treat for my birthday. The food the staff and of course the view are absolutely amazing.

Recommed a visit for that special occasion. We had the set menu and every dish was outstanding.

Many thanks!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart S, Manager at Aqua Roma, Aqua Tokyo & Aqua Spirit, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! It’s great that all the teams’ hard work paid off for you to have the real aqua’s experience. Thanks for 5/5!!

Restaurant Manager

Bart S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We ate here after enjoying a short 45 minute cruise on the Aqua Luna, a 'traditional' Chinese junk that take you around the harbour. The restaurant has tiered seating that overlooks the Hong Kong island skyline from Kowloon - and it is spectacular! We enjoyed the Japanese tasting menu (there's also an Italian option), together with the wine tasting. It's not cheap, but it is definitely worth it! High quality food, beautifully presented by well-trained and attentive staff. Dress code is relaxed, but collared shirts for the chaps and dresses for the ladies is de rigeur.
Recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart S, Manager at Aqua Roma, Aqua Tokyo & Aqua Spirit, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
All the team here make every effort to read all the postings to tripadvisor, this one is certainly one they can all be proud of. Thank you for the very kind words. Please let us know upon your return to our restaurant so we can again make it a very special evening!

Restaurant Manager

Bart S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

On a recent trip to Hong Kong, we visited Aqua for drinks. They have a wide range of cocktails available. But as mentioned by other reviewers: the most outstanding feature are the amazing views over the city. Even though this was my second trip to the city, I was completely taken aback by the stunning views.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart S, Manager at Aqua Roma, Aqua Tokyo & Aqua Spirit, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review. Myself and the entire team appreciate the praise very much and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Restaurant Manager

Bart S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A must visit in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Generally when you think of restaurants with spectacular views, it means they are accompanied with average food. Not so Aqua. The food matches the view: both of the highest standard.The tiered seating in the restaurant assures that all can see the fantastic HK harbor views and if you just can't take your eyes off the view after finishing dining, head up to bar one floor up. The GM Olympio adds a personal service touch in a restaurant that is forever busy, so make sure you make reservations. .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart S, Manager at Aqua Roma, Aqua Tokyo & Aqua Spirit, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback, I am sure that Olimpio and rest of our team will be pleased reading your review. We look forward to welcoming you in our venue again.

Restaurant Manager

Bart S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Roma, Aqua Tokyo & Aqua Spirit also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Aqua Roma, Aqua Tokyo & Aqua Spirit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Roma, Aqua Tokyo & Aqua Spirit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.