We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Hong Kong to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.167 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China (Sai Wan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HK$1 Breafast Offer
Ranked #70 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
1 review
“I like it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I like the room decor, entire room feels very comfy. Clean bathroom and comfy bed. The room service dining was awesome though a bit pricey. Only 1 chair in the room tho not sure how are 2 people supposed to dine. Free shuttle service in the morning is not very frequent and a lot of people queuing for taxi. Waited so long for the taxi until the shuttle came 45 minutes later and took the shuttle instead. Location is very close to ferry terminal which saved us time when going to Macau. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    387
    65
    10
    5
See reviews for
104
224
96
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at Courtyard Hong Kong for 9 nights during our annual visit to Hong Kong. From the airport it took less than 30 mins by A10 bus, and the bus stopped right across the hotel. That's a great plus if you have many bags to carry and not wanting to spend money on taking a taxi.

Check-in was great, and easy. We got an upgrade plus lounge access as Marriott Rewards Gold Members. The lounge was nice with drinks available until 11pm (you can get alcoholic drinks during happy hours). Food in the lounge was not impressive - I didn't wait around for it since there are nicer food offerings outside. Lounge service was good though - the lady there remembered that my little boy likes hot chocolate so she made one for him when we were there!

Our room was small (we already got a bigger sea view room as upgrade), the hotel didn't provide any crib (so bring your own if you travel with your small one). The room had nice view but again it didn't matter much to us since we are out the whole day anyway. The shower was fairly small and I do miss a bathtub in the room.

The tea bags provided in our room tasted very strange. I think they were one of the worst tea I had ever tasted. I used those from the lounge instead.

I did like the fact that the hotel provided shopping bag - since you have to bring your own bags to shop in Hong Kong nowadays. It's a nice touch.

Breakfast was ok - I had the option to have the breakfast in the restaurant, so I made use of it. It wasn't impressive (compared to the breakfast at hotels in Singapore I just had before), ok choice but nothing made you 'wow'. I actually skipped a few of those and got some sleep instead.

Location of the hotel is ok, it's definitely not the best location you can find in Hong Kong. The hotel does provide a shuttle to IFC but I found that it took too long. So instead I took bus 5 right outside the hotel instead if I'm heading towards Wan Chai and Causeway Bay. There was also direct bus to Tsim Sha Tsui which was really convenient. A big minus for the hotel's location is no MTR access right now (they are working on it and I think it'll be ready in the next 2 years or so).

I gave this hotel 4 out of 5 because the breakfast is nothing special, the location, room size and the price - for HKD1800 there are plenty of choices in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if you are a Marriott Rewards elite member.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We will stay again.
Customer service especially the concierge was awesome.
Location is not too bad. They have shuttle bus and ifc, central, lan Kwai fong etc are short cab drive away.
A great choice. Living up to the Marriott standards.





  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My partner, 15 year old son and I stayed in August 2012 for 3 nights as a stop over on our way home to England and from the moment we arrived to the minute we checked out the staff were courteous, helpful and friendly. Arrived after a 10 hour flight from Sydney, travel weary and jetlagged but this hotel still managed to bring a smile to my face!! I have stayed at quite a few Marriotts and their standards never slip no matter what country.

We had 2 rooms on the 25th floor and the first thing that you notice on entering is the view! Floor to ceiling glass gives an uninterrupted view out over Hong Kong Harbour - it's breathtaking! But back to the rooms... very well equipped with flat screen tv, free wifi, i-pod docking station, tea & coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board and hairdryer. There were 2 double beds which were really comfy and the room size in general was great. The divide between the bedroom and bathroom was 'interesting' as it was just a full wall of glass which was a bit too much for me as I'm no exhibitionist but all was not lost as there were blinds which could be dropped to save my blushes!! I guess the idea behind it was to be able to see the view from every part of the room which you most certainly could if the blind stayed up!!

All in all both bedroom and bathroom were very stylish, clean and to the standard I expected from a Marriott.

It is located a 30 second walk away from the nearest tram stop which will take you into the very heart of HK island for a flat rate of HK$2.40 and we found this to be the most authentic way of getting from place to place, although taxis are cheap enough too. The hotel also offers a free shuttle bus to Central Station. But walking is the way to see and smell real HK.

I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again if I'm lucky enough to get a second trip to HK...fingers crossed.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor harbour view room - amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The courtyard. The staff were exceptionally helpful. I nearly missed my return shuttle to the airport and staff at the hotel went to great lengths to ensure I got onto the shuttle. Rooms were immaculate and breakfast was brilliant wih great choice and quality. I cannot say enough good things about my stay here and would highly recommend this hotel to business visitors.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 3 or 4 times, largely because it is a reasonably priced hotel (for Hong Kong) and I am a Marriott member. However, I also find the service level quite high and the exercise facilities better than most Courtyard hotels. The location is not that great, but, as others have noted, the nearby tram provides cheap transportation to Central. The hotel's shuttle service, which I do not remember from previous trips, also makes the hotel less distant, though the shuttle does not go everywhere. I have been in various rooms in the hotel. They are uniformly small, but again not odd for Hong Kong. Housekeeping is not always consistent, but has never been bad.

Room Tip: Try your best to get a harbor view! The issue is not only the fact that view from the Des Voeux roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Traveling on a budget and not wanted to use all my Marriott points, I was really struggling with choice between Courtyard or JW in Hong Kong. JW is closer to the action, but for the money (points in my case) the walk from Courtyard to all the action was great. It was a good 20 minutes each time we wanted to get to subway, but with all we were eating it was good exercise. You can take taxi for very little money, but if you can walk do it.. we walked at all hours and it was completely safe. As for the staff and hotel, just wonderful... we arrived very early and we not able to get a room, but they let us get breakfast for free! That was great. Would do it again, and guess what now I have points for Ghent Marriott next year!!!

Room Tip: we had view of the harbour, it was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Hong Kong

Address: No.167 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#47 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#55 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for spectacular shopping, sightseeing and entertainment, Hong Kong is ideal for business travel. With a beautiful backdrop of Victoria Harbour, Courtyard by Marriott Hong Kong offers great views and easy access to the financial district, Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (HKCEC), International Finance Centre (IFC), Macau Ferry terminal and International Commerce Centre (ICC). Our downtown Hong Kong hotel features complimentary shuttle to major Hong Kong Island business districts. The lobby's interactive GoBoard lets you find local restaurants and learn about the weather, news and travel conditions. Smartly designed guests rooms offer great views, Marriott Revive bedding, LCD TV, high-speed Internet, and a luxurious marble bathroom. Our executive floor rooms and suites provide access to the cozy Executive Lounge. Enjoy a workout in our 24-hour fitness centre and dine at our award-winning restaurant MoMo Café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
Marriott Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marriott
Hong Kong Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.