We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JJ Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added JJ Hotel to your Saves list
JJ Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lucky Centre, 165-171 Wanchai Road, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great stay, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed there for 2 separate periods and they let us store our luggage for free while we go on a side trip. The location is great, walking distance to Wan Chai MTR, lots of restaurants close by. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Airport buses are close by. The rooms are clean and the bed is king size and very comfortable. Free wifi, bottled water, a small fridge, kettle with tea and coffee and bathroom amenities are provided. There is also a lounge area on the 12th floor when you have visiting guests.

Room Tip: Try to avoid room on the 9th floor where the reception desk is. It can be noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    264
    58
    19
    7
See reviews for
48
186
80
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This small hotel is located on the 9th to 12th floors of a building in Wan Chai Road that is about 600m walk from Wan Chai MTR station. We used the Airport Express and MTR to get to Wan Chai and we found the hotel in about 15 minutes even at 5:00 pm on a Friday.

We used the same system to get back to the airport and the trip took less than an hour starting at 7:00 am on Monday.

The reception area of the hotel on the 9th floor is tiny and unimpressive but once we found our room on the 12th floor it was clean and surprisingly large with good a/c. We had a comfortable king bed. The room was pretty basic but had everything we needed.The bathroom had a bath and separate shower and was separated from the bedroom with glass walls which was a bit odd. There were blinds on the bathroom side of the glass so privacy could be obtained without difficulty.

Wan Chai is two MTR stops away from Central and is not a tourist area.There are many small restaurants in the area including one in the hotel building. Breakfast was a bit of problem as there are no facilities in the hotel. We tried the Flying Pan which is about ten minutes walk away but were not impressed. Deli France was a better option for good coffee and croissants.

This is not an elegant or beautiful hotel but it is comfortable, the price is right and Wan Chai is fun.

Room Tip: The hotel is not easy to find. If you are walking from Wan Chai MTR station, the hotel is on the rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nothing but nice things to say about jj. Wonderful, friendly and helpful staff, clean and tidy rooms, plus we got a free room upgrade! Hotel was easy to find and location isn't too far from the nearest mtr station. Good wifi as you'd expect. Guests get a 50 hkd voucher to Megan's kitchen, the restaurant downstairs which was a nice bonus.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 6 nights, hotel located in Wan Chai area, only 5-10 mins walk from metro station or couple of tram stops (1 min walk to tram). Stayed on 12th floor near lifts but didn't find them an issue really depends how light a sleeper you are I suppose.

Spacious room with nice decor, good sound proofed windows, in room safe, good wifi connection, massive king size bed, house keeping good. Did have to pay £40 ($500HK) deposit which wasn't aware of until check in, also had to add service charge of 10% on at paying. Tricky to find with all the signs covering over hotel sign fri distance, 7-11 and 24 HR McDonalds within 1 min walk away with lots of other eateries. Good bathroom facilities.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here for business during an exhibition.

- The lobby doesn't look nice at all (doesn't even look like a lobby!) but it doesn't matter because the rooms are really good.
- Amazing rooms. Very spacious and clean with good internet access.
- Hot water and very good light in the room (good to put makeup on!)
- Very good location on Wan Chai road. Near to everything.
- They don't provide breakfast, but there is a Starbucks nearby so I was completely fine with that.
- VERY friendly staff. I was very happy with the service they provided and will definitely stay here next time!
- Last point ... I need to use an iron during my stay and the iron they gave me was in very good condition. Very important when on a business trip!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We stayed in JJ hotel on March 2014. The hotel was clean and the room was (surprisingly) comfortable for the price. The staff was very helpful and always ready to give vary information about Hong Kong. Hotel's location was very good, 5 minutes walk to tram, bus stop was in front of the hotel, Wan Chai MRT station just about 10 minutes walk. The hotel also near to the Halal Dim Sum at Wan Chai Islamic Centre, just about 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The dim sum was very yummy. We'd like to stay at JJ hotel for the next trip to hong kong..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

JJHotel situated in HK center. It's not far from subway station (1-2 tram stops or 5 min walking)
Hotel is clean and rather comfortable at good price. Near the hotel you can find mcdonalds or chinese market

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JJ Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JJ Hotel

Address: Lucky Centre, 165-171 Wanchai Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#81 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — JJ Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your JJ Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jj Hotel Hong Kong
Jj Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JJ Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.