We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay hotel, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JJ Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added JJ Hotel to your Saves list
JJ Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lucky Centre, 165-171 Wanchai Road, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai / Causeway Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“okay hotel, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

we stayed at jj hotel for 4 nights from 26 dec to 30 dec. The location of the hotel is good. It's about 5 minutes walk to wan chai train station. there's wifi available although my laptop couldn't connect to it due to some unknown reason. The room itself is big, but not so clean. Also when people next door bath, you can hear the loud noise from the water tap. We found a dried grape stem on the floor which apparently has been there for quite a while. The towels and bed sheet are all quite worn-out. I used my own towel for the whole trip. It rained once and we went to borrow an umbrella from the front-desk and it turns out that we need to deposit 200HK$(we get the money back after dinner but it just doesn't feel very friendly)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    276
    63
    20
    7
See reviews for
52
199
86
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed here in early December 2012 and the room we got was spacious by Hong Kong standards. The bathroom had glass walls and doors and I can see how many might not like that but it was OK for us. Our view wasn't the best but oh well, for the price we paid in December, I feel we got a good deal. The room was clean, Wi-Fi worked great, and the staff was helpful. The location was also great as it was just a few minutes' walk from Wan Chai MTR and buses. Another plus was that you could keep your luggage stored there if you had a late flight like we did.

On the negative side, the TV had just a few channels, and NONE in English.

Nonetheless, I would stay here again considering how tiny HK hotel rooms are. All good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Wan Chai Road, not the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Nice place to stay. Close to 7 eleven and mcdonalds. Good for transitting overnight.very helpful staff who speak English and it is hassle free. View of the area below is breathtaking. Took me only 5 minutes to check into my room with prior booking.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The room we (my wife, daughter & myself) stayed in was big by Hong Kong or Japan standards but small by Australia standards. The bathroom comes with one separate shower & one separate bathtub which we think is a waste of space.
We asked for an extra bed for our daughter so that we can sleep comfortably but despite there is enough space in the room to put another bed, the hotel doesn't provide for such service which we find it rather strange.
The centralised aircon can't be controlled though there was a temperature control knob. Throughout the stay, we switched off the aircon for the night as it was too cold. There is also something weird about the room - the aircon has to be turned off whenever one takes a hot shower to prevent any false fire alarm. @.@
However, housekeeping was good (no housekeeping staff in the night which may be inconvenient if u run out of shampoo or other toiletries) & the reception staff were helpful but perfunctory. Most important of all, it was located quite conveniently near restaurants/eateries (where u can find delicious dimsums) & about 10 min walk to the Wanchai MTR station or even about 10 min walk from the airport bus alighting point.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is situated close to Wan Chai subway station, in Wan Chai district, Hong Kong island so you could explore all those skyscrapers without travel to other island. Victoria peak and Oceanpark are situated on the same island, and 75th bus will deliver you to ocean park just for HK$3. There is supermarket in basement of hte building where hotel is situated and a lot of shops, fastfoods etc. Hotel's room is equipped with free safe, TV-set and fridge. Room seems a bit old, fire alarm looks antique, but it is standart Chinese equipment. Sprinklers are a bit rusty, and so were curtain handlers too, but curtains has been replaced closer to end of my trip so you wouldn't see it. A little strange is that air conditioner must be turned on when you are taking shover so steam couldn't make false fire alarm. There was also some disadvantages in my room - it was necessary to wait few minuts to get hot water instead of icy cold, and because of tropical climate windows have only 1 glass so 3 industrial conditioners below produced wonderful sound of flying cargo airplane all the night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Compact , everything u need
Nice location Not far from MTR
Walkable to convention center
I and my husband were in hongkong for meeting at convention center
This hotel is fine .price is ok not so expensive

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

PROS
- The price is very reasonable considering Hong Kong is a really expensive city.
- Close to Wan Chai MTR station - about 10 minutes walk through a few busy streets. Wan Chai is a very vibrant part of Hong Kong island, if not a wee bit hectic.
- Even closer to Tram stations - it's very cheap and convenient to use these to get around the Hong Kong island area - do try it!
- The rooms are clean. Although the bed's a little harder than I'm used to, it's still pretty comfortable.
- Plenty of little shops and Char Chan Teng eateries in the area
- Stayed at the room right beside the reception but noise was not a problem. Sound proofing was decent.
- Located at the 9-12th floor of a commercial building with a mixture of restaurants and offices, but you don't feel unsafe or inconvenienced
- Service was polite and efficient but not especially warm. No problem at all. Just needed a comfortable place to rest after walking all day!

CONS
- The see-through glass bathroom posed a slight problem for non-couples. My mum was uncomfortable sharing the room with my brother even with the opaque roller blinds drawn - there was a small gap in between the blinds.
- A little difficult to find at first but the harder part was having to find a taxi at peak hour to go to the airport at that stretch of street - good idea to call a taxi in advance
- No concierge service but it's no big deal

Room Tip: Get non-smoking rooms and away from the lifts and reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JJ Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JJ Hotel

Address: Lucky Centre, 165-171 Wanchai Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — JJ Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your JJ Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jj Hotel Hong Kong
Jj Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JJ Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.