We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had a great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly on Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Butterfly on Waterfront to your Saves list
Butterfly on Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   94 Connaught Road West, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong 0, China (Sheung Wan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Only on butterflyhk.com
Ranked #87 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
1 review
“I had a great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

The staff at the hotel were incredibly helpful. They offered us help whenever we needed it, including calling us cabs, getting us ice and even getting us a bottle opener.

The rooms were spacious and always clean. The view of the harbour in my parents' room was nice, and the view of the city from my room was awesome too.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    79
    27
    7
    1
See reviews for
18
80
30
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, and was warmly welcomed by the hotel staffs during check in. The hotel is situated near the MTR which is a "plus point" to me. Hotel staffs took the effort to explain to us that there will be a Free Handy Phone which we can use during our entire stay in HK. This phone will allow us to be able to tap onto the phone's Wifi hotspot where we will be able to have wifi connection everywhere and anywhere we go. To make things easy, we can even use this handy phone to surf the net etc. A lot of apps like FB, Instagram etc are already installed readily in it. Wow... now you can save that few bucks buying HK SIM card. We stayed on the highest level at 32 floor, and we had a perfect view of the harbour. Room is brightly lit as well. Im glad I chose this hotel during my stay in HK.

Room Tip: Be sure to get the reception to help you call for a cab if you need one to get to the airport. Getti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Butterfly on Waterfront definitely went beyond my expectations. The room was stylish, trendy and modern. I received an upgrade upon check-in, which was thoroughly appreciated. The room was small, but not tiny; in Hong Kong small rooms are simply the norm. I had a beautiful view of the harbour. Staff at the check-in counter and front entrance are profressional, friendly and helpful.

The hotel is located in a quieter (but still central) part of fabulous Sheung Wan. Plenty of shops and restaurants around. The A11 Airport Bus is a two-minute walk away. It comes every 15-20 minutes and gets you to the airport in 40 minutes because it's the last stop on the route.

The only "thing" that stood out was the elevator. There's only one - and I know this is very normal for buildings/hotels in the city. Still, it could take a bit of time to reach an upper floor (I stayed on the 23rd). If you don't care for a high up harbour view, I would suggest requesting a room on a lower floor for shorter elevator wait times or for the option of hopping down the stairs. Still, the elevator situtation would not discourage me from staying here again, which I likely will during my next visit.

Thank you Butterfly on Waterfront for the stay.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Assistant Front Office Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you so much for your comprehensive review and it was with great pleasure that we received your kind comment. It is always refreshing to read how good the service was. We will definitely share it with the team. We all look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you in the not too distant future.

With much appreciation,

Raymond Li
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

First time stayed at this small but nice hotel in Sai Yin Pun area. It is convenient to get to by airport bus A-11 from airport. Just 5 minutes walk from Queen Street station. Walking to Sai YIn Pun subway is about 10 minutes as the exit is far away from the actual train stop. However, tram is very convenient and only costs HK$2.30 one way to Wan Chai convention center or Causwaybay shopping mall. almost every 1 to 2 mins there is a tram stopping at the stop.

Room is not big but very comfortable for one person. 2 will be a little crowd but it is norm for HK standard. Like the new and modern deco in room. Very thoughtful details, including both soft and hard pillows for you to choose from, and the super powerful shower water makes taking shower a great pleasure. 2 free bottles of drinking water per day are also included. Best of all, there is a free local cell phone with a HK local number that you can dial out local numbers and receive calls during the stay........and it is free. I like this hotel very much. Will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Assistant Front Office Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review, yesterday
Thanks for the kind words and excellent rating. Fabulous to read your review and to know you enjoyed the hotel so much. We are glad to hear you really enjoyed our convenient location, room amenities setup and our shower facilities. It would be a pleasure to personally welcome you back to our hotel soon!

Regards,

Raymond Li
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The room provides a great harbor view, clean and new interior and city life all around. You can walk to the water and walk throughout the area to find great hidden gems. It is easy to find transportation to see the entire city too.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Assistant Front Office Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you so much for your comprehensive review. Fabulous to read your review and to know you enjoyed the hotel so much. We are glad to hear you really enjoyed our convenient location and enchanting harbor view. We all look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you in the not too distant future.

With much appreciation,

Raymond Li
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good service and location. Lots of local eating places to explore in the vicinity. Had very good Claypot rice and pork rib hotpot in one of the restaurant within walking distance from the hotel. Area is not too crowded which is a big plus for me. Very good value for money. The handy phone is one best thing! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Assistant Front Office Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thanks for the kind words and excellent rating. We will definitely share it with the team. We try very hard to provide good quality accommodations, at a reasonable price, and our guest services team work very hard each and every day to make sure our guests are looked after. Thank you again for your stay and review. We’d love to have you back again soon!

With much appreciation,

Raymond Li
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really excellent value, new MTR terminal just opened close by which is less than 5 mins walk and the introduction of the Handy Phone is truely inspiring and innovative experience for guests. The rooms are compact but very functional, I would definately stay here again, swayed by its central location, MTR accss and Handy phone.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Assistant Front Office Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It is nice to know you found our hotel room design, convenient location and the "Handy" is great. That’s our goal. We will be surely let our guest services team know you appreciated their helpful and thoroughly services as well. We all look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Raymond Li
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Butterfly on Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Waterfront

Address: 94 Connaught Road West, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong 0, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelling is rarely all about play there days. There is - usually - a time for work, a time for play and a time to unwind. Sitting right between the bustle of Central and the leisure of Sheung Wan, and two mere blocks from the artsey lower-end of Hollywood Road with a stunning view of the harbour, Butterfly on Waterfront is where you get to enjoy the best of three worlds - the busy one, the happening one and the relaxing one. When you're done exploring the eclectic mix of cafes, shops and private kitchens in this uber-cool, up-and-coming neighbourhood, you might want to take advantage of your proximity to the Macau Ferry Terminal and hop on a boat to Macau to see Asia in an entirely new angle. Or you might want to sit back, relax in our simple and thoughtful interior, and enjoy the infusion of natural light and modern trappings our 90-room hotel offers. From branded amenities, multimedia docking station, free Wi-Fi, free smartphone - think unlimited local calls and 3G data, Wi-Fi tethering, even a city guide - to 24-hour front desk and ' Local Ambassadors' to help you navigate the city, everything here is designed to encourage a balanced approach to living, working and playing. How well connected are we? - 12-minute walk to the Sheung Wan MTR subway station. - 8-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ctrip TA so you can book your Butterfly on Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Waterfront Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly on Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.