We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A large waste of time and money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal View Hotel [subsidiary of Sunhung Kai Properties Ltd]

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Royal View Hotel [subsidiary of Sunhung Kai Properties Ltd] to your Saves list
Royal View Hotel [subsidiary of Sunhung Kai Properties Ltd]
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.353 Castle Peak Road, Ting Kau, Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong, China (Tsuen Wan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A large waste of time and money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel is not close to the airport. or anywhere else for that matter. In fact, it will take from 1-2 hours to get there, depending on timing with public transit (the bus or train) and the "free shuttle" that only runs from the 2 closest transit stations. A cab will cost between 140 - 200 HKD and take about 30 minutes depending on traffic. The hotel also charges for virtually everything, including breakfast, so extra charges abound. There is no internet connection of any kind available in the modern, clean, but unremarkable rooms, and only a miserly 1 hour of free WiFi is available in the lobby, after that it'll cost you $120 HKD per day! Don't be fooled by discounts either, ours virtually evaporated when it came time to pay. Though, the staff was courteous and efficient.
There is no minibar, but there are couple of free small bottles of warm water to go with the empty fridge, some tea bags, and crap instant coffee for one. There is a flat screen TV with the usual hotel-drivel-quality viewing available for those feeling isolated and bored.
Be warned that if you take the A31 bus from the airport to this hotel, you will need to wait for the "free shuttle" at the last bus stop at Tsuen Wan West station, across the street (look for the posted "Royal View Hotel" shuttle schedule) in front of a mosquito-infested park. Take repellent. There is also nowhere to charge your Western-style media devices if you don't have the usual converter plug ubiquitous in Hong Kong, except at this hotel.
As for the "royal view", I can speak only for our room, but there was too much condensation on the outside of the window to be able to see very much of anything.

Room Tip: Make SURE you have a converter plug for the power outlet so you can charge your devices. No WiFi in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel [subsidiary of Sunhung Kai Properties Ltd], responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Royal View Hotel. We are appreciated for your valuable comment. We hope that we will continue to have your support and we are looking forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    172
    91
    18
    21
See reviews for
75
64
30
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tirupur, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Omg...TRIP ADVISOR had awarded this hotel with" AWARD FOR EXCELLECE 2012" ...
What is wrong with you...

The rooms were spacious but u cannot set foot into the room because it was sooo dirty and smells even worse. We travelled with 7 other families out of which tuo rooms had to be changed because of the smell and the other families had to adjust with thier rooms.
I think this hotel offers good discount to travel agents and local guides,so we were made to stay here.
THE FOOD, i just tired the breakfast, very little spread.
THE SERVICE, OMG... We carried our luggages from the bus to the room..No help was offered evn for ladies or kids.
WHEN WE ASKED TO CHANGE THE ROOM DUE TO UNCLEANLINESS, WE WERE ASKED TO BRING ALL OUR BAGGAGES TO THE RECEPTION ONLY THEN WE WERE GIVEN THE ROOM KEYS FOR ANOTHER ROOM AND AGAIN WE HAD TO CARRY ALL THE BAGGAGES TO THE NEW ROOM WHICH WAS NO BETTER THAN THE OLD ROOM.
ALL THE HOTEL WE STAYED IN AND AROUND HONGKONG GAVE US COMPLIMENTRY WATER BOTTLES, THIS IS CALLED A FOUR STAR PROPERTY GAVE NO WATER BOTTLES.
The staffs are not friendly, no place to wait in the lobby and you have pay alot for taxi if you want to go into the city.The location is far from the city ( 15 kms ) they provide shuttle buses and i have seen long que waiting for it more than half an hour.
We are trying to get a refund from our travel agent for choosing this hotel but even if we do the whole holiday was spoilt with the last 2 nights stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: no idea with the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel [subsidiary of Sunhung Kai Properties Ltd], responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for stay at Royal View Hotel.

We regret that you did not find help to carry luggage to the room on your arrival. As you are aware, room assignment and luggage service were arranged by the travel guide. In this case, most probably due to miscommunication between the guide and our staff. We appreciate your comment on room cleanliness and service. We take the matter seriously and will ensure that both will reach a very satisfactory standard. Also, we provide distilled water bottles normally on request.

Royal View Hotel is situated in a place facing Tsing Ma bridge and surrounded by beautiful beaches where you enjoy relaxation, though the location is far from the city. We have shuttle bus service and will endeavor to do better.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused. Please give our best regards to your and other 7 families. Looking forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Top Contributor
550 reviews 550 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We paid US$100 for a room and you are at a nice place but in the middle of nowhere!
The hotel offers a free shuttle to the subway station with lot.s of shopping. But that.s it. We booked the hotel for our last night in Hong Kong and to be closer to the international airport. But with the extra taxi costs it was not worth it. We had a nice room on the 18th floor note, 18 and 19 is a split level with stairs, no fun with luggage going up and down without a ramp. Nice view of the bay and the beach. Ikea type kitchen and very small bath. Hotel NEEDS an airport shuttle to survive, next time we book the last night at the Disneyland resort and take a short taxi ride to the airport, or book a real airport hotel such as the Marriott. Note shuttle around 6 p.m. Also serves as employee shuttle the bus has around 16 seats only, so avoid that time since the small bus is packed. MeuterMedia

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel [subsidiary of Sunhung Kai Properties Ltd], responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for staying at the Royal View Hotel. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chongqing, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The price we paid to get this sea view is worth in HongKong,so I suggest to stay.Be nice view to saw the sea and the bridge.Also there are shuttle bus to take you to Quanwan MRT station.I defiantly stay here if next to HongKong again.

Room Tip: Be nice view to saw the sea and the bridge.Also there are shuttle bus to take you to Quanwan MRT sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel [subsidiary of Sunhung Kai Properties Ltd], responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for staying at the Royal View Hotel. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

It worked perfect for me since the hotel situates exactly where I was visiting! The sea view for your room is a must and while the room may not be big in north American standard but it was entirely pleasant and comfortable! Prices fluctuate however I notice from week to week quite a bit!

Room Tip: The hotel shuttle is convenient but well used by guests so be on time. Taxi is more convenient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel [subsidiary of Sunhung Kai Properties Ltd], responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for staying at the Royal View Hotel. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We (my boyfriend and myself) had a great stay at the hotel. I'ts very clean and pleasant with large and comfortable rooms! great view of the bay. also the staff was very nice and helpful. (they speak English)
Downside- you need to take the airport express to Tsing Yi station, and get a taxi from there- make sure the driver is familiar with the shorter root, or it would take forever and you'd pay extra.
the hotel is a bus drive away from the city, but the shuttle service is convenient.

overall,we enjoyed the hotel greatly :) we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel [subsidiary of Sunhung Kai Properties Ltd], responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Royal View Hotel. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Thank goodness that we only stayed two nights! The staffs weren't polite and inexperience. They don't know how to handle guesses. Need much training indeed!
The location is not good at all - middle of nowhere! We tried to use the shuttle bus but have to waited for 40 minutes because too many people at first round. The hotel in such inconvenient location, they should provide more shuttle buses.
Will I stay again, no thanks!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel [subsidiary of Sunhung Kai Properties Ltd], responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Royal View Hotel. We apologized for any inconvenience caused. We will review and closely monitor our service standard. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal View Hotel [subsidiary of Sunhung Kai Properties Ltd]? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal View Hotel [subsidiary of Sunhung Kai Properties Ltd]

Address: No.353 Castle Peak Road, Ting Kau, Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsuen Wan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#93 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal View Hotel [subsidiary of Sunhung Kai Properties Ltd] 4*
Number of rooms: 691
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal View Hotel [subsidiary of Sunhung Kai Properties Ltd] reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal View Hong Kong
Hotel Royal View
Royal View Hotel Hong Kong
Royal View Hotel [Subsidiary Of Sunhung Kai Properties Ltd] Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal View Hotel [subsidiary of Sunhung Kai Properties Ltd], register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.