We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Loyalty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silka Far East Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Silka Far East Hotel to your Saves list
Silka Far East Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.135-143 Castle Peak Road, Tsuen Wan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsuen Wan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 stars 349 Reviews
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“No Loyalty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel third time and each time is long stay. Im Chinese myself and born in hong kong. I know land is very expensive in hk so won't complain the size of rooms. However every time I visit this hotel for as least 10 days and pay in advance. No offer complimentary breakfast or room upgrade or even a fruit plate. I'm quite disappointed in that way and think whether I should stay with them again next time I visit hk.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystalchan135, Manager at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. Do allow me to conduct an internal investigation on this issue and I will definitely send you a personal reply.

Keeping our guests happy is an important element for us as it is the very nature of our industry and rest assured, your continuous support is truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    154
    113
    30
    12
See reviews for
71
57
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Me and friends stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. Not bad cause this is the best rate hotel I could found in HK. It near to MTR and many nice cafes and typical hk restaurants nearby. And few shopping malls too. Room is small, that is common in HK. Is not a problem for us as the room is really clean yet comfortable even though the bed is a bit hard.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kattie64, Public Relations Manager at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear LancyWee26
Thank you so much for staying with us during your recent visit to Hong Kong. We are happy to learn that you have enough your stay and the location of Silka Far East in Tsuen Wan which offers easy access to a host of shopping malls, commercial and recreations spots. If we can be of any assistance to you for your future visits, do let us know.

Best regards
Eric Cheng, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavite, Phillipines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We had a hard time finding it, not to mention that not all Chinese speak nor understand English (this is sad). From the Tsuen Wan train station, they should have us picked up but no. We had to find our own way with our heavy luggages and hungry kids. This is so hard for us first timers in HK. When we finally reached it, we are all sweaty and tired. What added insult to the injury was our room- so closed and small for a booked triple-sharing with 2 kids sneak-in. We had to rearrange and request for additional beddings. The only good thing in this hotel was the buffet breakfast. Definitely not booking again here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kattie64, Public Relations Manager at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear phievargas

We sincerely do apologise that your first trip to Hong Kong did not start off correctly. For the convenience of guests staying at our hotel, there's actually a hotel shuttle bus from airport to hotel every 30 minutes on a daily basis; and we do regret that you did not find our triple room which is meant for 3 adults insufficient to serve your need of 2 adults and 2 kids.

However, the location of the hotel enables one to explore some of the nearby attractions which are within walking distance as well as numerous shopping facilities.

In the meantime, should you have plans to visit Hong Kong again in the near future, perhaps you would consider giving us another opportunity to be of service to you and your family; and certainly we will do our utmost best to ensure a more conducive staying experience then.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights.. we specified in our booking "Good for 3" thru Asia travel and got a room for two since there were no available rooms anymore. The room was soooo small. The "closet" was not even a closet. The refrigerator was not cool and was also very small. There was no complimentary water as well.. Carpet was dirty too. Although its close to an mtr station, given its FAR location from the tourist spots, I feel its not really worth. Good point though is theres a 7/11, mall and nice shops near. Theres even a cafe de coral close by.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosmopolito, Public Relations Manager at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We acknowledge you have placed a request for “Good for 3” through Asia Travel, but this was not confirmed by AsiaTravel nor Silka Far East. We hope to have your understanding that, whilst we will meet your booking for a regular 2-persons occupancy room, additional room enhancements such as triple beds are strictly subject to availability.

The rooms at Silka Far East are designed to maximise the space, and for a fuss-free but comfortable, safe and secure stay. This keeps our rates affordable for travellers on a budget. Though complimentary water is not available, mineral water can be purchased from our minibar at supermarket prices.

We apologise for the temperature in the refrigerator, and wish you have contacted our Guest Services during your stay so that we could’ve attended to it immediately.

We also apologise for the unfortunate incident with the dirty carpet, and have given your feedback to our housekeeping department to ensure the cleanliness of the carpet and rooms in general.

Tourist spots in Hong Kong are spread out, with Silka Far East being located in the Tsuen Wan section. Thank you for pointing out the shops and cafés nearby for the convenience of our guests. Hong Kong is also a small city and all tourist spots are easily accessible through the MTR and other public transportation. Our concierge is always happy to provide directions and recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Me and my husband stayed in this hotel for 3days.The rooms were so small and hardly had any space to keep our luggage.the bathrooms we small too. There were no complementary water in rooms.The bed was not comfy and quilts were not good quality.The Heater was not working properly and room/bed remained cold.The breakfast was good and had variety of both western and chineses style food.They had free Internet service from 6.30-10am in breakfast hall.The only good thing was the location,it was close to Tseun Wan MTR station.Free shuttle bus service of the hotel was ok and just went to 2 places. We would definitely not come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for non- smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosmopolito, Public Relations Manager at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

The compact sizes of our rooms are designed for a fuss-free but comfortable, safe and secure stay in Hong Kong. We understand that it’s important for all our guests to have comfortable beds, and wish that you have informed us during your stay as the hotel would have provided you with a replacement and additional pillows if necessary for extra comfort.

Though complimentary water is not available, mineral water is available for purchase in our minibar at supermarket prices.

We apologise for the heater, and wish you had informed our Guest Services on this matter as well so that the heating could be fixed during your stay.

We are glad you and your husband enjoyed the breakfast and free Wi-Fi. Thank you also for commenting on our hotel’s strategic location. Our free shuttle bus service goes to the Tsing Yi Airport Express Station and Mongkok to connect guests with the tourist spots in Hong Kong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My sister and I stayed at this hotel last Feb. 15-17 2012 our room was so small we hardly had no room for our 2 small luggage , carpet was dirty, our beds had bedbugs. Bathroom walls were also dirty had so little room to dress after showering either your body touches the shower curtain , the dirty walls or the toilet bowl. Breakfast was just average very few food choices. The receptionist staff was very curt and dismissive they could hardly speak and understand English. The only saving grace for this hotel it was near the MTR if you don't mind a little walk and it was just beside a small mall. Will definitely not be coming back in this hotel ever again!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosmopolito, Public Relations Manager at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

We apologise for the unpleasant experiences during your stay. There is no excuse for the dirtiness. We take this feedback seriously for the improvement of our housekeeping department to ensure that our rooms are always kept clean. Our receptionist staff are usually very accommodating and friendly, so we regret to learn about your experience. We will also be planning more language classes for our staff to ensure they are able to communicate better in English.

The size of our rooms are designed for a fuss-free but comfortable, safe and secure stay in Hong Kong. This helps to keep our rates affordable for travellers on a budget.

Our buffet breakfast caters both Western and Chinese dishes to suit all guests’ tastes. We also rotate our breakfast items daily so that guests can enjoy different dishes over the course of their stay.

Thank you for pointing out Silka Far East’s location, which is very near the MTR station, Citistore Departmental Store and other places of interest. Guests find our location very convenient with easy access to tourist spots and ample public transportation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Yes these room are soooo small. OK if you want to taste the streets of Tsuen Wan as it's by the centre. Also link for transport are good as next door to the MTR and bus station. Tried breakfast one morning. It was below average in my opinion with little choice. Rooms have no heating so quite cold in Feb. The hotel will add extensions to the bed if you wish but that leaves little room to get in the room LOL.Had one issue of staff trying to get in my room at 5am, had the catch on but not a good experience! Have moved to the Royal View on the edge of Tsuen Wan. See my review for that, no comparison!!!

Room Tip: Probably try the Royal View or Nina Covention Centre Hotel :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silka Far East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka Far East Hotel

Address: No.135-143 Castle Peak Road, Tsuen Wan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsuen Wan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silka Far East Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka Far East, Hong Kong is a value hotel located in Tsuen Wan, a bustling bay in Hong Kong. The hotel has 240 rooms offering a fuss-free, comfortable and safe stay at affordable prices. The hotel is within walking distance from the Tsuen Wan MTR, City Landmark and other shopping malls, commercial and recreation areas in the district. Complimentary in-town shuttle bus service is available for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silka Far East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Far East Hong Kong
Hotel Dorsett Far East
Silka Far East Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silka Far East Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.