We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buddha is nice, skip the village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ngong Ping Village (Ngong Ping 360)

Ngong Ping Village (Ngong Ping 360)
11 Tat Tung Road, Tung Chung, Lantau Island, Hong Kong, China
852-36660606
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$117*
and up
Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong...
Ranked #18 of 392 Attractions in Hong Kong
Type: Observation Decks/ Towers, Trams, Lookouts, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Ngong Ping 360 is a dynamic new tourism experience, which combines a stunning 5.7km cable car journey with an impressive cultural themed village and easy access to the Tian Tan Buddha Statue, the world's largest, seated, outdoor, bronze Buddha statue.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Buddha is nice, skip the village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The cable car is nice, and I would recommend using it both ways (we didn't, and the bus down was a bumpy ride). Skip the built-up village and head straight for the Buddha. I strongly recommend to go down to the temple to try the food and savour the atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    943
    786
    282
    63
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ngong Ping 360”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

As an attraction, Ngong Ping 360 is actually not bad. A nice long (25 mins) cable car ride with scenic views and of course, the optional group photo purchase at the other end. I wouldn't bother paying extra for the crystal cabin (see through floor) as the views out the window are what you want to be photographing anyway.

You can bundle it with a trip to Tai O fishing village which is not a bad trip. You can ride a boat in search of the elusive pink dolphins or go for a walk and experience village life. The markets are eye opening. lol. I saw an entire dried shark skin on display. Plenty of smaller temples and interesting sites to check out too.

Back to Ngong Ping. There's a rather bizarre optional cinematic experience starring 3 cartoon monkeys, which I assume is aimed at teaching kids not to be selfish. Some other sort of weird shops and small attractions are also scattered around. What sort of makes this whole thing a little obscene to me is that the entire point of going to this site is to see the giant Buddha, yet i suspect this Buddha would be rather devastated, were he ever to be witness to the blatant commercialism on display here!

Despite the cheesiness of the actual touristy section of the village, you can still manage to feel the serenity of the Po Lin Monastery and the glory of the giant Buddha statue (even though there was some weird French girl taking model shots inside the monastery!!!). Be prepared for the 268 steps to the top of the Buddha to get the great views and see the mini museum inside. There is also a restaurant in the head. Weird but to be expected I suppose!

If you are an animal lover, you will love all the cute stray dogs that are hanging around. If you're not, maybe just walk faster. Heheh, they are actually very chilled out and don't bother anyone.

Overall, I very much enjoyed my day at Ngong Ping and Tai O but did feel a little cheesy or something akin. It is worth the trip in my books, but just don't be expecting a spiritual oasis. It is definitely a tourist trap! And beware of fake monks trying to sell you stuff. Oh, I forgot to mention you don't have to take the cable car (although this was half the fun). You can get a bus I think but you can walk there too! I've read that it takes about 3 hours to hike the trail, so you will want sunscreen, water and an early start!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Away from Hong Kong, such a breath-taking view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you are sicked of shopping, nightlife & bustling street in Central Hong Kong, Ngong Ping Village is a good place to relax and chill out. Since the place is up on the high land (reach by cable car), the weather is cool & windy all year round. The view of mountains over mountains is magnificent. And the big Buddha there looks so sacred and amazing.

If you come back to mainland on the cable car in the evening, you will catch a stunning scene of sunset over mountain and sea.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A must see attraction...;-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a lot the amazing view from the cable car but unfortunately when we visit d place the weather is not good very foggy try to go when d weather is good. Standard cabin is good enough. Next time we passby hongkong ngong ping is d 1st in our list you won't regret.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cable cars and Big Buddha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

One of the must visit places when you are going to Hong Kong is the Big Buddha in Lantau Island. Great scenic view from the cable car. Longest cable car I've ever ride. Lots of souvenir shops.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ngong Ping Village (Ngong Ping 360) also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Ngong Ping Village (Ngong Ping 360)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngong Ping Village (Ngong Ping 360), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.