We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Citygate Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Citygate Hong Kong to your Saves list
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.51 Man Tung Road, Tung Chung, Hong Kong, China (Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Citygate Shopover Offer
Ranked #41 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

September 2013 Excellent accommodation. Classy room with a view, and very well situate to transport, train and ferries, in every direction. Stayed two nights as a stop over and would thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    994
    241
    38
    21
See reviews for
697
699
368
576
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I have stayed here on way to, and way back, from Europe (origin Australia) for 6 years. Rooms very comfortable with extras like Nespresso machine, quiet, bathroom with good shower and/or bath, extremely clean, views great, pool good for laps, breakfast has amazing range, helpful staff, frequent free shuttle to airport. Have sometimes been given premium room despite paying standard rate. Restful and rejuvenating experience between long haul flights.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We've stayed here twice before and it's as comfortable and relaxing as ever. We were on the eleventh floor and it was a huge room, loads of storage space, decorated in a peaceful tone. It was a standard room, not a room that we'd paid extra for. I like the fact that you've got a walk-in shower, no wasted space for a bathtub, which we don't use. Very comfortable bed and good lighting.
We love the pool too, with the mountains overlooking, and that humid warmth at all times of night or day - bliss!
If you sign up for Le Club Accor when you check in (free) you get free wifi in the room.
Remarkable value in the restaurant for breakfast or dinner. Only small complaint was that at dinner we found the aircon too cold in many places - we had to search to get out of the icy blast. Strangely the temperature was just right at breakfast.
So easy to get to the hotel from the airport, 5 minutes journey on the shuttle bus. And here's a tip if you're over 65 - get an Octopus card for "elders" at Tung Chung station and any journey, even in to Central, will cost all of HK$2 - so effectively free!
And we like having the Citygate Outlet mall next door - check out the bakery in Taste in the basement and the Pacific Coffee Company for a coffee and pastry in a comfy armchair!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with walk-in shower if you don't use the bathtub
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed here for ten days for business however the situation of the Hotel allowed me time to sightsee. The hotel itself is excellent with well designed rooms. The location is not far from the airport (free shuttle bus), the ferry to Macau and being almost in a shopping centre, has easy access to the subway which takes 30 mins to Ladies Market and 40 mins to Hong Kong Station.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundrerland, England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Our last night in Hong Kong was spent in this hotel, and we paid a " LITTLE " extra for their Premium service, which was OUTSTANDING !!! This is the only time i've ever been checked in whilst being given food and drinks, as they did there paperwork !!! super !!! The rooms were excellent in all ways, top quality, clean ,comfortable, nothing to say but excellent. The bonus came in the staff member we were lucky enough to encounter, her name was YOKO Leung, she was so pleasant and helpfull and couldn't do enough for us, and made our stay in china the best we had . I only hope that her superiors see this report and give her the praise she is undoubtably due, as she went the extra mile, and is a shining example that all Novotel staff should seek to emulate. She was a cute little gem of China !!!!! Thanks again if you read this YOKO !!!!!

Room Tip: Go there it's excellent !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Well, I'm on a roll here... having travelled extensively and never really taken the time to post reviews on TripAdvisor (even though I use it a lot), I'm now posting 2 reviews from the same trip. However, after my recent stay at the Novotel Citygate Hong Kong I just had to - out of all of the hotels I have ever stayed in worldwide, this place had simply the BEST check-in procedure I have ever experienced!

In a similar vein to my other recent review (on the virtues of the Fraser Suites in Chengdu), initially I will mention the hotel itself. The main thing to realise about this place is that it's not "in" Hong Kong per se... so, if you want to just walk out of the door and be in Kowloon or Central then this place isn't for you. That said, it's 3-5 mins walk to the MTR station (joined onto the hotel shopping mall) and it's only about 25 mins down into the centre... so it could be viable anyway. However, what it is useful for is HKG airport and anything on Lantau island - and for this it's got to be the best around (certainly much better than the Regal Airport Hotel I've also stayed in).

The facilities are great including the pool, gym, wifi, really good breakfast, a host of restaurants, a bar, and the fact that it adjoins the CityGate Outlet mall (for shopping and other eating options). It is also only 5 minutes walk from the hotel to the Ngong Ping cable car, which you can ride to have great views of the surrounding area and to visit the Big Buddha and Po Lin monastery.

Now, the main "top tip" I can offer and which was the thing that pushed this hotel above and beyond, was the fact that I paid a small amount of extra money to opt for the Premier Level rooms. It was only another £10-15 per room per night when I was booking, but as it was the final night of the trip before a long flight home I figured why not.

However, after almost 3 weeks travelling around China then when we went to check-in I had forgotten about this, but the receptionist in the ground floor lobby directed us to the lift to get to the 21st floor and the dedicated Premier Level check-in desk.

It was here that we were warmly greeted (by name) by the superb Yoko Leung as we approached the desk, then after handing her our passports were directed to the seats in the Premier Lounge where they were busy serving complimentary afternoon tea (1400-1700)... so while we were checking in we were super relaxed and eating some tasty mini-Club sandwiches and lovely little indiviual desserts. Over the next 20 minutes or so, Yoko sorted out our rooms for us, answered all of the questions we had, served us lovely cold drinks to our table, and generally just made us feel like VIP guests from the word go. It is the only time in my life I have actually wanted check-in to take longer!!!

Once we had filled ourselves up on the tasty food and finally made it to our rooms then they were very nice indeed, clearly a step above your average non-Premier room. Also, thanks to the added height of the Premier Level then the views were pretty decent too (albeit dictated by the ever-changing Hong Kong weather!).

After some relaxing in the room and an hour or so checking out the Outlet mall down below us, we returned to the Premier Lounge for the inclusive Cocktail Happy Hour (actually, 1800-2000) which saw a nice selection of hot'n'cold snacks on offer together with alcoholic drinks. And the clincher - free jelly beans too!!

Added to all of the above, you get (space permitting) a free late checkout until 4pm, a complimentary shuttle bus to the airport (every 15 minutes) and you can buy Ngong Ping cable tickets at the hotel concierge (do it, they are the same price and you can save a decent amount of time in the long queues!).

All-in-all, if you're going to Lantau or HKG airport then this place should absolutely be your only choice.... and for the extra few HKD make sure you opt for the Premier Level room (and cross your fingers that you're lucky enough to have Yoko working on the Premier Level desk when you arrive!).

Room Tip: Opt for the Premier Level rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Citygate Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Citygate Hong Kong

Address: No.51 Man Tung Road, Tung Chung, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Airport , Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#35 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Citygate Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only airport hotel in Hong Kong with city convenience, Novotel Hong Kong Citygate is just 5 minutes from Hong Kong International Airport and AsiaWorld-Expo. With direct access to MTR, it takes only 30 minutes to the city centre and Hong Kong Disneyland is 2 stops away. Enjoy spectacular views from the Ngong Ping Cable Car and discover bargain shopping at Citygate Outlets, both are at the doorstep. Features meeting facilities, two restaurants, a bar, a 24-hour gym and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Citygate Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Accor Hong Kong
Novotel Hong Kong Airport
Hong Kong Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Citygate Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.