We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novotel citygate is the gateway to holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Citygate Hong Kong

Best prices from these 11 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Novotel Citygate Hong Kong to your Saves list
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.51 Man Tung Road, Tung Chung, Hong Kong, China (Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HK Disneyland Package !
Ranked #37 of 667 Hotels in Hong Kong
Jakarta
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Novotel citygate is the gateway to holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Everything is well..i definitly like the place, away from the business of HK yet still reachable to the most fun place..the hotel ambiance was well and all the people and staff are friendly and top knotch in doing their tasks..they serviced you well..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,166
    889
    214
    34
    17
See reviews for
635
626
342
514
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

In my opinion, the Novotel is not very cheap (and the breakfast is not included in the price). Overall the hotel is good, focused on business trip.
For a hotel of this level it is strange that there is no free Wi-Fi in the room. Free Internet is only on the first floor in the lobby. Internet in the room is very expensive.
The room is very modern, nice view of the city at night. But we do not immediately find the hidden control from the air conditioner. Remote control from the air conditioner securely tucked away, so we found it in only 15 minutes of searching. We spent the night here just one night and in the morning have already departed. The hotel is located near the airport, so it's convenient. In the future we will be back here again if only for one night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We often stay in Airport Hotels around the world (or nearby the Airport) due to many different reasons. This was our Best Airport Hotel Experience we ever had and we will surely will go back again! From the professional service point of view to the warm house keeping turn-down service, from check-in to check-out, Accor Lounge, everything was above our expectation. Foreign Management, was surely one of their strong points. Many hotels, locally managed, not always have common sense and not always think outside the box. Great jog Mr. Mullins and GM for welcome our family. We will surely come back. Promise. All the best and see you soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Check in and check out very badly organised and extremely slow unless, you are airline crew who have their own check in counter and appear to get priority. A security deposit of HKD 2500 was deducted from our credit card on check in just in case we incurred any extra charges. This was not refunded on check out even though there were no extras on our bill, but were told it would be credited back. We contacted the hotel 4 days after returning home asking where this money was only to be told it could take 2 weeks. Miraculously it appeared in our account the next day. There was a terrible smell of stale cigarettes when getting out of the lift on our floor and in our room which never went away. The hotel is in a good location but that was the only good thing going for it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCitygate, General Manager at Novotel Citygate Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Nannyw56,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the great location of the hotel. I would like to clarify the pre-authorisation process that you have discussed in your review. This process is a widely accepted industry standard in hotels. The 'charge' you have mentioned below is not an actual charge and is an amount held on your credit card to cover your room and or incidental charges and acts as a security deposit. If you do not consume any incidental charges during your stay the hotel then releases the authorisation amount from your card on the day of check out, whereby it is then up to your credit card company or bank to release the funds which as you have mentioned can take up to two weeks, depending on your service provider.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Nicholas Cullum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nsw Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have been staying at the Citygate every year for ten years and simply think it's great. The staff could not be more helpful especially in the premier lounge where Yoko and her team will really take care of you. The rooms are clean and of a good size, the food is of a high quality and plentiful. The location has superb views over the hills, South China Sea and you can watch the aeroplanes take off and land as you enjoy a quiet cup of tea in the afternoon or drinks in the evening happy hour. Train connections to the city are excellent and the local buses take you everwhere on Lantau Island. The local ferry provides additional means of exploring further afield. All in all an excellent place to relax for a stop over or a longer stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an airport facing room. Premier floors definitely worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Its always like going back home when i stay in Novotel Citygate for the 5th time for my trip to HK. I always choose this hotel on the last 2 days because the location is near the airport. I was also served by friendly Front Desk staff like Jimmy & Eugene who bright up my day during my stay. The food at the cafe is value for money and i will always visit Novotel City gate everytime i come to hong Kong. You can always find something new at the outlet next to the hotel.So do think of Novotel Citygate when you visit Hong Kong

Room Tip: Ask for the room that face the cable car station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have stayed at this property 4 times in two years. I just love the place. This is an airport hotel in Lantau with a free airport shuttle if included in the package; else a convenient 10 minute taxi-ride away. The higher floors have magical views of the harbor and the mountain. If you don't want to stay in the city, this hotel is a convenient 20min underground ride away from the island and is close to everything on Lantau (Discovery Bay, Disneyland, The Giant Buddha). The hotel is connected to a lovely Mall with outlet stores. I picked up the best brands for a real bargain every visit to Novotel! The cable car to the Giant Buddha is just across and a wonderful experience. The staff is well trained, polite and attentive to all your needs. The rooms are uber-comfortable with an excellent shower area. The toiletries are good and the bathrooms chic. The breakfast is great and there is lots to do around the Hotel with myriad eating options from a McDonalds to upmarket japanese Restaurants. I would give this a 9/10 score!

Room Tip: Request for rooms above the 19th floor for excellent scenic views of the harbor, giant buddha and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Citygate Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Citygate Hong Kong

Address: No.51 Man Tung Road, Tung Chung, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Airport , Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Citygate Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only airport hotel in Hong Kong with city convenience, Novotel Hong Kong Citygate is just 5 minutes from Hong Kong International Airport and AsiaWorld-Expo. With direct access to MTR, it takes only 30 minutes to the city centre and Hong Kong Disneyland is 2 stops away. Enjoy spectacular views from the Ngong Ping Cable Car and discover bargain shopping at Citygate Outlets, both are at the doorstep. Features meeting facilities, two restaurants, a bar, a 24-hour gym and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao and Odigeo so you can book your Novotel Citygate Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Accor Hong Kong
Novotel Hong Kong Airport
Hong Kong Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Citygate Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.