We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay. Strategic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Citygate Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Citygate Hong Kong to your Saves list
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.51 Man Tung Road, Tung Chung, Hong Kong, China (Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Citygate Shopover Package
Ranked #43 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Write a Review

2,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,210
    937
    222
    36
    20
See reviews for
656
657
354
539
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Novotel Citygate is perfect for vacationing families. Name brand outlets are just an escalator ride away while Hong Kong Disneyland is just two MTR stops away as the Tung Chung Station is also conveniently found in the same compound. We booked two Executive Premiere rooms (extra room was for our two daughters) and included in the package were free buffet breakfast with a wide variety of choices and snacks in the lounge. The rooms are a bit expensive compared to other Hong Kong hotels but they were well worth it as the experience was quite rewarding --- from the hotel's cool design, comfy bed, eco-friendly amenities and friendly staff. Shuttle to and from the airport is also free. Hotel is perfect for those who are willing to shell out a few dollars for convenience, a bit of luxury and excellent service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-ferrand, France
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed for two nights.
I booked an executive room and as a platinium requested upgrade. It was refused because of lack of availibility BUT in the same time I was offer to upgrade for a fee.
I complained and made a fuss till I was given a suite ! I got one.
It is small but nice. Very long and large bathroom.
Room itslef if more of a corridor but very confortable.
Shuttle bus was efficient.
Location is great : in the mall itslef and 2 min walk from the MRT station.
Staff was nice and helpful.
Swimming was closed !!!
SOMETHING IS VERY ODD : in the Executive Suite... If you really want to close the blind completely but to sleep in the dark, you can not watch TV any longer ? strange design
I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel should only be used as a Layover hotel, the rooms at 23.5 sq mtrs are small. Reception and Concierge seemed to understaffed, we were not met by the porters on arrival and unloaded our own luggage.

If you plan to stay longer than a day would seek an alternative

Room Tip: Executive benefits do not extend to room size, same as all others but are on higher floors and ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCitygate, General Manager at Novotel Citygate Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Greg N,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback of your stay at Novotel Citygate.

I do apologize for the oversight and lack of assistance provided by our Bell department on your arrival to the hotel. I will certainly be sharing your feedback with the team and make every effort to improve this important service.

In terms of our room size, our rooms are on average 28 square meters; whilst not overly large they are very much competitive within the industry.

May I thank you once again for your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Nicholas Cullum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire uk
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great hotel, near the airport (though no aircraft noise) with a free shuttle bus.
Excellent rooms with a great sleep quality & really good customer service.
Part of the Citygate Outlet Mall, which has some really good restaurants to suit all tastes + a supermarket to stock up on any Chinese products you want to take home.
Also its 5 mins walk, through the mall, to get to the cable car that takes you to the giant Buddha. Well worth the trip just for the views. (Tip- if you buy your ticket at the hotels business centre you get to use the express lane which certainly helps !).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Citygate Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Citygate Hong Kong

Address: No.51 Man Tung Road, Tung Chung, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Airport , Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#35 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Citygate Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only airport hotel in Hong Kong with city convenience, Novotel Hong Kong Citygate is just 5 minutes from Hong Kong International Airport and AsiaWorld-Expo. With direct access to MTR, it takes only 30 minutes to the city centre and Hong Kong Disneyland is 2 stops away. Enjoy spectacular views from the Ngong Ping Cable Car and discover bargain shopping at Citygate Outlets, both are at the doorstep. Features meeting facilities, two restaurants, a bar, a 24-hour gym and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Citygate Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Accor Hong Kong
Novotel Hong Kong Airport
Hong Kong Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Citygate Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.