We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plesant stay at Novotel Citygates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Citygate Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Citygate Hong Kong to your Saves list
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.51 Man Tung Road, Tung Chung, Hong Kong, China (Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Citygate Shopover Package
Ranked #41 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 2,437 Reviews
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,215
    942
    223
    37
    20
See reviews for
660
659
355
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Overall the stay was good. Hotel was at a great location if you are going to Disneyland but did not fancy the high rates at Disneyland hotels or travel back to HK island after a long day at Disneyland park.

The only disappointing area was the luggage service. I arrived in a cab and had to catch the attention of the bell boy myself. He was not attentive to arriving guest. After I had checkin and indicated my room fr the luggage to be sent, I waited at least 15 mins before I head dwn to find that my luggage is still a the lobby!! Only when I indicated again, the kuggages was then send to my room promptly.

The lobby area was also lacking in seats where it is generally occupied by guest using the wifi.

Other than these, it's great location will prompt me to return if I am heading to Disneyland theme park again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCitygate, General Manager at Novotel Citygate Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Staer2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Novotel Citygate.

I am very pleased to learn that as a whole you enjoyed your stay with us; the location, convenience to Disneyland and value all meeting to your satisfaction. It is great to hear that you would consider staying with us again when you are next in Hong Kong and we certainly look forward to welcome you back.

I do apologize on behalf of the Concierge for the delay in luggage service, we will certainly be looking at paying more attention to this in an effort to improve.

Once again my sincere thanks for your feedback.

Yours sincerely
Nicholas Cullum
General Manager
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Utah
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotels location could not be better. it is on top of a large outlet mall which is connected to the metro station, so you can take the metro from the airport to the hotel and the metro from the hotel to anywhere else in HK. Also, they have a shuttle to the airport which is very convenient, and you can see the airport from the hotel. It's also right next to the tram to the Big Budah. So, the location is really tops. Other good things - the room was clean and comfortable - exactly like the online photos. Comfortable and well appointed. I have two suggestions for them - (1) install at least one international outlet in each room for travelers who don't have a conversion kit with them (it's a small thing but a nice touch) and (2) drop the ridiculous internet charges. $5 per hour or $15 per day is just too much to pay for Internet - especially when it was very slow and unreliable. I think all hotels should include Internet for free, but that's a personal opinion - anyone who charges more than $10 per day for it in my opinion is gouging and I cannot conduct business at any hotel without a reliable connection - so the combination of too high a price and terrible connection really bothered me. Even so I'd probably stay there again for all the other great things about the hotel - location - location - location.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the airport/sea side have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangere Bridge
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was directed to this hotel by airport staff because of its convenience to airport.
Although it was far from convenient in travel by bus, in all other respects it was
excellent. Time in the bus return to airport depends on which part of the huge airport is needed.
It took me at least an anxious half an hour!
The restaurant was spacious and offered a wide range of interesting food.
The staff were highly professional and welcoming and the bedroom was also spacious,
scrupulously clean, well furnished and with a good view. Cost was reasonable. The reason for the stay was to break my trip from N Africa to NZ.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Had never travelled long haul with a small child (aged 4) so felt should stay overnight to break up journey to Oz. This hotel was 10 mins max in a cab from the airport - £2.50 ish and was smooth from check-in through to check out. We had a large bed and extra single bed. Great views across to the cable cars although the area is not particularly scenic. After freshening up we walked through the hotel to the adjoining shopping mall - citygate which goes across the road to the nearest MTR which took us straight to Kowloon in about 15 mins. Very easy to find, easy to follow and lots of food choices right next to the hotel. The next morning the hotel stored our luggage and we nipped across the road to the cable cars for the Ngong Ping 360 experience! Well worth the visit and all doable with a flight after lunch. Great service, hotel room very clean and would def revisit again.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet and overlooked the busy road towards the cable cars. Very little noise at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Citygate Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Citygate Hong Kong

Address: No.51 Man Tung Road, Tung Chung, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Airport , Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Citygate Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only airport hotel in Hong Kong with city convenience, Novotel Hong Kong Citygate is just 5 minutes from Hong Kong International Airport and AsiaWorld-Expo. With direct access to MTR, it takes only 30 minutes to the city centre and Hong Kong Disneyland is 2 stops away. Enjoy spectacular views from the Ngong Ping Cable Car and discover bargain shopping at Citygate Outlets, both are at the doorstep. Features meeting facilities, two restaurants, a bar, a 24-hour gym and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Citygate Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Accor Hong Kong
Novotel Hong Kong Airport
Hong Kong Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Citygate Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.