We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lan Kwai Fong Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lan Kwai Fong Hotel to your Saves list
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.3 Kau U Fong, Central, Hong Kong, China (Sheung Wan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

Stayed here as part of a deal package so didn't really choose the hotel, but it was fine.

Great location and decent clean room. Shoe boxed sized, but guess most hotel rooms in Hong Kong are small.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    356
    137
    47
    23
See reviews for
51
235
96
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

I was truly delighted with the Lan Kwai Fong Hotel. The room (standard, city view) was definitely small, but very elegant. There were so many thoughtful amenities--nice soaps, shaving gear, toothbrush & toothpaste, bathrobes, slippers, fruit plate upon arrival, in-room safe, dimmer switch on the bedside lights, etc. A lot of thought had been given to guests' comfort and convenience.

At approximately $200 per night, this hotel isn't bargain-basement cheap, but it's very reasonably priced for such a pleasant hotel in such a central location. The hotel is located between the main drags of Queens Road Central and Hollywood Road, and is close to all sorts of shops, restaurants and tourist attractions. The subway is about a 5 minute walk, and the waterfront and ferries are about a 10 minute walk. (Tip: Before you leave the airport, get an Octopus card to pay for subways, buses, ferries, convenience stores, etc.; it's much more convenient--and often cheaper--than paying cash each time.)

This was my first trip to Hong Kong, and the Lan Kwai Fong Hotel contributed greatly to my enjoyment of the visit. Without question, I would stay there on future visits.

  • Liked — location; in-room amenities; elegance and cleanliness of room
  • Disliked — no major deficiencies
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

This was a good average price hotel. The rooms are small but that is normal for Hong Kong as land is expensive. The location is great to see the sites of Central Hong Kong and the main shopping areas. From this location you are close to the funicular railway which takes you to the top of Victoria peak which has the best views of the city and harbor.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

We wanted a good quality hotel for our 2 night stay in HK at the end of our hectic trip back to the UK. Though by far not the cheapest hotel on HK island most definitely the best value for money in a very central location. Easy access to ferries, markets, tram and shopping. The room was gorgeous, lovely view, lovely decor and very comfortable bed. The staff were fantastic. They organised a great baby cot for my 1 year old and were attentive to my husband and I without being intrusive. My son loved the staff and they were so friendly to him, we felt so welcome. The place has a great little dining area, not the biggest menu but good food and drinks, again the staff were lovely.
One member of staff we have to mention in particular was Angela Mak, the guest services manager. She was fantastic, really made the stay for us. It is not always easy travelling with a toddler especially to a more upmarket hotel, but she made us feel right at home and ensured we had everything we needed. Thank you so much Angela.
If you want a good place to stay, in central HK and if you can splash out a little, book a superior room in this hotel, it is a lovely recluse in a busy, busy city and it ensures you make the most of your trip to HK. What can I say...... a cat 9 thypoon hit HK whilst we were there and they ensured our safety and we still had a fantastic time. Well done guys!

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — I'm scared of heights and we were very high up!!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

This is a chic, clean & modern hotel, centrally located, with oriental decor throughout. The boys on the desk were very welcoming, helpful & friendly (bless them), as were the staff in the bar & restaurant. The rooms are compact, but have a very luxurious feel; ours had a harbour view which was stunning day & night. The hotel is located in SOHO, which is a cool & happening area just south of Central Station, which has plenty of great bars, restaurants & shops, as well as the antiques market. Behind you the hills with the zoo & botanical gardens & The Peak, below you the bustle of Central & the Piers. Less than a five minute walk to the trams, this is a great hotel in a fantastic location.

  • Liked — Stunning views of the harbour
  • Disliked — Terrapins out the front of the shop
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, NY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

If location is key, then this is the hotel for you. You are close to a lot of nightlife and the mid-level escalators. Close to SOHO and Lan Kwai Fong neighborhoods. Amenities are ok, except that the bathroom soaps are too small. We got 2 slivers of soaps. The room itself is also very small. This hotel is slightly over $200/nite with taxes/service, which happens to be relatively inexpensive for this central area. Get what u pay for.
Lobby was very small and I did not see a hotel bar.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

Visited Hong Kong last month and stayed at a hotel called Lan Kwai Fong @ Kau E Fong.
It is a boutique hotel with Oriental touches throughout all its décor and settings. Reasonably priced, clean and the employees were very hospitable.
This boutique hotel should not be confused with LKF Hotel that is located in Chung Wan. The latter hotel is the one that is located in the hype location of Lan Kwai Fong itself whereas the former is at Sheung Wan, Kau E Fong but it seems both hotels have the same name in Cantonese i.e. Lan Kwai Fong. Had a tough time trying to explain to all the Taxi Drivers to get me to the right hotel as majority of them is much better acquainted with the LKF Hotel in Chung Wan.
Ask for high floor rooms in particular harbour view to get a beautiful night Hong Kong view and while you are there, dropped by a Dim Sum Cha Lau called Lin Heung in which is located just a stone throw away from this hotel to exprience some real traditional good old days Cha Lau style as this restaurant has about 80 years old history serving Dim Sum and some other popular dishes.

  • Liked — The decor and design
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lan Kwai Fong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lan Kwai Fong Hotel

Address: No.3 Kau U Fong, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#92 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#92 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lan Kwai Fong Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Lan Kwai Fong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lan Kwai Fong
Lan Kwai Fong Hong Kong
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lan Kwai Fong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.