We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best little boutique hotel in HK!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lan Kwai Fong Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lan Kwai Fong Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.3 Kau U Fong, Central, Hong Kong, China (Central)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 652 Hotels in Hong Kong
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best little boutique hotel in HK!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have stayed at many of the major hotels in Hong Kong while there for both business and pleasure. But I keep coming back to LKF Hotel. I love the location. the staff is great, and the rooms are cozy.

Room Tip: Each room is different, but they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    313
    117
    46
    24
See reviews for
44
205
86
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel has some of the best customer service I've ever experienced. Robert, Enzo, and Tony were especially friendly and helpful! The hotel has a new "Handy Phone" loaner service which was very convenient. (just leave a refundable deposit for a Honk Kong phone with unlimited international calling). The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was clean and elegant. I would definitely stay here again. (I could not rate the value, swimming pool, or spa: because I don't know the cost and had no time for the amenities... my company paid and I worked all of the time I was awake.)

Room Tip: There are 2 Lan Kwai Fong Hotels within a 5 minute drive of each other. Be sure to have the correct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Right in town, pretty rooms with comfortable beds but a little dusty (top of cabinets and tv, etc) and lovely staff but no real room service, just ordinary, overpriced takeout from a nearby restaurant. Sheung Wan has cheaper hotels that are cleaner and a little quieter

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Booked this as it had good reviews and had won best boutique hotel awards. Lets say the 5 years since have not been kind. Room was ok but not 4 star by European standards. Shower showing signs of age. Gym - one of the three running machines was broken as was the single multi weight machine. Lack of free wifi aside from a shabby lounge was also uninspiring. Won't be back despite good central location albeit in a uninspiring part of town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night in January. I chose it because it was close to Lan Kwai Fong, where the bars and restaurants are in the Central area of Hong Kong Island. It was reasonably priced as well (around £150 for the night). Free wifi in the lobby area. Rooms are clean and bathrooms are modern, though compact. I had a room on the 30th floor, overlooking the harbour and across to Kowloon. The cab driver from the airport had a bit of trouble finding it though, but the Airport Express, which I took on the way back, is close by. You can check in your bags and get your boarding pass at the station as well and then a 20 minute train ride to the airport for HKD 100 (£8) so good value.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed here for one week. It is my second time here. I highly recommend this hotel. The central location is brilliant - a very short walk to the mid-level escalator which will take you straight down to the main Central streets, train (MTR) or ferry or you can simply walk anywhere from here. Fantastic restaurants and bars are close by. It is not noisy at night. The rooms are in oriental style and very clean. The staff are helpful and friendly. The newly furbished breakfast room is very nice and staff efficient. Don't go past this hotel for comfort and proximity to everything.

Room Tip: Higher floor, city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A great stay in a well renovated hotel in the centre Hong Kong. Close to everything , friendly staff good wifi, though only in one area, but a great stay at the end of a long holiday. Close to local eateries and local bars and easy walk to catch the ferry to Kowloon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lan Kwai Fong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lan Kwai Fong Hotel

Address: No.3 Kau U Fong, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#94 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lan Kwai Fong Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel is awarded as "Asia's Leading Boutique Hotel" by World Travel Awards. It features contemporary decor with oriental touches, situated between the bustling Central and Sheung Wan business district, close to Hong Kong's popular dining, drinking and entertainment districts of Lan Kwai Fong and So Ho. MTR, Airport Express, Macau Ferry Terminal, Tram and Star Ferry are all within 10 minutes from the hotel, perfect for both business and leisure stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Jetsetter so you can book your Lan Kwai Fong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lan Kwai Fong
Lan Kwai Fong Hong Kong
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lan Kwai Fong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.