We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hong Kong October 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong to your Saves list
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.375-377 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 Disney / Ocean Park Tkt
Ranked #113 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Hong Kong October 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

his was my first trip to Hong Kong and this hotel. The room had ample space but wardrobe did not allow trousers or dresses to hang properly. Room was serviced every day, which was unexpected, fresh bottles of water each day, toiletries replenished each day. Food was good, plenty to choose from and included in room price. Staff all very helpful. The hotel allowed us to store our bags and cases as got to the hotel at 9.30 am, but still let us check in a couple of hours early.
The free wifi in 5th floor lounge was great.
The only bad thing to say was the building works next door, not the hotels fault but had no warning about this, just a note in the room. the trains just a 10 minute walk away and to lots of fantastic shops and restuarants.

Room Tip: No fitness or leisure at this hotel but the sister hotel 2 doors away Cosmopolitan has leisure that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your feedback. Located conveniently in the city centers, it just takes 8 minutes to walk from Cosmo Hotel to Causeway Bay subway station, with a series of localized shops and restaurants on the way. Our hotel comprises of 7 room categories sizing up to 83 sq. meters, which could definitely suit different travelers’ needs with different budgets and preferences. Although all guestrooms are smartly designed to fit all necessary facilities guests need during travelling, guests could always contact our Housekeeping department for extra racks for hanging in similar cases like yours. To make sure the best accommodations to our guests every day, all guestrooms are tidied on daily basis with amenities like bottled water and toiletries replenished.

It’s so great to know that you did enjoy staying with us with the warm hospitality extended by our guest service team. Trust the flexibility on check-in has given you a great convenience especially after tiring flights. Your compliments on our breakfast has definitely make us motivated to keep it up! Regret to learn your unpleasant experience due to the scheduled construction work undergoing beside us. Understand the disturbance that may cause to our guests, we have thoughtfully put a notice in each guestrooms for travelers to plan their itinerary in advance. Sarah, you could now also enjoy free wifi at guestrooms by simply book through our hotel website. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    413
    199
    57
    26
See reviews for
156
295
112
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here on our recent trip to Hong Kong and I have nothing but good things to add. It's about a 10 minute walk from the nearest subway, but also sits in a neighbourhood with a lot of good shopping and food nearby. The room was clean and well taken care of and the check in and check out processes were friendly and efficient. If I had one complaint I'd ask why you don't just put free wifi in the rooms. We did end up using the Breezes wifi lounge on the 5th floor (where we were) but when you're in HK, you want to do some research in the morning and at night on where to visit and it's nice to do it in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. It’s delightful to know that you had an enjoyable stay here with us. Conveniently located amid Causeway Bay and Wan Chai, it’s just an 8-minute walk from Cosmo Hotel towards to the closest Causeway Bay subway station with an array of local shops and restaurants on the way. Alternatively, our free shuttle bus could bring guests towards 15 destinations too. We are also glad to learn that you found our guestrooms well-appointed and pleased with the efficient and sincere services from our professional staff. In additional to the free wifi at public areas like Breeze, you could now enjoy free wifi at guestrooms simply via making reservations at our official website. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the Cosmo Hotel for four nights recently and had a great experience. While the Cosmo is a reasonably priced hotel, it is located next to the more upscale Cosmopolitan Hotel and the amenities of the latter were available to us. From there we were able to ride the free shuttle downtown to connect to the Big Bus tours which interested us. We also ate in the Cosmopolitan dining room which was excellent. The staff was very attentive. My wife was ill one day and the Manager, Mr Chan, was most helpful, giving me his card and informing me that I could call him at any time day or night. The desk clerk, Amy Lau, was wonderful. The hotel was clean, quiet well situated.

Room Tip: For those interested in horse racing, the track is very close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We arrived quite late and were met by a very helpful young man at the check-in desk who was keen to give us plenty of information.

We had the family suite (301) on the first floor. This was spacious with two separate rooms and a few nice touches such as roomy seating area with large TV as well as TV in each bedroom.

Fruit was replenished every day, another nice touch.

The room was also clean and well serviced every day.

The location was a little out of the way but the walk to Causeway Bay / Timnes Square was only around 10 minutes. We avoided using the shuttle bus, so can't comment on that. Instead we tended to use the fun little trams which were to be found a couple of minutes down the road. These run into the central area very frequently.

Breakfast was OK but a bit of a disappointment. There were some strange choices available on some days. Different forms of egg are available but don't expect to be asked what you would like by the rather abrupt staff. The choice does not compare to other hotels we have stayed at in Asia but certainly offered enough to fuel you up for the morning. Coffee was reasonable, via a machine.

The breakfast location was a rather tired and ugly bar area which could have done with a face-lift and a few more tables, there was often a few minutes wait to get in.

The 5th floor 'Breeze' area was pleasant, including free coffee / tea facilities. Despite this I do not think that residents shoudl have to go to this area or the lobby to access free wi-fi when paying this much for a room. I am sure that the manager is going to come on and say that it is free in rooms to those who book through the hotel website.....Mister, it should be free for all at your prices!

My main problem was the noise from the building work which is going on next door. It started at around 8am every morning and I am not exagerating when I state that you could not hear yourself think, let alone listen to the morning news on the TV. The whole room was vibrating as well. It's a good job that we spent the days oput of the hotel. The noise was also very noticable in the breakfast area. Not a nice alarm call....nobody warned us of this when we checked in. This was very disappointing!
I would seriously consider avoiding this hotel at present for this very reason. There appears to be a new hotel being built next door which is nowhere near completion, so I would expect this awful noise to continue for a good few months to come.

The elevators seemed to lack any logic in their programming and would tend to oscillate between the upper floors and then, apparently, stay on one floor for ages. Luckily we were only on the third floor so had to use the stairs a few times when we got tired of waiting. If you were on a higher floor or elderly / disalbled this could be an issue.



All in all a decent hotel at a reasonable (by Hong Kong standards) price. If you don't mind being a little off the "beaten track', and don't expect too much from breakfast, I would recommend it but not until the building work has stoppped!

Room Tip: Keep away from the lower floors and elevator side where the work is being done next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable time on sharing with us your previous stay at Cosmo Hotel. First of all, we are so glad to know that you had an wonderful stay at our spacious 2-bedroom suite measuring 83 sq. meters. With all nice facilities and amenities equipped in the well-appointed rooms, we always aim to provide our guests a hassle-free and comfortable stay with us. It’s also great to know that you found our front line staff professional and knowledgeable with professional trainings. Conveniently located between city centers Causeway Bay and Wan Chai, we intend to give our travelers a sense of oasis after a long busy day. Despite the fact that it takes only 8 minutes to reach Causeway Bay MTR station, our free shuttle bus could bring guests up to 15 destinations. Alternatively, many guests did find the public transports like trams and buses worth trying like you.
Thank you for your feedbacks towards our breakfast, we offers both eastern and western choices with delighting cook-to-order eggs to cater different guests’ needs. We will keep up improving on the food quality /variety and service standard to ensure every guests a good morning with us. Apart from our trendy and fashionable Nooch Bar located on the ground floor, which is transformed into a nice area for breakfast in the morning; the outdoor area at 5/F provides another choice for resting with free wifi and coffee. Making booking through our official website does not only guarantee free internet in room, but also free breakfast for most room types and a flexible check-in / out time. We hope you may check that out on your next return to optimize your stay with the widest range of exclusive benefits. We regret to learn your unpleasant experience due to the intermittent noise from construction work. We understand the possible inconvenience brought and therefore we have thoughtfully put notice in all guestrooms during the construction period for guests’ advanced planning on their itinerary. We trust that the waiting time of elevators have just been lengthened occasionally during your stay due to the high occupancy, appreciated your kind understanding on this. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back for a better stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel looks better in the picture. Actually the lobby is next to the breakfast place. I had an apartment, small but convenient. The draw back is a very poor internet connection, and a breakfast that changes everyday but not for the better. The best part of it, is the space on the fifth floor with wifi and coffee and fruits. People are nice but for the price I paid I would prefer to spend 50$ more and get a better place. It was quite expensive for what I got. I guess that since there was a show on maybe the price was so steep, I guess if i had paid $200 or less I would have considered it a better place. I agree with the fact that some personel was more efficient than others. But also thereis work going on next door of a new hotel I think and maybe it is did not contribute to quite night. Also the A/C is very noisy. The plus is that you can get to good restaurant or time square in less than 10 minutes walking. I cannot say i would not stay there, and I could not say I would recommend but a little improvement for the breakfast at all levels, wifi quality, and finally the noise of the A/C and it will gain in my books

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. Cosmo hotel is always considered as a hip hotel with modern design offering comfortable accommodation at the same time. With 7 room categories sizing up to 83 square meters here, guests could always look for their most suitable room type according to own preferences and budgets. Conveniently located in Causeway Bay, it takes only 8 minutes to reach the closest subway station from hotel with lots of restaurants nearby. Alternatively, our free shuttle bus could also bring you up to 15 destinations. Understand the needs of international travelers, we offers 100MB high speed internet access in hotel public areas and our guest service team could always provide prompt assistance on internet connection problem. You could enjoy free wifi at guestrooms too by simply making reservations at hotel official site now. Thank you for your feedbacks towards our breakfast and we will keep improving on our food variety and quality. Although hotel prices are always dependent on different city-wide fairs and events, many of our guests have given us thumb ups as a “value for money” accommodation choice. It’s delightful to know that you found our staff friendly and helpful, and also the relaxation area on 5/F – Breeze great for getting online with coffee. We are regret to learn your unpleasant experience regarding noise issue, and we hope you had contacted our 24-hour on duty guest service managers for an immediate room change on the spot. We look forward to welcoming you back in the soon future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

When my friends and me decided on the hotel to stay during our trip, I totally hv no expectations on this hotel. It really turned out to b a great surprise to us as their front desk are really efficient and helpful, especially their manager on duty - Kelvin. The room is big and clean. And, they are quite flexible in meeting their guests request.

I'm really thankful to hv selected this hotel for my 4D3N trip to Hongkong. Haha!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.375-377 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#80 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#88 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#92 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Booking this hotel online to enjoy 200Mbps Free WiFi in-room and 24-hour full stay! (For hotel official site booking only). A boutique hotel in downtown Causeway Bay and Wan Chai, close to Causeway Bay metro station (8-min walking distance). Free shuttle bus to 15 locations on the Hong Kong island. This young and chic Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong is 100% smoke-free,and dedicates to sustainability as represented by its EarthCheck's Bronze Benchmarked Status. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ctrip TA so you can book your Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmo Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmo Hotel
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.