We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being a reasonably Ok space ship” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong to your Saves list
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.375-377 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 690 Hotels in Hong Kong
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Like being a reasonably Ok space ship”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

The hotel is located right near the Happy Valley Racecourse and is reasonably close to Times Square and it is possible to take shuttle buses from their nearby sister hotel to other locations including Hong Kong Station for the Airport Express.

The room itself was tiny and before the hotel writes a generic response about all the difference sized room options, I wish to detail what the standard room is like. The room was a nice orange/yellow tones and the beds were quite hard, but the quilt was so soft that it was like being hugged. We could quite clearly hear the room next door and it does not offer peace and quiet that the manager assures. There are compartments on the side of the room that contains the kettle and water, but there is very little room to actual store any clothing and so it was very hard to live in. Additionally our room curiously faced a massive cemetery.

I was unimpressed on arrival the manner of fact approach to check in and the demand for a $120 AUD deposit for 'incidentals'. We had already paid our room cost for the 4 nights we were staying $500 or so, and so it seemed quite rich that they required more money then and there. I questioned this and asked why they wouldn't just require an imprint of a card, but didn't push it further. This policy should be made much clearer on the online reservation form and the staff should actually advise how much deposit they will require. I had to specifically ask them this information.

Further to this, we had the absurd situation that at 8:15am the maid entered our room to clean it. We were asleep then. Upon realising that she left. 30 minutes later she returned, we were still in bed. Likewise on the day we were leaving, the staff entered our while I was showering clearly to begin cleaning it. Clearly when people are checking out this is unnecessary. Additionally, we left our bags in the lobby for a few hours and as we were taking the shuttle from the sister hotel - The Cosmopolitan, I went to collect my 2 bags and my friend was sitting with our other bags in their lobby while we waited. Absurdly they refused to give me my 2 and allow my friend to come back a few minutes later. Additionally, when we left our key card in our room and the front desk reissued a new one, it failed to work. Upon returning downstairs, the man looked at me in disbelief and sent a man up with me with a new card also. Naturally this card didn't work, and so he used his master key to let us in and fetch our left key cards.

The breakfast was ok - and while yes there were Asian and Western options, they were not very appetising and although eggs were on offer, it was very reflective of the hotel that nobody came round to ask for orders or offerred tea and coffee. You had to get that yourself and actively ask the wait staff.

I doubt I would return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Cosmo is an 8-min walk to the center of Causeway Bay and the hotel provides free daily shuttle to drop off guests at various destinations e.g. Times Square mega shopping mall (Causeway Bay), Pacific Place (Admiralty), IFC Mal (Central), etc. As for room types, we offer up to 7 categories for different travel purposes with a room size as large as 83 sq m. All rooms are color-coded into yellow, orange or green for guest’s selection. Mattress topper can be provided if a fluffier sleep experience is sought after and we are pleased to know that you like the quilt! All rooms are equipped with sound proof facilities to heighten in-room privacy. If a room change is required, our 24-hour on duty Guest Services Manager will be able to arrange. A majority of our 142 rooms face the Causeway Bay city view and guests are encouraged to let us know their view preference at time of booking, we will surely arrange accordingly.
As for the deposit encounter, it is a common practice in major hotels in Hong Kong. The deposit can in fact be paid by cash (in which the guest will be paid back full amount upon check-out) or by credit card (the amount is frozen and then released upon check-out if no incidental charge is required). Thank you for your suggestions and we will ensure our staff has good product knowledge and be able to explain to guests proactively. While your encounter of our room attendants entering the room is indeed a very uncommon case. Upon receiving your review, our housekeeping team has been seriously briefed about the room cleaning procedure and make sure that no similar occasion will occur again. Our apology for the key card incident and for the inconvenience that was caused. On grounds of security, stored bags will only be released to the guests who are holding the matching luggage tag as this is to protect our guest’s belongings from being lost. Your comments on the breakfast service are duly noted and will be reflected to the restaurant accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    370
    178
    53
    25
See reviews for
144
248
102
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Room very small as expected but it is fine if you are traveling alone. Very clean room. Staff are extremely helpful. Good location. Free net access but only for Hong Kong and area; cannot do online banking or access email.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hotel is in a good location within walking distance of Wan Chai but in a quieter area near the race course, there is a bus stop outside where you can take a bus to the hillside tram and a free shuttlebus service to main areas so good access. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was a good size with a large bed but we did take an upgrade offer on a city view room and breakfast this was well worth it the city view was great especially for first time visitors. The room and other areas were clean and tidy. The stocked fridge as usual far too expensive.The breakfast was fine quite a good choice although mainly Asian it was good to try and there was plenty other items, eggs cooked to order. Internet access in the lobby but we found that it was more reliable in the lobby of sister hotel the Cosmopolitan just a few mins walk.

Room Tip: For a good view of the city probably quite a high room (there are 2 efficient lifts) on city side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Clean decent sized room and friendly service. Location of the hotel wasn't bad: about a 10-15 walk to Wan Chai MTR. A free shuttle bus is also available to take you to Time Square/Crossway Bay.
The breakfast wasn't very good, and the 12HKD service charge (per device) for the in room wireless internet makes me feel that the hotel was penny-pinching.
Still, a satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you for your comments on our breakfast. We provide Chinese and western breakfast delicacies including hot dish and cold cut hoping to please appetite from around the world. As a matter of fact, the service charge of the Internet service is to be charged by the service provider (not the hotel) and it’s calculated by device due to virtual security issue – multiple computers do not share the same network. We are yet pleased to learn that you are satisfied with the stay, see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

myself + my friend stayed at the cosmo hotel in wan chai for 4 nights, the location was good as there was a bus stop outside + we could use the free shuttle bus from the cosmopolitan hotel next door to go places. in the lobby there is a computer with free internet access which was handy for looking up attractions. the only downfall was the bedroom was tiny but everything was nice + clean + the staff were nice + friendly

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We arrived at 6am to be greeted by an unfriendly and unsmiling staff member who told us they were fully booked when we requested an extra room. We were not told about any amenities apart from being able to leave our baggage in an open foyer area. We were told we could wait in the foyer area which is very small. There is a 'smoking' area called Breeze on floor 5 which has free coffee and internet, but we were not told about that. We booked a month in advance on the internet and got a good discount on an executive room. However, there was a dispute over the wording of their policy about payment and even though they had our credit card details, they said we had to pay the full amount of the seven days on check in even though it clearly states on their policy that they take a deposit and final amount on check out. This marred our stay. On service, the staff are generally unfriendly and not helpful. It was not a good impression arriving tired and not being welcomed by counter staff. Training in this area is strongly advised. The room, was adequate for the price. Average size. Good colours. The bathroom has no power points so hard to dry hair or shave. The toilet stunk of urine until we mentioned it when we complained. The best staff are the room service people who are friendly and always say hello and a lovely tall man in the breakfast area who was consistently friendly.
The breakfast probably fits the standard of the hotel - very average for what you pay. Bland, fried food and don't order the omelet, its awful!! No taste at all. The coffee is good. The internet is so slow none of our applications would work on our phones. Would I stay here again? Maybe if the staff professionalism improves. I would recommend the Cosmopolitan sister hotel a few metres down the road even though its more expensive. Location is good. Theres a bus outside the door to Central and Stanley and the Subway is a 10 min walk to Times Square. Causeway Bay is an interesting area and well worth the shopping and eating. It is as good as anywhere for shopping. Julie Claessens, Glebe, Australia

Room Tip: Definitely pay a little more for an Executive room. Don't be fooled by the name though. It is st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you for the review. Advance reservations is required due to tight room situation and we would highly suggest guests to book in advance on our hotel website. All hotel staff receive regular on-the-job training on customer service and we will ensure they will pay more attention on being friendly and cheerful. We will also take your advice into account and consider to do a more detailed introduction on room amenities, hotel facilities etc during check-in. I trust that the payment encounter is due to the miscommunication between our staff and your good self. Understanding from my staff that since you were not able to present the same credit card that was provided during booking, we had to ask for another credit card and to get the authorization code with the full amount in order to secure your full length of stay (7 nights). That says, only an authorization code was obtained and the full amount wasn’t charged until the time you checked out. Yet we agree that our staff should have been able to explain to you more in details to avoid the misunderstanding and we will pay more attention to this area.

Power extension is available upon request and our housekeeping team will be happy to assist. If in any case a room change is required, our 24-hour on duty Guest Services Manager will be able to arrange under possible circumstances. As for breakfast, we provide a number of western and Chinese breakfast items including hot dish and cold cut. For Internet, we have both wired and wireless internet connection in the guest room and we would say wired internet to certain extent is more stable and speedier. In case of enquiry, our professional IT manager will be able to look into the matter for you.

After all, thank you for your compliments on our breakfast staff and room attendants. Indeed our location is convenient for both business and leisure travelers and we provide daily free shuttle to drop off guests to various landmarks on the island. We hope to welcome you back again soon at either Cosmo or Cosmopolitan (our sister hotel)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Of all the hotels in Hong Kong we chose to stay in this one - why - mainly due to budget - for which Cosmo delivered, but would I recommend for more than a one night stop-over I'm not sure.
The position of the hotel (once we'd got our bearings) was perfect, as others have said, away from the hustle and bussle of the centre. The cleanliness couldn;t be faulted (you'll notice from my other reviews, cleanliness is a priority for Mrs Chris R200 and myself. I've seen the hotel described as "boutique" - I think quirky is better fitting!

Our room was small, it had very little wardrobe space, the bathroom could have done with an update, but the shower was good.
Breakfast was a mixed bag, would I pay for breakfast if I stayed again? Possibly not, I would have expected the HK Chinese to have "got" the idea of breakfast, but some of the buffet offerings were just not to the European taste.

"Jon" was one of the best concierge I've come across in my travels, I recommend you tap into his extensive knowledge - I certainly did as H was only a three night stop over to our main trip (NZ) and I'd really not done a lot of work on investigating what to see / what to do in HK, he was a life saver!

Reception could be a bit like Kings Cross at 8:30, but hey, expect it, plan for it and it makes little or no difference. Would we stay there again? Not really sure - maybe, to visit the Cosmoplotan's fantastic Chinese restaurant!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for wiritng about us. Cosmo Hotel offers value for money accommodation and it’s located in just a 8 min walk from centre of Causeway Bay and Wan Chai. For guest convenience, free shuttle service that operates daily drop off guests in various destinations at Causeway Bay, Wan Chai, Admiralty, Central and Quarry Bay – one of our favourite complimentary services. We are happy to learn that our cleanling service is up to your standard, and hope it would go beyond. Cosmo provides 7 different room types for selection and the largest room size features a spacious 83 sq. m. so next time on your return you can try our other room types. For breakfast service, different food items e.g. hot dish and cold cut, chinese dim sum and western delicacies are included for enjoyment.

Your special compliments to Jon are well received and he wishes to thank you too. Our Concierge team is more than happy to provide information on Hong Kong and places to visit. We welcome any enquiry during or even before the stay. Cosmopoliatn Hotel is our sister hotel which is just 20 steps away housed with a Sichuan restaurant. Both of us welcome you anytime of the year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.375-377 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#104 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Booking this hotel online to enjoy 100Mbps Free WiFi in-room, flexible 24-hour check-in time and a full 24-hour stay! (For hotel official site booking only). A boutique hotel in downtown Causeway Bay and Wan Chai, close to Causeway Bay metro station (8-min walking distance). Free shuttle bus to 15 locations on the Hong Kong island. This young and chic Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong is 100% smoke-free,and dedicates to sustainability as represented by its Green Globe Certified Hotel status and obtaining EarthCheck's Bronze Benchmarked Status. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmo Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmo Hotel
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.