We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to building site & very hard beds!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18-24 King's Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Tin Hau)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 645 hotels in Hong Kong
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Next to building site & very hard beds!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I booked this hotel for its convenient location for the British Lions game in Hong Kong, however on arrival we found that it was overlooking a building site that started work at 7am. The rooms are very small & the beds are rock hard, the bar doesn't open until 4pm. I wouldn't even bother trying the breakfast it was warm to be generous. On the plus its very close to the tube.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    215
    94
    16
    11
See reviews for
72
93
43
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have been to Hong Kong 5 times in the past 6 years and I have stayed at this hotel twice, the latest being in June 2013. It's pretty easy to get to the hotel. Take the airport express to Hong Kong Central Station, then board the Island Blue Line and alight at Tin Hau MTR station, which is 4 stops away or a 15 minutes ride. Hotel is just across the road from the station exit. Another plus - Tin Hau is not a sleazy area, so its good for a family. Hotel is fairly new and clean. The biggest PLUS is the rooms are "big" at 24 sqm (260 sqft) as compared to other hotels of the same price ( about USD$140 a night with breakfast thrown in when I was there in June 2013. Do check out the deals on trip advisor). Hotel staff is very helpful and pleasant. The only down side is there is no WIFI in the rooms. You need to plug into their LAN to gain access. It's HKD50 for 3 hours and I think it's HKD80 for 24 hours or HKD300 for a month. Alternatively, they have free WIFI access at their hotel Lobby. If you have a notebook or a smartphone, then you are good. They do have 2 PCs at the lobby too for hotel guests. Before I forget, most rooms don't face the noisy King's Road. This is important for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were in Hong Kong for free and easy trip and a friend was also there for business trip and stay in L'Hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View... Nice hotel, good location, convenient to shopping centre but no free WiFi in room. Room is clean and tidy. This hotel is located about 5 minute walk to Tian Hou MTR, and next stop to Causeway Bay station.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

It is a good hotel, like many said, it is near the MRT Tin Hau. I like the area as there are many desert stores nearby. Experience of my stay is good and there is nothing to complain. Maybe two things. The bed is abit hard and it will be great if they provide free wifi to the room and not just the lobby :) The hotel breakfast spread is decent

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Being across the road from the MRT was the best thing about staying here. You always have to travel somewhere once you've walked the nearby attractions anyway so although the hotel is a bit away from action it's not a problem. Staff were helpful. Beds are hard however we did sleep well so I guess that might be a plus. Breakfast spread was great. There is a great little Chinese restaurant across the lane from the entrance. Very cheap for great food and a beer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up with a sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Location: Next to Tin Hau metro
Bed: Hard
Breakfast: Monotonous
Staff: Very Courteous
WiFi: Free in the lobby. Quite good for self gadgets, but very poo
Gym + Swimming Pool: An apology
Restaurants: Plenty in the side street on opposite foot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The fact that the hotel is across the street from the Tin Hau MTR stop is the best thing about it. I could take the subway from Central to the hotel, drop off a bag and go back to Central in 25 minutes.

The size of the room is perfect and the view of the harbor was a nice bonus. However, everything in the room was just a bit off. The safe didn't work. The beds were hard. The stone counter in the bathroom has been chipped a dozen times. The remote for the TV didn't quite work well. There was no alarm clock. The toilet rocked back and forth. None of it was going to ruin the stay but together, it felt cheap like a piece of imitation Ikea furniture.

Did I mention it had no wifi in the room? Yeah, that was a downer. The lobby is the only place with wifi so watching all the residents Facetime their families was entertaining. And there was a gentleman from mainland China who really wanted to download porn files onto his thumb drive while a bunch of us were waiting to use the lobby computers. It was 8:30 am. What are you doing downloading porn? Was it a medical emergency?

And the computers were slow as hell.

The staff was average. There were a few who were eager to help but a number of them provided less than pleasant services. The breakfast spread was great and being able to eat with a view of the streets below was a treat.

One final point that I hesitate to bring up. I think my bed had bed bugs. I was covered with tiny little bites after 2 nights. I stripped the bed but couldn't find anything there. So I could be wrong but I think it would have been hard for a mosquito to bite my behind through my jeans.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong

Address: No.18-24 King's Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tin Hau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#81 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#102 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao and Hotels.com so you can book your L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.