We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong to your Saves list
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18-24 King's Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Tin Hau)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 690 Hotels in Hong Kong
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located oposite of Tin Hau subway station.
Every taxi driver knew the Hotel if you told him "El hotel Tin Hau".

The hotel is located in a rather local environment on HK island. Tin Hau is right next to Causeway Bay where you can find a lot of shops and restaurants.

The hotel is ok, the rooms are not too small but cleaning of the bathroom could be a bit better.

I liked that they provide two bottles of free water to the room per day, as the HK tap water is not really for drinking.

Internet comes wired at a cost but it's not too expensive compared to other cities around the world.

Breakfast was buffet style with a mix of Chinese and Western foods. In general it was quite ok, but I miss an espresso machine. The coffee provided is only filter coffee which could be stronger and richer in taste.

Overall our stay was good and the staff were very nice and efficient.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    239
    97
    18
    11
See reviews for
83
100
48
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We took the a11 bus (HK$40) from the airport to the hotel, got off at Stop # 16 Hing Fat Street. and less than 10 min walk to the hotel .Actually it is cheaper and closer to the hotel to take the e11 (HK$22) to Tin Hau Bus Terminus which is right across the street from the hotel. Both bus have language hold area but a11 had wifi on board. Bought an octopus card at the airport just outside the language pick up area.

Tram stop and the Tin Hau subway station are across the road from the hotel, so very convenient.

Our room was on 23rd floor. We had a view of the harbour. Adequate room siize. Beds were hard but ok for us. Breakfast was included and adequate. We stayed 5 nights and got tired of eating the same breakfast every morning. Next time will consider booking without breakfast, lots of restaurants close by to get breakfast.

Wifi only available at the lobby with few seats and always full of people at the end of day. In the morning, if you have breakfast (1st floor) at tables close to the stairs to the lobby you can get your email with your coffee.

Room Tip: Quieter on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here back in Oct and chose it for its location: 2 min walk to the airport bus shuttle; x street fr MTR and short walk to tram and to Victoria Park. Also lots of little restaurants, desert cafes walking distance around King's Road eg excellent ramen place within 10 min walk (can't remember name). The only nit is that the room did have a funny smell (coming from bathroom), but it could've been just our room, also not all the staff was that friendly, some seemed even a bit snobby.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the L'Hotel Causeway Bay Harbour view over the Hong Kong 7's. The hotel is located in a great area, with lots of options relatively close by for meal times. It is also located close enough to Hong Kong Stadium for an easy walk. The rooms are spacious, the service is fantastic, and the breakfast is great. This was my fourth stay in Hong Kong for the 7's yet my first stay at the L'Hotel. I will certainly stay here again, as you spend so little time in your room any way, it's pointless to spend so much more at somewhere like the Cosmopolitan.

Room Tip: Go for the Harbourview rooms. A view is always better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the Hong Kong Sevens. The location for this was perfect with the MTR stop just accross the road. The staff were very helpful and always smiling. We have a room on 37th floor with a view of the bay. The rooms was clean, comforable and was nice and modern and bright.

Breakfast had a good range and type of foods and the basement bar was fun but lacked a crowd.

The only issue was the lack of WiFi and when in the lobby (where there was WiFi) getting online things were a little slow.

But all in all if I ever came back for the Rugby I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Always try to book a higher floor with the view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

L'hotel Causeway Bay is conveniently located just opposite the Tin Hau MTR station that makes it easier to travel around the city. On the downside, the unfriendly behavior of the staff is a major put off. We were made to wait for more than 3 hours before check-in. We were traveling with a small kid and our requests for early check-in were not entertained.

The rooms are small but comfortable and ensure a good night's sleep. We stayed for 5 days and we were literally bored seeing the same breakfast spread every day. There was no change in menu, no dish of the day and no additions. The taste was simply average and the spread did not match the standards of a 4 star hotel.

The swimming pool was closed for maintenance. No Wi-Fi in room which was little odd for a business hotel. Wi-Fi was available in the lobby that had the most uncomfortable seating arrangement.

Finally, there's nothing much in this hotel and the only thing that prompted me to rate "very good" was the location. L'Hotel Causeway Bay is strictly OK for those who do not wish to spend much time inside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed there 5 nights. With 2 kids and a senior with us, we asked for 2 connecting rooms. Thank God they gave that to us. Some people complained about the firm bed, but we love the firm beds. Firm bed is suppose to be good for your back. The rooms are OK, the bath tubs are narrow types. One of the shower wasn't working correctly, every time we turned on the faucet the shower comes on and can not turn the shower off.
The breakfast buffet got a good variety. The hotel gave each room only 1 breakfast. There are 5 of us and only 2 breakfast. I guessed, they were hoping that if they give us 2 breakfast, the other 3 people would pay to eat there too. I think it cost about 89 or 98HKD for the buffet breakfast. They said it was 130HKD before. One of our daughters doesn't eat that much, maybe a couple of bite and a glass of milk, so the 3 of us went across the street to eat breakfast.
Across the street, about 25 feet from the hotel there's a small restaurant that serves Western breakfast and Chinese breakfast. The Western breakfast cost 27HKD and the Chinese breakfast is 35HKD. The Chinese breakfast consist of a bowl of congee and Shrimp, Beef, or BBQ meat roll. Across the other side of the street, about 70 feet away there is a Royal Legend Restaurant that has nice dim sum breakfast. There are many other restaurants and shops around the hotel.
The hotel is very convenient. The Bus stops and Tin Hau MTR station is very close by. The A11 Bus to the Airport, and the MTR station is just across the street diagonally, about 70 feet away. The only thing was, the Check In/Check Out staffs and door men don't smile or talk much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong

Address: No.18-24 King's Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tin Hau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#82 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#99 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.