We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With so many great places to stay in HK, why stay here?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong to your Saves list
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18-24 King's Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Tin Hau)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Shanghai, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“With so many great places to stay in HK, why stay here?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

With a rude and condescending night manager and a room with threadbare towels and paper slippers, I found little about this place to be redeeming. The view and location are the only pluses I can find to turn this to mediocre, but certainly not worthy of a 4 star rating.

The Saturday morning breakfast, scheduled to end at 10:30 was being packed up at 9:45, with no replacements. At least 4 families came in and were scrambling to get the last of the watermelon and bacon. The eggs were long gone before we even got downstairs. The cellophane wrapped Kraft American cheese singles, however, so befitting of a 4 star international hotel, were available in abundance. There were no bathrobes (available throughout every hotel in Asia, regardless of star) in the rooms and no spare pillows to be found.

The hotel is an efficiency one at best; please don't assume it with 4 star quality.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    251
    112
    18
    14
See reviews for
91
106
50
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked a standard king room, but was upgraded to a two room suite. Not sure how we managed the free upgrade but it was nice. We stayed for only one night, so perhaps all the multiple night standard rooms were booked up or they wanted to keep them for other guests.

Locating the hotel was easy, we took the Airport Express train from the airport and transfered at Hong Kong station, and onwards to the Island Line and got off at Tin Hau station Exit A2.
Of course there was a bit of a walk transferring between the different subway/train lines, but that was expected.

Once we got to the Tin Hau MTR station, we proceeded to look for which exit the L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View was located, and they had a entry on the helpful exit signs. It indicated to go to Exit A2 to get to the hotel. Once we got to the street level there's a traffic light for pedestrian crossing. Cross the street, then walk north about 15 metres, and the entrance to the hotel awaits you. Once I got to the hotel, the bellman immediately helped me with my luggage and opened the door for me. At this point I proceeded to the check-in formalities which went by without any issues. Once my room key was provided, I walked with the bellman to the elevator and he showed us up to our room. Once at our room, I was shocked at how large the room was. There was a hallway leading up to the living room that had it's own washroom/rainfall shower, and in the room next to it was our king sized bed, along with another bathroom with a rainfall shower, and a bathtub overlooking the bed. Each room had it's own LCD TV. They included a ethernet cable for Internet but you have to pay for Internet. Along with a power plug adapter if you forgot to bring one to fit your overseas electronics.

We had a nice quiet sleep, and the bed was comfortable. One small issue I saw was the cleanliness of the washroom. Just small details seemed a bit dirty or perhaps watermarks around the shower area, toilet areas and sink. I also noticed that the date on the body lotion and conditioner were two years old. I'm not sure if the date was the expiry date or the production date, but even if the date was the production date, a two year old conditioner or lotion can't be too good for the body.

Other then that no other issues were encountered with the stay. Checking out was a breeze, and there were no surprise charged on my bill. A great stay, and a excellent room. Make sure to get the XX03 rooms these are the corner units that are suites!

Room Tip: Get the ##03 rooms, as these are the corner suite units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a great suite on the 33rd floor with a fantastic view and wonderful accommodation. The manager was particularly helpful and we enjoyed our stay there very much. It is very convenient to Tin Hau station, trams, Victoria Park and just a short walk to downtown shopping.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

L'Hotel is conveniently located in Causeway Bay directly across from the Tin Hau MTR station (for those of you inclined to use mass transportation). Some of the upper level rooms have nice views of the harbor. For the price, it is a real deal. Decent sized rooms, clean, outdoor pool (closed some times during the year), small but functional gym. Breakfast buffet presents a broad spread but quality of food is marginal at best. Rooms have broadband connection making it suitable for business trips and wi-fi is available in the lobby area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. Not sure if there is an extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

we staying at suite room at floor 21, got perfect view from our room.
location perfect.....

in front of Tin Hau (exit A1) MTR station, easy to access.

can take trem, bus or mtr to times square and jardine night market..

but swimming pool (on floor 39) very small, but with spectacular view especially at night.

breakfast, lunch, dinner can take outside hotel, there are plenty nice restaurants

Room Tip: higher room will be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were a group of 8 rooms. The room was small and really run down. This is their standard room. After speaking to the manager who was nice, They move me to a deluxe but a twin bed instead of a king. The bed is very hard and floor was dusty . The tub is very small and hard even to stand. The overall experience was very poor. it was not only me but all my colleagues felt the same. We would never come back here !!!! I have stayed in cheap rooms but poor bed, bathroom does it all.

Room Tip: If you end up at this hotel, stay only in the higher floors,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with my 2 young kids n hub and were delighted to find that we had a suite! We were shocked when the door man opened the door as we thought we would be getting a conventional size room. It was a very pleasant surprise.

The suite has 2 bathrooms (main bathroom had a rainforest shower), an open bathtub (the kids absolutely adored it and wanted to go back to the hotel whenever we went out). There was alot of space to run around and two tvs to keep the kids entertained.

The room had huge windows which offered spectacular views of the surroundings n the harbour.

Just across the hotel lobby was the tin hau mtr station. We also tried the tram as it was running past the hotel and tram stops were conveniently situated near the hotel. It takes 4 tram stops to get to causeway bay SOGO. Quick n efficient without having to go the many flight of steps at the mtr stations.

Food wise not an issue with local cafes and eateries just downstairs. There's a 24 hr mcdonald's, Starbucks, Watsons n mannings pharmacy n wellcome supermarket.

Worth recommending!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong

Address: No.18-24 King's Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tin Hau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#91 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#105 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.