We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in ideal location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanson Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Lanson Place Hotel to your Saves list
Lanson Place Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.133 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Causeway Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Festive Celebration
Ranked #25 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 767 Reviews
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in ideal location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very modern hotel in the heart of the shopping area. Staff were super helpful and efficient. Room was exceptionally comfortable and serviced to the highest standard. Note there is no restaurant as such and there is not a conventional bar tho drinks are available. There is an abundance of bars, coffee shops and restaurants in all the surrounding streets. Buses, trams and the MTR subway are five minutes or less away.

Room Tip: Just ask, the staff can't do enough to help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    261
    42
    11
    3
See reviews for
125
259
65
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Goods:
-Free use of a cell phone with data which is extremely helpful. Can also dial free long distance to US/Canada, Singapore, China, Australia and UK. Any contact info could be erased with a touch of a button
-Room has two adapters for plug-ins by North American equipments
-Free western movies- lots of them, so the guys can stay at hotel while wives go shopping
-Well-equipped kitchenette with quality cutlery
-Complimentary snacks such as cookies and chips (one time only) and water

The Bads:
-Internet connection: while internet is free, it allows you only one or two connections per room. In time of everyone one having cell phones, tablets and computers, there was a constant fight and re-logging on
-Breakfast: They charge HK$200 (US$28) per person. Don't take it. There are lots of restaurants close by. If you wants western breakfast such as omelette and French toast, try the Café One by Ikea, 3 blocks north next to Park Lane hotel. Chinese breakfast would be along Jardine’s Bazaar
-Taxi: It is located on the corner of two one-way streets. Getting a taxi during rush hour is impossible. You have a better chance going to the taxi stand at the Regal Hotel that is just behind (north) the Lanson. At Regal, they have a staff out on the road constantly flagging in taxi and would flag one down before it gets to Lanson
-Taxi: The hotel used to be an office building and yet to have a Chinese name. The sign is nothing more than a small plaque on the wall. Many taxi drivers would not know the hotel unless you give them the complete address and direction. Better to tell them it is behind the Regal or opposite to St Paul’s Kindergarten
-Bathroom: Bathroom and bedroom are separated by frosted glass that give some privacy but light up everything if someone turns on the light at night. The sliding glass door keeps on slamming into the marble hand sink and it is just a matter of time before the door will break

The Ugly.
The view. They have floor to ceiling windows but no good view unless you like looking at buildings and roof tops. Chose a higher floor to get away from the traffic noise

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lanson Place is an excellent hotel. Having stayed there twice, I can honestly say that nothing is ever too much for the excellent staff - who all work diligently to make sure that your stay is a pleasant one.

The location is superb - close to shops, excellent eateries and transport links. Rather than take the MTR, I always try to use the trams and boats because... well, because it's just more fun... but whatever mode of transport you choose to get around Hong Kong, the experience is always safe and efficient.

The hotel itself is lovely. The rooms are not too small (a major consideration in Hong Kong) and are beautifully appointed. Everything is clean and the hotel exudes an atmosphere of sophistication and charm.

I really enjoy my trips to Hong Kong when staying at the Lanson Place. Next time you travel there, choose this lovely haven in Causeway Bay. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A really good hotel - well place for transport, shopping in Causeway Bay, Happy Valley Races and only a few Metro stops from other great areas.

The service at Lanson place is impeccable - reception answers the 'phone quickly and sorts any problems. There was one small issue on my bill which the manager resolved to my satisfaction on checkout.

We were lent a 'Handyphone', included in the price of the room, which was great - free local and international calls, free internet, free maps. Really useful for a traveller in a foreign city who's phone service company had basically told me to switch the service off before coming.

The rooms are not huge, but this is Hong Kong, and we felt our (Superior) room was more than adequate. They had certainly made the most of the space!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Whenever I'm in Hong Kong, Lanson Place Hotel is always the choice. It's cozy, and the location is just perfect. My recent trip to HK was just a day, and I arrived late at night. The check in was a breeze, and the counter staff was efficient and friendly at the same time. Wifi was fast. Rooms not too small, not too big. Good TV channels (although I never had time to enjoy the movies). Breakfast was just next to the reception, easy for check out process once breakfast was done. It's also near the train station, so going places wasn't a problem at all. Yup, I'll be back again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is situated among hip new eateries and is very close to various food options. However, I will not say it is conveniently located as it is too far a trek from the nearest MTR station. The hotel is not well maintained and does not have the "clean" feeling (in terms of hygiene) that good hotels have. It feels grubby and dirty. However, the worst part of the hotel is really the poor service. Some of the doormen/concierge on the ground floor were unprofessional (one shouted out "double cheeseburger" to his colleague when he pulled the door open), and when I asked a male receptionist to write down the name and address of my destination in Chinese so I could show it to the cab driver, he simply wrote down the name of the AREA (no building name or address). When I reminded him that I wish to show this to the cab driver, he replied stubbornly that the cab driver will know where to go (?!) Needless to say, he was absolutely unhelpful. Such unprofessional service in a supposedly good hotel is really quite unacceptable.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 nights.

We got upgraded to the suite for a small fee - but it was absolutely worth it. We had full access to the lounge for breakfast, snacks and alcoholic beverages in the evening till midnight.

The room had a small living area which was perfect as we were travelling with small kids. They converted the sofa to a bed for the little one. There was a small kitchenette with full amenities if you even wanted to do some light cooking.

The location is perfect as it was just 5 mins walk to the mtr and many shopping malls around the area. After a long day out and about, it is wonderful to step into such a peaceful and serene establishment.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lanson Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanson Place Hotel

Address: No.133 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanson Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanson Place luxury hotel in Hong Kong combines elegance, style and convenience in equal measure. The boutique hotel of 194 rooms, each with a kitchenette, and penthouse suites, is tucked discreetly in Hong Kong’s thriving Causeway Bay entertainment and shopping hub. A member of “Small Luxury Hotels of the World”, the Hotel is a haven from the modern metropolis outside with an elegant lounge and cocktail bar, exercise room and full business services. The concierge services are unrivalled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Lanson Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanson Place Hong Kong
Hotel Lanson Place
Lanson Hotel Hong Kong
Lanson Place Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanson Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.