We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location on Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanson Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lanson Place Hotel to your Saves list
Lanson Place Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.133 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai / Causeway Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 25% or More
Ranked #24 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Perfect location on Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

About 5-10mins walk from Times Square / Sogo and the rest of CWB ground zero, yet it's not in the middle of the madding crowd. Located behind Regal Hotel at the corner with the Indonesian consulate opposite, but with access to ample local eating hounds. My fave is a Japanese dessert shop just across the road Via Tokyo, yummy! The apartment is well equipped , with a mini kitchenette and a proper living area which is a rare on Hk island. Very nice comfortable bed and nice touch of the welcome basket :) worth the higher end price paid.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    290
    46
    11
    3
See reviews for
141
277
68
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stopped in Hong Kong for a few days travelling between London & Auckland, NZ. This was our first trip to HK & we chose this hotel as it featured in Boutique Hotels of the World, had some good reviews, and was known to an airline friend of mine.

On check-in we decided to accept one of the hotel's upgrade packages which included a bigger room, breakfast daily, evening drinks & canapes and a discount on our limousine transfer back to the airport.

Our room was very comfortable and looked over the park & an apartment construction site (we didn't hear any noise from this site, perhaps a couple of blocks away). The staff were all very friendly. There was a good selection of food at breakfast, however the drinks and canapes in the evening were fairly limited in quantity & choice... probably why this evening event was never well frequented during our stay. Then again, there are plenty of other places to go in HK of an evening.

I gather the hotel is located in the old red light area, not that one would know that. We spent most of our limited time in HK around Central. Getting around is fairly easy to do on the MTR (walked between Wan Chai & Central one day, but too hot!!).

Our flight home was booked for the evening of the Sept 2013 super typhoon, so was cancelled. As this was predicted to be one of the worst to hit HK we were happy enough when the airline offered us a flight home a day early. There was no pro-active action taken by the hotel in relation to calming worried international guests (& there were some - we heard them at reception) who weren't used to super typhoons. The impression I was getting from the front desk staff was that they wouldn't really know what to do either. This was in part why I was happy to leave a day early despite losing the cost of a nights accommodation. I think if the hotel had come out and told us all what to expect (as much as one ever can in such a situation), and what we should do should the worst happen, we may had felt comfortable staying through it - and in fact the hotel would have got an extra couple of nights accommodation from us as the airline had told us there would be at least 2 days delay getting us home if we didn't go early.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, England
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This was our first visit to Hong Kong and we found The Lanson Place to be ideal. Our room was a bit on the small side (as are most hotel rooms in HK so I'm told) but the bathroom was a good size. There was also a tiny kitchenette area which we didn't use apart from making coffee. Breakfast was pretty good - a reasonable selection of mainly Western stuff with eggs made to order, and as previously described the location is excellent. We paid extra for an "Executive Package" which although probably not justified on a bean-counting basis suited us very well. The package included WiFi and breakfast plus access to the lounge area with coffee/tea produced on request all day, and drinks & dim sum in the evening. All the staff we encountered were friendly (including the ladies on reception).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

While you are on business look no further than the Lanson Place Hotel in Hong Kong. After all, you would spend more time at your business meetings and probably most of your dining would be outside. The accommodation is excellent with a kitchenette and out of the world business services and gym facilities. But there is a lurking feeling that we are in a serviced apartment rather than a hotel (there is hardly a driveway). But then, that would be an advantage for getting your unfinished work done without distractions. For distractions, we are bang in the quieter part of Causeway Bay and very near to all the gorgeous eateries and shopping outside close to Sogo and Times Square. The MTR underground station is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Rugby fans plan your trip in March and stay in this hotel to enjoy your matches that much better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Whenever I come to Hong Kong on a personal trip, I would definitely stay at Lanson. I was a big Lanson fan. I have stayed at Lanson at least thrice in the past few years, when Anson was the manager there. Believe that he has since moved to the Lanson in KL, and there's a new manager at Lanson. Call me sensitive but staff morale seems negatively affected. While service standards weren't appalling (service standards varied depending on who you interacted with), Lanson doesn't quite feel the same.

The good stuff first. Location of Lanson is good, close to Jardine's Bazaar, Sogo, Island Beverly La Foret, and the Causeway Bay MTR, walking distance to Times Square. Be sure to check out Mak's Noodles at Leighton Road (moved from Jardine's Bazaar). I was in Causeway Bay a few days ago, and boy was it crowded. Might want to think twice about staying there on a weekend in December. Bellboys/concierge was very helpful as usual, but as mentioned above, they seemed to lack the enthusiasm that they used to have in the past.

The not so good stuff. The check-in counter ladies were generally sullen, especially a lady called Agnes. I remember her name because she checked us in and out both times (we stayed for 2 nights, skipped off to macau in between, and went back for another 2 nights), she looked really unhappy, and the sullen service provided was quite a mood dampener. She made us feel like we should apologise for being in her presence. We don't expect anyone to break out the champagne or anything, but there's no need to make hotel guests feel like they shouldn't be there.
The room was clean, but the first 2 nights were spent in room 806 which had a bad layout (tiny closet which was blocked by the bedside table, and tiny toilet). We didn't find the beds that comfortable this time around. Time to change the mattresses. If they were just changed, think procurement/hotel management made a bad decision with the mattresses.

Will think twice about staying at Lanson again. Might try the new hotels like Pennington Hotel nearby next time.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 806 as the room layout is bad (tiny closet and tiny toilet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Just came back from this hotel and I never want to stay there again !

First of all, if your hotel can't open the window, please don't have kitchen inside of room. We smell someone cook in the early morning, cooking smell pervade all our room and wake me up.

Then, the hotel stuff give us a new room. Become someone smoke, air is full of cigarette smoking.After complain, they just call and say they ask that man stop smoking. Stuff didn't do anything to help us get rid of smell.

Yes! Cooking smell came again in next morning. We already change to another level. God! I really had it enough.

I don't know what's going on there. Why should I spend my money in this kind of hotel ?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We spent two fantastic weeks in HK over Christmas and New Year. Lanson Place is really one of the best hotels you can chose for such a stay. Impeccable service, excellent jazz venues, fantastic breakfast and nice surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lanson Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanson Place Hotel

Address: No.133 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanson Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanson Place luxury hotel in Hong Kong combines elegance, style and convenience in equal measure. The boutique hotel of 194 rooms, each with a kitchenette, and penthouse suites, is tucked discreetly in Hong Kong’s thriving Causeway Bay entertainment and shopping hub. A member of “Small Luxury Hotels of the World”, the Hotel is a haven from the modern metropolis outside with an elegant lounge and cocktail bar, exercise room and full business services. The concierge services are unrivalled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Lanson Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanson Place Hong Kong
Hotel Lanson Place
Lanson Hotel Hong Kong
Lanson Place Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanson Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.