We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but in need of some upgrading” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lanson Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Lanson Place Hotel to your Saves list
Lanson Place Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.133 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Causeway Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Limited offer & Save 25%
Ranked #25 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good but in need of some upgrading”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have always stayed at the Lanson but my last visit was 2 or 3 years ago. It is still a great hotel with sizable rooms, especially if you can have the L shaped ones. It is all very modern and sleek! Service is impeccable right from the doormen to the front desk. Everyone is professional and client oriented. My slight disappointment is that management seems to have been lax in its upkeep and maintenance. This time round, I noticed that the rooms seems a little tired. Perhaps, some investments will spruce things up.

Room Tip: Get the L-shaped rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    261
    42
    11
    3
See reviews for
125
258
65
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney traveller
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Lanson Place is an unusual hotel, in that it appears and presents as a 5 star, but the rooms are self-contained with small but functional kitchenettes. As to the rooms themselves,more like suites and quite large by HK standards. Causeway Bay is a vibrant area, 3 MTR stops from Central.
The experience was first class in every respect.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My entire experience with Lanson Place Hotel has been world-class, from my initial phone reservation, pre-arrival confirmation e-mails, through check-out.

The hotel staff sent a few confirmation e-mails prior to my arrival re-confirming my stay along with confirming for any airport transportation to the hotel.

Upon arrival, the doorman quickly came to the door to assist with my luggage. The check-in counter was very professional. They upgraded my Deluxe Twin room to a Prestige Suite on the 20th floor. The bellhop also insisted on taking my luggage into my room.

The room was modern, spacious and well-insulated from the outside noise. The elevator and rooms next door could be heard in the distance.

The bed was very comfortable with luxury bed linens that were changed daily.

The bathroom was excellent with good water pressure and a hand-held shower head. The only drawback is that the sink had low water pressure and took a while to get warm water. The towels were very thick and good quality.

The fully-stocked kitchenette along with the welcome basket and daily refill of 2 bottles of water was a nice touch.

The hotel is tucked right behind Regal Causeway Bay and is a ~5-10 minute walk to the Causeway Bay MTR station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Getting a spacious hotel room in Hong Kong isn't easy. Getting one in a great location and which is affordable, is near impossible.

We recommend Lanson Place. We stayed here for nearly a week in November. The service is lovely. The room is well laid out (recommend the Grand Luxe as it comes with a lounge area and kitchenette).

This hotel is in a great location near all the shopping at Causeway Bay - so you won't need a taxi. But if you do need a taxi, the concierge guys will be right there to make that happen and will make sure your driver knows exactly where to take you.

Good restaurants in this area too. The room service menu is handy if you're tired or if it's raining, I'd recommend the meatballs and the chocolate brownie.

Room Tip: Grand Luxe has lounge area and kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I first stayed at Lanson Place five years ago and had such a good experience, decided to stay here again during a short trip to HK. The place still looks good and the service top notch.

Whilst it is not exactly next to the subway and is a little off the main Causeway Bay area, it is still a comfortable 5 - 8 mins walk to the Causeway Bay MTR as well as shopping and food places. It is quite nice and quiet at night. If you are taking a taxi, make sure you bring along the paper key card holder with the map of the hotel. The drop off point for taxis is not on Leighton Road, but on a smaller side street (Keswick I think). The helpful guys at Concierge will help you hail a taxi and tell the driver where you wish to go, if you cannot speak Cantonese.

The standard rooms are a little larger than most HK hotels, which are usually extremely small. The bed was comfy, the TV offered lots of channels including English movie and news channels, and the bathroom was excellent with great toiletries. There is a small kitchenette with hot plate, microwave, sink, crockery and cutlery. They also provide water and as a welcome gift on your first day, a box of traditional HK cookies which are yummy and two bottles of fresh juice. Loads of cupboard and shelf space, which is great if you love to unpack.

Overall, it was a great second stay at the Lanson Place. I usually stay at the Conrad when I come to HK on work trips as that's my corporate hotel. But if I had a choice, I'd stay at Lanson Place. BTW, they offer a free shuttle to the Central/Admiralty area on work days too if you wish to stay here on a work trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here recently, rooms deco was quite nice, french inspired. Lobby very well presented, with attentive well mannered bell hops and receptionist. One issue tho, there was this funny smell in my room from the first day I moved in. Rm 2209. Sort of a wanton soup smell, please check that out... And oh yes, the beds are a bit small, and it's not that comfortable. I am a great fan of SLH hotels, i have stayed in many of them, comparatively, this hotel is lacking. Sorry.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a week as I was in HK for a wedding. First off, the room is tiny... My room's king-sized bed turned out to be just a double bed. Unless you take the deluxe twin single beds where u have a sitting room area. I've been to many SLH hotels and expected a certain standard. Unfortunately this hotel falls short - the walls are very thin and you can hear your neighbours very clearly - including doors slamming. Our room also had this unexplainable smell of wonton mee throughout our entire stay! And there wasn't any restaurant in the hotel. While the location is somewhat central - about a 8 min walk from Causeway Bay station, it can be a challenge when you're cabbing back to your hotel. Almost all taxi drivers will give you a blank stare when you tell them Leighton Rd. Also beware: there's apparently a leighton road in kowloon too so make sure you tell the cabbie its on HK island; otherwise you'll get an earful. Other than these, its a liveable functional hotel that will meet your basic needs. Hotel staff are generally courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lanson Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanson Place Hotel

Address: No.133 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#22 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanson Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanson Place luxury hotel in Hong Kong combines elegance, style and convenience in equal measure. The boutique hotel of 194 rooms, each with a kitchenette, and penthouse suites, is tucked discreetly in Hong Kong’s thriving Causeway Bay entertainment and shopping hub. A member of “Small Luxury Hotels of the World”, the Hotel is a haven from the modern metropolis outside with an elegant lounge and cocktail bar, exercise room and full business services. The concierge services are unrivalled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, T4B, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Lanson Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanson Place Hong Kong
Hotel Lanson Place
Lanson Hotel Hong Kong
Lanson Place Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanson Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.