We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanson Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Save
You added Lanson Place Hotel to your Saves list
Lanson Place Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.133 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Causeway Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Festive Celebration
Ranked #24 of 690 Hotels in Hong Kong
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I only stayed for one night this trip, but almost wished that the trip was longer because the hotel was so nice! Very centrally located, and the rooms are great. There's a welcome basket with cookies and fruit juice and theres a hob a microwave in case you want to do some cooking of your own. The room had a little separate sitting area, which was nice. The bed was very comfy. I loved the toiletries provided as well. Will definitely come back here the next time I come to Hong Kong!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    259
    41
    11
    3
See reviews for
122
255
65
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have stayed here on two separate occasions and we left each time feeling like we should have stayed longer. The hotel is located in Causeway Bay, which is a great neighbourhood to soak up the best of HK: shopping and food. Also, we have always preferred staying on HK Island over Kowloon as it is less hectic on this side. It is a stone's throw away from the MTR station, which was really convenient since much of what to do in HK is located along the MTR lines. There was nothing we could fault with the room. Whilst it wasn't spacious, it was of a decent size (taking into consideration that rooms are traditionally pint sized in HK). The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean and we also enjoyed the complimentary pastries which they had thoughtfully left in the room as a welcome gesture. We will most definitely return again when we are next in HK on business.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This Hotel is classy, you can tell by the room, its amenities,and its features that it is classy. The checking in was a bit slow, as there were few staff. The concierge was great and helpful, especially since there is not many taxi waiting as it has no driveway to hotel. Bed is great with microwave and induction cooker available in mini kitchen. The room is like a mini suite, bot that big though. The hotel is close to shopping area, but there are few stores near the surroundings, takes about 5 minute walk. Breakfast was inclusive, but simple as compared other hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This review is just long due. Lanson Place hotel has served as an excellent base for me during quick business trips to Hong Kong over the years. I love the location in a posh, peaceful neighborhood, steps away from fabulous shopping and great local places for quick bites. I really appreciate the sincere and discreet service.

It is a true small luxury hotel, quiet elegance away from the pomp and circumstance of over the top Hong Kong.
Top notch service on all levels, always a smooth experience. Love the new free movies channel!

Lanson Place just keeps getting better, kudos to the team!

Room Tip: high floor, renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel is difficult for taxis to easily locate so get some good local landmarks ahead of time. The hotel has a handy card that it gives guests to show to taxi drivers; it should include this on its web site for guests to print out before arriving. Breakfast in the lounge is calm and delicious; scrambled eggs are memorable all these months later. The rooms are original in design and functional for a bit of self-catering. In a quiet area for sleep, yet steps from everything. Short walk to Times Square, for example. Self-service guest laundry is just right for catching up on the clothes-washing without spending huge sums per pair of undershorts--even if your expense account can take it. Finish-laundry service (e.g., dress shirts) is excellent. Well-trained staff from front desk to housekeeper you meet on the floor. A nice, original property. The only thing that is odd is that the Small Luxury Hotels group frequent guest program has points that apply, I was told, if you book through their web site rather than through your corporate travel agency. This doesn't seem right, but it's not a big chain, so collecting/redeeming points isn't likely to be a big deal to you unless you stay realy, really often. Because of this strange requirement for booking source, I would be less likely to look at the "association" of these hotels and just choose based on property features. You'll enjoy a stay here, for sure.

Room Tip: Upper floors always best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

lanson place is quite a small hotel, quite understated in the exterior so many do not even know it's a hotel.

the upsides: causeway bay is a great location. you can get supper at any time of the night. the service is as you would expect of any 5 star hotel. they have a kitchen in the room so you can microwave things or do light cooking. to me, the best part was the toiletries they provide are from gilchrist & soames. simply awesome!!

the downsides: the room is small, even though i got the queen room which is above the general rooms, still small. the bathroom had no bathtub. this would have been okay in a general room but not a queen room. there was a rainshower though. the work station in the room is small, with a very uncomfortable seat. the worst part was breakfast. the spread was more continental than international. they had some waffles, some bread, some porridge, fruit and fruit juice. and you can order eggs with bacon ham and sausages. that's about it. it's the smallest spread of breakfast in a five star hotel i've ever seen. i was quite appalled.

overall it's a decent business hotel but personally, i feel you can get better value elsewhere. well, i'm a toiletries person so that did make up a lot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for our Wedding Anniversary. We wanted something that was not a big, overpriced Tourist trap of a hotel chain, but something more sleek and refined, and this 'boutique' style hotel, fitted the bill perfectly.

From the moment we were greeted at the airport, to the moment we checked out, we felt spoilt. The service was impeccable throughout. Our room was very spacious for Hong Kong standards, and it was furbished beautifully. Causeway bay is a very virbrant and crowded part of Hong Kong, but when you are tucked in bed at night, you could be a million miles away in a deserted location, it was that quiet.

The maid cleaned our room daily, as well as doing a turn down service in the evening. Water as well as tea and coffee was replemished daily. Probably one of the best maid service, I have received.

The kitchen area was rather small, but had everything you needed, however, the location of the hotel is excellent for eating out, so we didnt make much use of the kitchen amenities.

On the door step of the hotel, are many options as i said for eating, all popular with the locals, as they are crowded from morning til late at night. Braised beef noodles and crispy fried pork chop are a MUST try!!!

Jardines Bazzar is also just 5 mins walk away, where you can pick up some lovely bargains. Especially hand made little trinkets, and some lovely one of a kind t-shirts. There are also several high end malls all within 10 mins walking distance, where you can shop and eat til your heart is content. All the designers brands are here, and if you aks for a discount, there are some good deals to be had!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, who is looking for something other than the typical large chain hotel, with its typical roof top bar, and all you can eat buffet restaurant. This hotel, reminds me of how hotels probably used to be. It was a lovely trip all round, made even lovelier by this beautiful hotel, with its excellent staff!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lanson Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanson Place Hotel

Address: No.133 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#22 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanson Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanson Place luxury hotel in Hong Kong combines elegance, style and convenience in equal measure. The boutique hotel of 194 rooms, each with a kitchenette, and penthouse suites, is tucked discreetly in Hong Kong’s thriving Causeway Bay entertainment and shopping hub. A member of “Small Luxury Hotels of the World”, the Hotel is a haven from the modern metropolis outside with an elegant lounge and cocktail bar, exercise room and full business services. The concierge services are unrivalled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, T4B, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Otel, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Lanson Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanson Place Hong Kong
Hotel Lanson Place
Lanson Hotel Hong Kong
Lanson Place Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanson Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.