We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpectedly brilliant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fleming, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fleming, Hong Kong to your Saves list
The Fleming, Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.41 Fleming Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Fleming Hotel) (Wan Chai / Causeway Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An unexpectedly brilliant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

I found the Fleming on Mr. and Mrs. Smith. Upon arrival, I was a bit underwhelmed. It's off Hennessy Road in the middle of Wan Chai in a dated building with odd green lights shining across the facade. Not exactly my picture of luxury.

Checking in, I found Alex So to be brilliant and began to understand that whilst the outside of the hotel is understated, the inside accommodation spoke to me. The rooms were very clean with amazing water pressure. Nothing better to get rid of travel grit than a proper firehose!

I only have two words of caution about the hotel:
1) The internet is an additional fee. Just put it in the price of the room man. Paid internet is a sloppy way of making additional margin.

2) The cafe is okay. Thankfully, it is priced accordingly. I would count on it for a romantic meal to impressive my ladyfriend. For business and breakfast, it's perfect. I had a wonderful meeting with a client there and was well-attended to by the staff and looked after.

If you had asked me on day 1 if I would stay at the Fleming again, probably not. However, after four days there, I would definitely go back. The place has everything I need for an amazingly reasonable price. And again, it's all about the people. The people are great.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    117
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
49
32
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bornheim, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

The Fleming in Hong Kong is a not to big but still 14 storey high Hotel in vibrant Hong Kong area of Wan Chai. Staff very friendly and attentive. I got an upgrade to an executive room, equipped even with a Microsoft X-Box 360 and Blu-Ray Player. Newly refurbished, the bath room was very nice, the room ample for a cramped place like Hong Kong. Not the best views out of my window but still a recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed at "The Fleming' in early July. We were surprised to be met off the shuttle bus at 11.30 pm by one of the staff members. She set the pattern that nothing was too much trouble for the staff in looking after the guests.Foyer and rooms are stylish with appreciated extra touches.We enjoyed complimentary drinks in the evening and the inclusive breakfast was excellent The Hotel is extremely quiet although very centrally situated.Having read about the variable quality of hotels in this price range (moderate) we were somewhat sceptical before we checked in. We travel a lot and this hotel suited us perfectly and bears comparison with any hotel of its type anywhere. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

I go to Hong Kong about once a year to visit family. This year we, my daughter and I, decided to stayed at the Fleming. We love the location, right by the HK Convention center, we attended a Natalie Cole concert at the Convention Center and it was just 5 minutes walk back to the hotel. The Wan Chai Star Ferry Terminal is very close by and with in 15 minutes we were at Tsim Sha Tsui. The MTR is only a block away. We also attended "Chicago" show at the Lyric Theater at the HK Academy of Preforming Act, it was only a 10 minutes walk from the Fleming. The shopping areas of Wan Chai and Causeway Bay are all within walking distances. I would highly recommend this hotel for the location. Our room is spacious, with the largest bathroom I ever had in Hong Kong. We even had a kitchenette with a small fridge, a micro wave, two cook tops and even pots and pans. Love the bed and the simple but effective furnishings. We were extremely comfortable. Service is excellent, the front desk was very helpful, the house keeping staff is excellent with night turn down service. If you want a flashy hotel with a grand lobby with fancy restaurants, this is not the place. But if you want a comfortable place to recharge after a day of work or sight seeing, you can't beat the location and the price. We had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Besides the fact that the wifi is kind of pricy and I was unable to connect to it, I can only say good things about this hotel with its very modern architecture, great location and excellent service. For me, staying on Hong Kong Island, where this hotel is located, is preferable as it is well connected to everywhere in HK but much quieter than the rest.

The rooms were very clean and have a unique modern design and all 4 days we spent there were nothing but pleasant. Their standard rates are kind of high compared to what else is out there but they constantly have very good special offers and discounts on their website.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

A new boutique hotel, situated in Wanchai with pleasing decoration in neutral colours. The staff were friendly and helpful. Although a 'double' the room was small and the bed pressed against the wall, allowing an exit on one side only. Screens more or less blocked off the claustrophobic view of old buildings across the narrow side street that the room overlooked but blocked out most natural light and I was on the 8th floor.

Although narrow, there was a useful 'study' area with a long thin desk. A cordless telephone, in addition to one by the bed, was appreciated.

The air-conditioning, even on its lowest level, was noisy.

Breakfast was included in the room rate (as were local calls) and served in a small dining room off the lobby and included a limited choice of hot items.

Although free internet was apparently not included the front desk immediately made the password available without charge when told that the description suggested that it was free. Internet charges are becoming an irritant with hotels - you don't pay extra for hot water and internet is more or less as necessary these days. So many hotels list it as a facility and then try and charge for it.

Although I didn't have time to go to them, there were complimentary early evening drinks in the lobby each night with red or white wine.

The price of this hotel was greater than others in the same category in Hong Kong and the 'premium' price was not really justified.

A

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

The location is good and the hotel looks new and modern. Rooms are as clean as it can be, although they're a bit small. For Hong Kong, the room prices are very good for a hotel this good. Employees are nice and helpful, and the breakfast is better than you'd expect. All of these makes Fleming a good choice for its price range.

Choose Fleming, if you're just looking for a decent place to sleep in without the luxuries.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fleming, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleming, Hong Kong

Address: No.41 Fleming Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Fleming Hotel)
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#94 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fleming, Hong Kong 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Fleming, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleming Hotel Hong Kong
The Fleming, Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fleming, Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.