We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not as good as first time round” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel to your Saves list
Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hong Kong Disneyland, Lantau Island,, Hong Kong, China (Disneyland)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good but not as good as first time round”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here first back in 2010 and were blown away back then by the novelty of it all. This time round we stayed for an extra night (3 in total) on a short stopover in HK on the way back to the UK. The hotel is nice and everything is perfect for the kids - Disney characters at breakfast and dinner, great pool, Disney shop in the lobby and overall Disney-ness.

But - everything is geared at guests staying 1 or 2 nights max. (including ticket packages to Disneyland). Prices for food are incredibly high - room service for drinks alone was unbelievable. Noodles (takeaway) from the Chinese restaurant in the hotel came at a high high price (and they're noodles in HK - come on!). The level of English language proficiency from the staff was a lot lower than it should have been - even front of house staff. Yes most guests are from mainland China but the staff should still speak good English.

The focus seems more around a commercial business than the usual friendly service you've come to expect from Disney as a global brand.

Don't get me me wrong - it's great fun still, particularly for the kids but not so good on the value for money side and service.

Whilst your staying don't just get the shuttle bus to Disneyland - walk instead. It's about 10 minutes more and you get treated to some of the best views in the world, of the awesome HK skyline and Lantau Island.

Room Tip: Pool or sea view rooms with a balcony are nicer! But you don't really spend much time in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    425
    117
    26
    14
See reviews for
788
109
14
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was on a package deal that included breakfast and park tickets. The room was a non smoking room and there was absolutely no evidence of smoking anywhere. It was clean, spacious and the hotel is just beautiful. They offer slippers and bathrobes for everyone in the room, including kids sizes. The breakfast was so much fun and the kids loved the character interaction.

I have been to every Disney in the world, and the walkway from the hotel to the parks was just incredible. Clean, beautifully landscaped, it was honestly so nice to walk to the park in such a peaceful setting. I loved every minute we spent at this hotel. We did checkout the Hollywood hotel as well and my kids were impressed with that one. Of the two, I think we all agree we would stay at the Disneyland Hong Kong hotel because of the proximity to the parks. I'm not a bus person, so walking to and from the parks was perfect for us.

Spend the money and stay at the resorts. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel may not be the highlight of your trip, but then Disneyland Hong Kong is the real reason to stay here. The hotel is buzzing with the day crowd and the gift shop reminds me how close you are to meeting Mickey, Minnie and the gang in just a few minutes. Don't forget to hop across to the other hotel in the venue for breakfast (the characters drop by to say a personal hello to all the kids!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our stay in this hotel was superb coz all the hotel staff were very friendly and courteous and makes one feel really valued. The rooms are also very good and clean and the amenities are superb.

The shuttle rides are very convenient (15 minutes intervals), going to-from the hotel and the park (MTR train).

But to really appreciate your stay at this hotel, the Buffet Breakfast with the Disney Characters is a must! A one of a kind and very special experience. Imagine eating your pancake and eggs while Mickey and Pluto are tapping your back or making fun at you? Priceless.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

the hotel is a stone throw from the disney land park at hong kong. there was a bus ride every 30 minutes and since we wanted to visit disneyland this was an ideal place to spend a night.
A descent hotel with a disneyland feel, a must visit for kids.
Obviously its very far from the city. Service and staff were courteous.
if you go to disneyland, this is a place you should stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is located close to the Hong Kong Disney Land, where a shuttle bus goes around every 30 minutes. The hotel is super in terms of design rooms and service. The only shortcome of this hotel is its location, it is located between the airport and the city and the taxi to the city costs about 150 Hong Kong Dollars. It is suitable for disney visitors only.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel itself is great. Awesome service and large rooms (deluxe seaview) with beautiful furnishings. Nice pool too with slider for the kids and easy to get to disneyland park with free shuttle running constantly.

Unfortunately I had booked a deluxe seaview with breakfast in the enchanted garden for the kids but on arrival were given a very confusing spiel about upgrading to kingdom club which we did. Unfortunately the breakfast sucked in the kingdom lounge - not atmosphere and no disney performers which is what I wanted. The check in spiel was very confusing and they refused to let me "downgrade" again to the breakfast I wanted, so we ended up just having breakfast once.

Very disappointing and they should get reception staff that can explain properly.

Room Tip: Deluxe Seaview is large and very good for up to for persons. Don't bother upgrading to Kingdom C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel

Address: Hong Kong Disneyland, Lantau Island,, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Disneyland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#52 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a lavish Victorian palace nestled along the shores of the South China Sea. Savor exquisite dining from around the globe, lounge the day away with a cocktail poolside or explore a garden maze in the shape of Mickey Mouse. Boasting stately accommodations with modern amenities plus live music in the grand 6-story lobby , this architectural marvel combines the splendor of a vintage seaside resort with the magic of Disney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disneyland Hong Kong
Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.